We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grand!!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Grand!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent Hotel. Helpful and friendly staff at all time. Clean. Room was large, bed was huge and bathroom was very big. Paid lower than normal price as I booked through a third party on the internet. (Only small gripe was the lack of tea bags,sugar etc in the room) breakfast was very enjoyable, so much choice. Will defiantly recommend. Next time will try and book a sea view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maraid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your complimentary feedback and I am delighted you had a great stay

I hope you do decide to upgrade to a (deluxe or even a Grand Collection deluxe?) sea view room next time ... they are a great experience

kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    2,030
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,793
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Revisited the Grand after almost eighteen years. The first time was on my honeymoon and this time I was with my daughter. Got a very good rate and had a pleasant welcome with our room ready early. Spacious airy room which was decorated nicely and felt fresh. Great shower but no robes or slippers nor a fridge. TV not working either but that was sorted out quickly and efficiently and was due to a lead not having been plugged in at the back. Comfortable bed and really crisp sheets. Nice and quiet too which was something I had asked for. Breakfast good. Busy yes but caused no problems. Food tasty and service friendly. The hotel itself is gorgeous with a beautiful sweeping staircase and lovely decor. Next time I'll push the boat out and book a REALLY swish room and celebrate our anniversary!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlexH522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay. Please accept my apologies for the odd niggle you experienced

Hopefully we will see you again soon .... please don't leave it another 18 years!!

Kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at the Grand on 27th May. The view from our room was spectacular, however, there was noise from the road and the late night revellers. Other than a few minor issues in the bathroom - cracked sink and broken shower handle, the stay was very pleasant.

Our room didn't have air con so I'd imagine that during a hot period the rooms could become quite uncomfortable but a small fan was available in our room.

Brighton has plenty of places to eat, the Lanes are great to wander around (especially if you like jewellery!).

Room Tip: 424 had stunning views but the trade off is traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLSACSJRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in room 424

I am pleased that you had a good experience overall

As many will know The Grand is located right on the sea front, in the heart of "the action" so it can get a bit noisy ... I am sure quieter hotels are available in Brighton but then they are not so close to The Lanes, shopping, restaurants, night life and of course the sea front (beach, cafes, bars, activities and the views of course!)

Personally I (inevitably!) believe that the it's well worth the money upgrading to one of our sea view rooms and running the risk of a bit of noise outside

Many thanks again for your comments

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at The Grand recently and enjoyed the grandeur of this historic hotel. As you would expect the service in every department was to a very high quality. Was not the best room we have ever had but then again we got a very good deal.A lovely hotel from the inside if a little in need of a lick of paint from the outside but all part of the charm. Obviously quality service don't come cheap so don't moan about food and drink prices but simply relax and take in the comings & going's of The Grand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytsSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review

I am very pleased that you had a good stay at The Grand and the staff looked after you.

We accept that the front of the building gets a little beaten by the elements and we are looking at this at the moment as it has been a number of years since it was last painted. Inside the hotel however the refurbishment completed last year although we don’t like to stand still so are currently considering what we can do next to take this to the next level.

We hope to see you again soon at The Grand

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff very helpful on arrival, park your car for you although £30 per day but parking everywhere in Brighton expensive. The hotel was very busy with conference decided to dine out plenty of good restaurants to choose from.
Breakfast again busy do not leave it past 9am.
No air conditioning in the room so warm in the room ( non seaview) if you open the window air con from hotel opposite noisy. Overall enjoyed the one night stay on a special rate would not pay full price as although building grand rooms looking tired.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room if you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Firstly I am pleased that the staff looked after you especially on arrival and I will pass these comments on to them

Inevitably there are times when the hotel gets busy and we do our best to ensure everyone gets served to a great standard. Normally, when we have a conference in delegates tend to eat breakfast early but admittedly they do tend to come down together so volumes peak for a short period... clearly on this occasion they had a later start. When the hotel is full of guest on leisure breaks, breakfast can get busy at peak times. Our staff will always advise when they anticipate it being busiest so guests can choose to avoid these times for a quieter breakfast experience

Overall I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would encourage you to keep an eye on our web site for the best deals available if you choose to come again

kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at the Grand many times and as usual the staff were excellent, but at £250+ per night the seaview suite we had was a huge disappointment. Small, full of steps and very noisy. The balcony had no seats, there was no fridge, let alone a minibar and for a 5* I can't believe they only supplied one robe and no slippers!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a seaview unless you are a heavy sleeper as there is a dual carriageway between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your comments

I am very sorry that this stay did not live up to the high standards you have experienced previously

I accept that there have been a few reviews mentioning slippers and robes recently. We had a recent supplier problem that has now been resolved so a full compliment will be available for future stays. I accept this is not an excuse moreover an assurance that we have taken this feedback on board and chased the problem to ensure it doesn't reoccur

In terms of the room allocated, if on your next visit you would like me to personally oversee your room allocation please email me via the hotel (referring back to this review) and I will more than willingly do so

thank you again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a sea view deluxe room which was very spacious, light and airy. Our son slept on a double sofa bed which was fine. It wasn't noisy being at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was self service buffet with plenty of choice and good quality food. We had a few drinks early evening in the bar and the service and atmosphere were first class. Staff friendly and polite. We pre booked the NCP car park in Russell Road behind the hotel after registering to be a NCP member and it cost £36 for 48 hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbawooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review

I am very pleased that you had a good stay and were satisfied with the sea view room you booked, the bar and your breakfast.

I will also pass your compliments on to the staff

many thanks

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing