We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night on Saturday 5th July. Valet parking was very good but costs £30 per day. Check in fast and friendly. Basic room with view of a wall and the kitchen extractor right outside the window (room 111) was not worth £199 per night. Started off at £299 but by constantly canceling and re booking through Booking.com got the price down to £199. No aircon in the room so very warm. Restuant GB1 was very good and we would eat here again. Lounge/bar was OK but expensive but spoilt by 2 groups of drunks in the bar shouting and swearing at each other.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and efficient
Would we return? Not at that price and in that room for that price. The Thistle is better

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms on first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mike_moores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor

I am sorry you left with mixed feelings and that you may hesitate to return in the future choosing one of the other large hotels on the sea front instead

The Hotel in question offers a very different modern experience and we accept that we won't be everyone's choice all of the time. But what we believe sets us apart is our staff, the service, our “historic” and famous bar, our seafood restaurant GB1, the widest range of products at breakfast, our fantastic new spa and small touches like valet parking and a full concierge service –things that we are proud to offer and draw positive reviews on trip advisor time and again

I hope you will reconsider given that we also know are prices are often very similar to many of our competitors. If you would be so kind as to give us another chance in the future I would be pleased to handle your reservation personally to oversee your room allocation - just contact me and reference your TA post

Thank again for writing

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,691)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,801 - 5,807 of 7,692 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a place you choose when you want to be at this level of accommodation. It is a throw-back to a time when the hotel was meant to be style and comfort and grandeur.

From the carpets to the decor to the grand bar with its amazing woodwork, you are taking a step back in time to a place where sophistication wasn't something said with a wry smile.

Hotels of this type fall into two categories: your grandmother's house or a palace. This is a palace.

And the location! Between the two piers and with the sea just at the door, you could not ask for more.

The staff was wonderful for the moment we arrived and set the tone for the wonderful people we would encounter throughout our visit to Brighton.

Food was good if not terribly innovative but the dining room (for breakfast) was light and loud enough to convey energy but not so loud as to making speaking remotely hard.

The bar was wonderful. We had a glass of wine after a late dinner and there were just a few of us there but the staff was still in peak form. Attentive and helpful with a perfect balance of being friendly without being intrusive. And a gorgeous setting for a nightcap that looks as if it has endured with style.

The rooms was very nice. Well appointed and very, very clean.

All-in-all, across all of my travels around the world, the Grand has set the standard for what I want an experience to feel like and it has never been equaled. Yes, some hotels have outdone it on individual categories but, in sum, none has reached its lofty heights.

Take a step back in time to an age when hotels were more just a bed,a wifi connection and some celebrity chef's newest offering and put yourself in their able hands. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Dean

Thank you so much for your kind review

Your compliments are exactly what we like to hear .... and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay

We hope you look will visit us again soon at The Grand

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed several times on business and pleasure.

Great position right on Brighton beach and only a stones throw from the town centre and local bars and restaurants.

Staff are always polite and efficient and can't do enough to help. Dining room is nice (especially the conservatory overlooking the sea!) and the breakfast is first class with a selection to suit every taste.

The only negative is that some rooms are in desperate need of renovation. Some have been modernised but not all.

But overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Darrell

Thank you for your review

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your complimentary remarks about the staff, GB1 restaurant dinner and breakfast

Regarding your room I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Every room was refurbished last year so it is frustrating that you were still disappointed. I will endeavour to trace the room you stayed in and get it checked over

Many thanks again for your feedback

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at the Grand and will never return the reception staff were rude and miserable! Our room was the size of a postage stamp, no air con so the room was boiling and we didn't sleep all night due to a generator outside making noise non stop and outside our window was filthy full of seagull poo and dog ends!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davishayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review

Naturally I am very disappointed that you were so dissatisfied with your stay so I have sent you a separate message so we can make contact and hopefully resolve your complaint

I hope to hear from you soon

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The main reason for a 3* review is due to the room than anything else. Breakfast was on point and had a very wide selection for all eaters. The service and welcome was professional and welcoming and made you feel at home. Everything was fine until we entered the room. First glance it was fabulous.

When we opened the cupboards there was a women's clutch bag in there which we're not sure what was in there as it wasn't ours.

There were hairs on and in the bath.

There was no bath robes in the room which we were told were complimentary. This didn't really affect us. Just principle.

Apart from that it was a very lovely stay and if you do go out for dinner. We recommend Coast to Coast at the Mariner

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Danny

Thank you for your feedback

Firstly I am grateful to you for the compliments about the staff and breakfast

However I am very disappointed that you were let down by a lapse in our housekeeping standards for which there are no excuses.

I have naturally raised this with our housekeeping management so they can ensure the checking of rooms is more stringent in the future

My apologies again and thank you for bringing these to my attention

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited hotel in February to stay overnight. The hotel does not have a Star Rating on its web-site & when queried, they responded they don't do them! The hotel is a magnificent art deco style building, which is very attractive with a great position on the sea front. Service in the bar was poor when trying to get a coffee & tea. The overall dining experience in the evening is not what I would expect from this place, where rooms do not come cheap.
It lacked style, a limited menu disappointed. Breakfast in the conservatory was better though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your stay last February

I am sorry you left disappointed. In terms of "star rating" generally speaking most people refer to the AA scheme which, like many of our competitors we don’t subscribe to - but this does not stop us aspiring to 5 star standards

Our restaurant GB1 generally attracts great reviews (see also its own Trip Advisor pages separate to the hotel site) but we accept we won’t please the whole market especially as it is quite specialised. But this does not mean we don't listen to complaints and we always take any feedback in to consideration when we change menus etc...

Thank you again for writing

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a business trip, and simply couldn't fault it. Beautiful room, excellent food & drink and polite, efficient staff. Some old, traditional hotels can look rather tatty, but this place manages to retain its original grandeur. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic feedback

As you can imagine we all work hard to try and get it absolutely right for our guests and it looks like we succeeded - so thank you for passing on your comments

Hopefully we will see you back at The Grand again soon

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £101 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing