We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my Husband stayed here for our second wedding anniversary and it was perfect! I'm terrible for expectations and very rarely do I find a hotel that I cannot fault in any way! The hotel, the rooms, location, the staff, everything really is fantastic! Having stayed in most 5 star hotels in London I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best! I can't wait to go back and take our two babies!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to hear you chose to celebrate your second wedding anniversary with us. It is wonderful to hear all your expectations were met and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    2,030
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,793
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just had a 2 day break at the grand. Refurbishment really lovely. Still a great hotel with great service exceptional staff providing excellent service. Lovely to see staff who have been there a long time and a returning member of the team ( carol) who we were really pleased to see again. All staff are proffessional and friendly. Great breakfast . Lovely bar/ lounge area. Had a wonderful stay. Only one thing not brilliant bathroom was cold. Otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrk50rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. It is great to hear you were pleased with our recent refurbishments. We are very proud to offer a high standard of service to all our guests and I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Carol and the team.

Kind Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMarkC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here recently for a conference and was very pleased with this hotel.

The room was amazing (large, light, balcony with sea view, etc., etc.).

The hotel itself is very "grand" inside with the most incredible spiral staircase up through the centre.

Breakfasts were excellent and the bar was also good and quite reasonably priced (for a hotel!).

I would recommend this as a place to stay - if it is within your budget - not cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

It is lovely to hear your recent visit to the hotel for a conference was enjoyable.

We are very happy to be able to provide spacious rooms with a sea view and (naturally!) I agree, our iconic staircase is one of the hotel's very ‘grand’ features.

Kind Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The building itself is gorgeous, as is the entrance lobby and staircase. The rooms have been refurbished recently and are clean and tidy. The location, right on the seafront, is of course fabulous. But all of that said, it was all just ok. The bed was comfy but the sheets and quilt so noisy that it was like sleeping in a crisp packet. We were quite annoyed by what we thought were inconsiderate guests repeatedly allowing their bedroom doors to slam but actually, it was almost impossible to shut the bedroom door quietly. Great that they're heavy and obviously secure but we were woken both late at night and early in the morning by constantly slamming doors. There were many options for breakfast and some of the breads, fruits and juices were really lovely. The hot offerings were lovely quality but largely lukewarm, but some of the serving dishes were really heavy and difficult to manage with a plate in one hand and a pair of tongs or a spoon in the other! We did enjoy an afternoon drink at the bar but were lucky to get a seat as afternoon teas are certainly given priority. Service was patchy but we did eventually get the drinks we'd ordered. So, overall a mixed bag. Some stuff was good but there were some niggles that detracted from our overall experience.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, our bedroom floor was very creaky and noisy so I assume there was noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our seafront location. I apologise you were not entirely happy with your room. I will be sure to take your feedback on board and ensure improvements are made to avoid this being a complaint in the future. I agree, the breakfast service provides a great variety of choice to suit everyone. Unfortunately the bar is a very popular destination at times and it can be quite busy, we always aim to serve guests as quick as we can.

Kind Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As a frequent guest in many hotels throughout Europe, I have to admit that it is some years since my wife and I stayed at this hotel - and more the fool me!

The whole experience is exactly how you would want it to be in any iconic hotel with first class service from the moment we checked in, excellent food and a lovely spacious room.

Well done to all concerned and I have now put it back on our 'must do' hotel list for the UK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

It is wonderful to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your compliments and we hope to see you returning to The Grand again soon

Kind Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My Mother and I stayed for the weekend, 2 weeks ago. We were on the first floor with a balcony sea view ,and the room was fantastic spotless and modern bedding curtains etc. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was exquisite we both had different food and all of the meal was perfect with excellent serving staff.Breakfast was the same very nice and the staff are so helpful from the doorman to the passing staff along corridors all smiles,and friendly it was just perfect in every way.Parking the car for me also was great and having it loaded by the door when we left could not have been more efficient ....I just could not fault any part of our stay, we will be back. A huge thank you to Alexandra who picked my room, booked the restaurant, and left my mother a gift for our arrival it truly made all the difference...superb!!

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with your Mother. It is wonderful to hear you stayed in one of our sea view rooms. I will pass your kind comments on to the house keeping team.

We are very proud to offer high quality food in GB1 and your compliments will be much appreciated by our executive Chef and his team.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thank you again for another great stay at The Grand. Andi and her team always take such care and try to make the stay perfect. Once again achieved. Everything from check-in, dinner in the restaurant and breakfast, couldn't fault anything. Thank you for making Mothers Day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to have welcomed you back to the Grand once again. We are very proud to offer guests a high standard of customer service and ensure all your needs are met. Thank you again for your kind words

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing