We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Honeymoon stay at The Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Liphook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon stay at The Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We decided to stay at The Grand for 3 nights as our Honeymoon treat and what a good choice it was! the room was fantastic, we recieved Champagne & strawberries in our room which was very much appreciated, Thank You. The real reason to stay at The Grand though is the staff! They are all fantastic, the doormen, reception staff, restaurant organisers, chefs etc but by far was the waiters & waitresses in the evening, especially Johnathan & Agga (forgive me if my spelling is rubbish) They made our evenings eating at the Grand wonderful, Thank You.. We had planned to eat out at different places but chose to eat here on the first night and realised we would struggle to top the food and service, both top notch, so we ate in the restaurant every night. One word of caution, on the final night I requested to eat at the bar, give this a miss, no Agga or Johnathan to look after you, talk to you, laugh with you, my mistake as at the bar the guy has too many people to look after, not his fault but not ideal.
Just a request to De Vere, PLEASE look at the breakfast situation, as you have a buffet policy it is does not work with such a small station to choose your breakfast from, either put a 2nd station in or make the 1 you have bigger, at weekends it resembles a scrum and your staff are over-run refilling and your guests are left feeling short changed. I hope you see that as constructive.
Overall what a wonderful place to stay, I would suggest you go and enjoy! Thank You again to all of you at The Grand in our eyes you are all "Grand"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,215
    1,951
    1,015
    464
    227
See reviews for
1,177
3,637
185
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have stayed in many hotels but this one is the main jewel of De Veres crown.This is true luxury to say the least.The staff are impeccably smart, well mannered,friendly and most of all helpful.From the minute the doorman opens the door for you and welcomes you to when you leave everyone delivers the same high standard of service.
The reception staff are so helpful that nothing is too much trouble for them.We had a beautiful seaview room which is worth the money,it had been decorated to a very high standard. However it was over the function room which caused us not to sleep however we were moved to another seaview room on the other side of the hotel which rectified the problem.The main road noise can be forgiven as the view was spectacular. The decour is in keeping with date of the building and has been refurbished to a very high standard to bring out the features and give a real quality feeling to hotel.You have the feeling of living in Downtown abbey with the personal touches of afternoon tea.Served with real cups and saucers,plates and silver (stainless steel)teapots,a real feast of delights to complimenmt the tea.Which if taken in the conservatory with the seaview is just magical. If you get the chance to visit the spa the luxury doesn't stop there the relaxation louge is just wonderful,the facilities are fantastic,also the staff have the same high standard of service.
Breakfast is a buffet with a wide selection of food,there is a menu for specilist itemsie: kippers,eggs benedict.The staff are on hand to serve you tea or coffee. I requested poached eggs on toast and were not disappointed with the quality and speed of service.
Overall this has been a real peek into how hotels should be run and we will certainly be returning for that touch of luxury again.

Room Tip: If you book a seaview room make sure it's not above the function room as you won't get any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington West Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was taken here with five of my best friends for my 50th birthday. It was fantastic. The afternoon tea was lovely, plenty of it, copious amounts of tea, piano playing (even happy birthday!), and they brought out a cake with Happy 50th Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. It was so lovely and special. The staff were very attentive and we had very comfortable sofas to sit on. There was two sittings but we weren't ushered out. Would be lovely to sit in the window on a lovely Spring day. Would definitely go again and would recommend it. Certainly for an elderly relatives birthday, as the opulence and "old fashioned" décor would be appreciated. The price (although I didn't pay for mine) was very reasonable in comparison to other high quality hotels that offer the same service. Less than £25.00 per head.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for a few nights back in 2011. The hotel has a very awe inspiring presence from the outside, and the staff at the door and reception are very friendly and accommodating. The inside of the hotel has lots of character (but in a strange way looks a bit dated) and the rooms are very spacious. The only time I ate in the hotel was for breakfast which was good, plenty of choice and well cooked food. However, all of this is bog standard for a hotel of this quality, to be honest, there was nothing about this hotel that stood out to me and made me go, wow!
So, in summary, you pays your money and you takes your choice, you will not be let down by this place, but I felt I came away, not disappointed, but just somehow feeling I should have come away feeling a little bit more excited about my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I were in Brighton for a concert and stayed at The Grand in a standard room for just one night (a Monday)- The "meet and greet" on arrival was very good indeed with the concierge taking the car and luggage with alacrity. We checked in and though our room was not yet ready (We were early) the reception staff could not have been nicer.
After lunch in town we were shown to our room which though "a standard" was larger than expected with good facilities and a huge bed. Afternoon tea in the bar/lounge was good and as we were kept waiting a few minutes we were told it was complimentary!!
Breakfast the following morning (mainly buffet though there is an option for more dishes at extra cost) was first class.
The price - very reasonable considering the facilities and position of the hotel, we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for one night and its one of the most expensive hotels in Brighton so you expect a lot for your money. It was however, very old fashioned from the Carpet to the walls and bed linen, the customer service was great . It just needs to be modernised . Hardly anybody likes that dated look any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccanna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
center
Level Contributor
239 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

the good: reception staff excellent ... easy check in. the Concierge men-- all handsome I might add-- went above and beyond to help me with some tickets and with great humor. The rooms are large, the beds hugely comfy, the towels in the bathroom are excellent. ( toilet does not flush easily due to old plumbing-- and the ladies room downstairs has an aggressive drain which makes noise all the time). Service throughout the hotel was friendly and helpful.

I thought the breakfast could have had more fresh veg ... but the artisan bread was so good that I forgave. the one thing I could not forgive was the tasteless coffee.

this hotel is not fancy-- there is NO place in my room to place sweaters etc. ( but there are ample hangers... except the closet is huge enough to build some shelves). But its a nice hotel with nice people , a great location and a young energetic crew of people to make a good stay
Beware of sea gulls-- I was in the back and they woke me daily at 5:30... part of the sea side stuff !! Many of the rooms have view of walls. I wasn't in the room in the day so it did not matter-- might do if you are here for romance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing