We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmingly Average”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly Average”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I have lived in Sussex all my life (that's about 30 years) and have been lucky enough to stay in a wide range of hotels and resorts in that time. The Grand has always only ever been one of those places that I walk past and think "I wonder what that's like?"

So we went as a group of 4; the in-laws, my wife and I for 1 night on 1st March 2014.

Firstly, we were greeted by a friendly, well-dressed chap who was manning the front door and directing traffic. Disappointingly, we were told their car park was full and that they were directing people to the NCP around the corner (24 hour stay at £25.10) - so off we went, having offloaded luggage. Check-in itself was painless enough and luggage willingly taken to our rooms for us.

Rooms were spectacular, we were on the 7th floor with a sea view. Decorated to a high standard and very comfortable beds, sofa and chairs.

We did not stay in for dinner that night but were told the restaurant was fully booked anyway. We did attempt to get a drink at the bar/lounge area, but all seating was occupied so We promptly retreated to our room with said drink before heading out for the evening.

A taxi was booked for us immediately on request and turned up on time.

On return to the hotel at 11pm, we fancied a bite so ordered room service. This was from the 24 hour menu; we ordered California rolls (sushi) and a club baguette. Service was slow, the food took the best part of an hour to arrive, and these were not hot dishes - the sushi in particular I can imagine is pre prepared and grabbed from the fridge as required. That aside, the chap who delivered the food was apologetic that they were very busy and pleasant with it.

Breakfast. Bit of a shambles. We arrived around 09:30 to find the main restaurant pretty much packed. We had to move some furniture around to create our own table for 4 (with assistance from a member of staff in fairness).

The buffet setup resembled a feeding trough for animals. It was constantly running out of hot items and I would say totally inadequate for the number of people in the restaurant. I opted for smoked haddock from the menu (£4.95 supplement) which took around 30 minutes to arrive. In the meantime, I grabbed a few bits from the cold buffet which also was running out. The staff you could see were clearly overworked and this unfortunately reflected in the overall quality.

In summary, this certainly is a Grand hotel as far as the architecture and decor are concerned. But in my opinion, the quality of service and food are let down by a lack of staff at times. Add to that I felt a general air of pretentiousness from the whole place, not befitting of the actual quality you end up with. A bit of a disappointment to be honest, when you consider the cost of staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ImolaJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,383
    2,027
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,234
3,792
194
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in a sea view room on Saturday night as a mini break and to meet some friends for dinner. The reception was warm and hospitable from the staff who were very pleasant to deal with and the fabric of the hotel is on the whole well maintained. Our rooms was very large and had access to the balcony which was great.

I think the difference between a very good and an exceptional hotel are the details and that's where I have the following observations. The wifi didn't seem to work with ipads but this may have been due to the larger IT problem they had when we were there. There is no mini bar/ fridge or wine glasses in the room and the bathroom door handle was very loose. However these are all minor observations and in no way spoilt the experience.

We would definitely come back

Room Tip: The traffic can be horrific in Brighton so park in the NCP car park behind the hotel or better still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehillier1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, Herts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand for two nights in February and unfortunately it was not as good as previous visits, though we still had a wonderful time.

The Chambre Unique Deluxe Sea View Rooms are wonderful, with all the luxury added extras (though we couldn't get the Bose system to work).

The Afternoon was lovely and well worth it's money. It's best to book well in advance.

The GB1 restaurant has a great selection of fish, but limited on vegetarian etc. The meals were very tasty.

All the staff at The Grand were very friendly and helpful, from first arriving at the hotel, right through to departure.

Two letdowns were:

Breakfast - it was terrible. The food was just warm. It could not be replenished quick enough and the serving tables were squeezed into a small area. Breakfast was much better when it was served around the GB1 bar area. The waffle/pancake cook has also gone. Only a few slices of dried up pancake under a heat lamp were available. The whole breakfast was very disappointing.

Room Service - we asked for additional bed pillows on three separate occasions - these never arrived. Our room breakfast tray sat outside our room all day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Virtualfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel in a super seafront location. Tasteful and delightful decor, with luxury as standard. The only one disappointing item was the poor breakfast experience and it has dropped in appeal since my last stay - The hot buffet had item that were little more than warm; items constantly running out and insufficient restaurant staff to service the requirements of the breakfast diners. Unfortunately I was not asked if all was OK due to low staff levels. Sorting out the restaurant will ensure you get rated as excellent again from me in future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, with decadent surroundings. As a luxury treat, we stayed in a 'Chambre Unique' which came with extras such as wireless Bose Soundlink (which we couldn't figure out), soft egyptian cotton bedding, a Starbucks coffee machine and 'luxury' toiletries. The room was impeccably clean and warm - perfect on a rainy cold February day. The staff were polite and friendly. Breakfast was amazing with so much choice - I just wish we had a larger stomach! The scrambled eggs were lovely, and the sausages and bacon were of very good quality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very good frm the second we pulled up in the car
Charles the doorman and his staff top notch the room was very nice very big
Only down side was the room servos breakfast but I think if we had gone to the resterant it would have been very good

Room Tip: Front new part of hotel pay the extra it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen4966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I dont know What it is with me and that Grand devere but i always end up having a Bad experience. The Service was atrocious . The food was Auful. I didnt like the rooms. Service didnt come with a smile. I would never go there again.



  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 731nikki731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing