We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand by name....”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The outside needs some loving but considering when this was built its no wonder. Beautiful on the inside, very grand indeed. Great location, central to everything. Prompt check in, friendly staff, very nice room, no view but we knew that in booking. Comfy bed, warm, beautiful bathroom, lovely deep bath and nice rain shower.

Great service at breakfast (thank you very much Tom) , we got there early so had breakfast in the conservatory both mornings. Anyone who complains about the breakfast wants their bumps felt, so much choice, plentiful and hot, sets you right up for the day, fab!

Would stay again if the price was right, no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

It’s fair to say that The Grand is perfectly positioned- right on the sea front within walking distance of the pier and attractions but also only a few minutes from The Lanes and town centre shops.

Our £7million refurbishment completed last year so we’re really pleased to hear that the improvements are making a big difference to our guests’ experience and their comfort.

I will pass on your kind words to the staff and I will most certainly let our executive chef and his team know that you complimented the breakfast. We have made some amends to this recently following a few negative reviews about 3 – 6 months ago but, judging from latest reviews seem to have got it right. Proof that we do take feedback on board and act on it whenever we can!

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,693)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,887 - 5,893 of 7,693 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the comfortable the Grand hotel in Brighton. Rooms were big and fully equiped with very good beds. Very good and friendly service and ample breakfast. Of course the beautiful weather also played a part in our pleasant stay but generally a hotel to be recommended. We would go there again next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had such a comfortable stay with us. Brighton’s a great place to come to anytime but it’s fair to say it’s at it’s very best when the sun shines!

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Doorman, concierge and reception all very welcoming and helpful. Seafront facing hotel room all recently decorated, the most comfortable of beds and pillows, a beautiful nights sleep. Drinks in the bar all very relaxing. Recently sold by Devere Group so look forward to our next visit to see the changes. One things for sure this beautiful building with its long history will be around for many years to come and we can't wait to revisit.

Room Tip: If you can choose a seafront facing with balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186406Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay including a good night's sleep. Our recent refurbishment included the fitting of brand new top of the range Sealy beds in all bedrooms and I agree they are very comfortable

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I actually think the front of The Grand doesn't do justice to the Grandness of this wonderful establishment. I've seen comments saying that it is 'old & tired'. It is old, it was built in 1876, that's part of it's charm, but tired, never. It is exactly what you'd expect from a large Victorian 'mansion'. A large reception area with a large staircase either side leading up to the first floor. We received a warm welcome and Laura on reception was friendly and efficient. The standard bedrooms are a reasonable size; the bed itself was a large king size. The main bar lounge has plenty of luxury seating area, although it was full when we went for a drink. I might add that the service at the bar was excellent. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was fit for a King, again the service was top class. Even the 'footman' on the way out were helpful and cheerful. All Management & staff were a credit to the establishment and none of them 'hung around' for a tip... it 's all part of the service. It is at the top end of the price market (London prices), but you will not be disappointed. Once I've saved the pennies, I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay

(Tongue in cheek) I am only going to disagree with you on one point!! The hotel was actually built in 1864. 150 years ago this summer (July to be precise) so perhaps that will provide guests with an even greater reason to stay!!

On a more serious note I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team, many of whom read TA for themselves so always like a name check! We are all very proud to work at The Grand and I am pleased that the sense of team spirit comes across in our delivery.

Finally I hope it won’t be too long before you've managed to save up for another visit so we can look forward to welcoming you back again

kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was left a little disappointed, had booked this because of its history etc, but though the staff were magnificent, the whole place was tired, buckets catching water leaks for example!! and for the price it was not great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBDOM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review

I am sorry that we experienced a problem with a leak during your stay but pleased that otherwise the staff impressed you

£7miilion has been invested in The Grand in the last 18 months with more planned so there is no issue with money available to sort out maintenance issues

kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the Pavillion Room with a sea view, bath in the bedroom and a very large and comfortable bed. Apart from an amazing room, the service was first class and nothing was too much trouble. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scout687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your compliments

Yes, room 218 (Pavillion) - one of our feature deluxe rooms. A great upgrade for that ultimate treat - pictures are on line if anyone would like to have a look before booking!

Furthermore I am very pleased the team did a great job - thank you

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

As always, I lovely stay in this quality hotel. Warm welcome and great service.

Rooms were excellent and the beds are amazing. Nothing too much trouble for these people.

Cocktails were amazing.

Free wifi is a brilliant addition to the stay

Breakfast was great. The team have beaming smiles and couldn't be more welcoming.

Well Done The Grand!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maldwynmaldwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary review

I'm very pleased you had a good stay ..... and loved everything from the cocktails to the breakfast!

many thanks

Andrew Mosley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £101 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing