We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good return stay at the Grand. On arrival Dave at hand to take the luggage and make us feel welcome. His colleague Pav also very helpful. Chambre Unique sea view was perfect, we even got a suntan whilst drinking coffee on the balcony. Traffic noise not a problem. Thanks to Tamara for organising our rooms, efficient, professional and could not do enough for us. Dinner in the GB1 is to be recommended, absolutely delicious and attentive staff. Another stay which lived up to expectations.

Room Tip: 5th floor sea view Chambre Unique room...fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

It is fantastic to have welcomed you back to the Grand for a second time. I am very glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our sea view rooms and made the most of the sunshine out on the private balcony. I will pass on your great experience at GB1 to the chef and restaurant staff.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,320
    1,992
    1,033
    479
    228
See reviews for
1,209
3,732
188
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is our third visit in one year and each time gets better. The staff welcome us as if old friends. Dave is always exceptional on the door helping us with our cases and car, explaining all to us, at the same time making us laugh. When I had left something in the car Pav jumped at the chance to get it for me and it was in my room waiting when I got back. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant which the desert will be my favourite for a long time. Breakfast delivered to the room is the best option no queuing and it is always hot when delivered. But last but not least is the lovely Tamara, she always deals with all of our needs and reserves perfect rooms for us, and gives us a welcome that you can not wait for the next visit. Thank you all for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: You can not beat a sea view room. But they are all beautifully refurbished now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us on your third visit to the Grand. Dave will be very pleased to hear your kind comments.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms as a special occasion for family. It took 3 emails and 1 call to ensure that 1 room was a twin. I received no response to my emails and finally just had to call.
Upgraded to sea front king size - great room although bathrooms are disappointing in size - tiny little bath with no separate shower. The room did have a great view.
Breakfast was very average - quality just wasn't there or service.
Checking out was an absolute joke - the day we arrived I was advised that as I wanted to pay by debit card, I would need to pay for the accommodation. All was paid. Checking out .... You still owe for the room upgrade and 1 room and parking ..... The room had been paid, we hadn't used the car park but we apparently needed to pay for the upgrade (which we had been asked to pay the day before). No apology given - just a "it's the system". Honestly - check your bill here!
Also - disappointedly, we had planned our evening to incorporate a beverage at the bar. Sat down ... "This is reserved for a party". 1 hour later that party drift on in ... Ends up with a couple having a huge argument and near on fight! Seriously - great people watching but absolutely no attempt by anyone to stop the scene!
There was a huge demonstration on the Sunday / police everywhere - we asked where and when was safe to venture out ..... The answer, not sure - I walk to work with my eyes closed so didn't see any police! Nb. The whole front from the hotel to pier was restricted with hundreds of police!
Thanks reception for being really inefficient and so unhelpful!
Other than the room - massively over rated!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie7305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I do apologise that you were not given the high standard of communication that you should expect. I can assure you this feedback has been passed on and will not be the case in the future.

However I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our upgraded rooms.

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is very well located. A short walk from the station and only a few minutes from the main town and the pier. It is clean, comfortable and the décor although not modern adds to the charm. Breakfast is good and the restaurant is lovely for lunch. The accommodation is very good and there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel.
It is close to a conference centre, cinema and beach.

Room Tip: You need a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased you had a lovely stay. We are very lucky to be located so close to the city centre but also right in the middle of sea front and always encourage guests to make the most of what Brighton has to offer.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed at the Grand before but many years ago. The old lady of the Grand was lovely! Old fashioned, charming and special. Remove those comments and that is what you have got now! Naff, money grabbing and no class.

I won't bore you with our booking process but the responses were robotic and charmless - a clue we believe as to what the real experience would be. We should have cancelled there and then!

We arrived slightly early and were met by a charmless receptionist with no personality and was obviously going through the motions. I asked that she ring us when our room was ready - we had no confidence she would and guess what - she didn't.

We paid £299 for a twin de vere room - what a total rip off, tiny, pokey and dingy. We had a view of a scuffy brick wall and no air conditioning. If you don't want to have a brick wall of a view an upgrade is £100 per night making the total cost of room £399! I could have an overwater villa in the Maldives for that!! TOTALLY overpriced regardless of supply and demand

Try to get a drink in the bar in the afternoon - no chance! Whole area taken over for afternoon teas to non-residents! We had to wait for a table between 'afternoon Tea' sittings!

This hotel is a has been - spend your well earned money elsewhere.

Btw: we copied the GM (Andrew Mosely) in correspondence re the very poor booking service and guess what - no reply. Says it all really!!

Room Tip: Dont select any - go elsewhere as all their efforts are to try to get you to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Bertie

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. A brief note to say that I have emailed you through the TA message service as I am concerned you may not have my correct email address (as you have mis-spelt my name in your review?).

Needless to say this does not detract from the fact that I am very sorry that you left so disappointed and I am very sorry that you had cause to complain. I therefore hope to correspond with you off line if you could email me again

regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked The Grand Hotel Brighton to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a wonderful time we had. The booking was simple and we are so pleased we upgraded to a seafront Deluxe Room. Upon arrival we were greeted by Colin who ushered us in taking care of the luggage and car with the minimum of fuss. At reception we were greeted with efficiency and speed and although arriving 3 hours before we were due the room was ready and luggage arrived with the minimum of fuss. The room itself was just magnificent. Spotlessly clean and with lots of goodies. A huge bed which was really comfortable with spotless white linen. The bar was a lovely area to chill out before dinner (see separate review for GB1 Restaurant), again the staff looked after us really well. I understand that during our stay the hotel changed hands and is no longer part of the De vere group. I do hope the new owners do not change this hotel in any way it is perfect just the way it is. Thanks to all the staff that made our anniversary so special. We hope to return as soon as we can.
Jan & Ray Young xx

Room Tip: Try to get room 220 it is right at the front in the middle of the hotel, you will not be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRayYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay. It is our pleasure to provide the perfect setting for celebrations such as wedding anniversaries, and I am pleased you were able to experience one of our luxury room upgrades.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend here and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The concierge were very attentive and were always on hand without being prompted for bags and doors etc. The room was a little on the small side but it was well furnished and spotlessly clean throughout. The bar area is very nice and was always busy and buzzing throughout the day and evening. Live music in the form of a pianist was played at various times and made for a very sophisticated feel to the bar. A definite must in the evening if you want to escape the craziness of some parts of the town and very relaxing.

Breakfast was included with our room and it certainly surpassed my expectations. There was so much choice and everything was of the highest quality and replenished frequently. Considering the size of the hotel and number of guests it is highly commendable for the staff to keep up with everyones needs but they did so brilliantly.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

It is great news that you had a lovely weekend with us at the Grand. I will pass on your kind words to our concierge. I’m also very pleased to see that our new and improved breakfast service is being enjoyed by our guests. We updated this due to some adverse feedback on Trip Advisor a few months ago – proof that we do act on what our guest are telling us I promise!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing