We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service but very disappointing room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service but very disappointing room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay, at a cost of £380 which we thought was quite expensive but thought it would be a well appointed room. We were wrong. We were on the 4th floor and the corridor outside our room had terribly squeaky floorboards so we could hear every single person who walked past.

The sink in the bathroom had an enormous crack right across it, not what you expect from this standard of hotel.

The window in the bedroom was frosted so you couldn't even look out, again for the price of the room this was just not good enough. Also it being warm weather we had the window open but the constant drone from the air conditioning unit outside (I presume) was very noisy.

However the room was otherwise clean and the bed comfortable.

We did mention all the above to the staff and they did offer us a discount on our bill for which we were grateful. However the fact remains that the next person will be paying quite a high price for the same sub standard room.

The staff were helpful and the breakfasts were very good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,098
    1,886
    996
    457
    221
See reviews for
1,143
3,507
177
690
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with a balcony. The room and views were wonderful. Starbucks coffee maker and high end audio visuals were welcome. We had room service both nights and at breakfast and they were great meals, eaten overlooking the sea. Service was very good and friendly, but not overdone. It wasn't cheap, but then I wasn't expecting or looking for cheap. Really didn't want to leave!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the grand hotel. We booked a dinner and breakfast deal via secret escapes and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Colin the doorman greeted us on arrival and was very professional. Unfortunately there was no space in the hotel car park but Colin directed us to the NCP car park located just at the back of the hotel which is literally a 2 minute walk away.

The room was beautufully decorated and had the most amazing view of the beach. I would definitely Reccomend booking a sea view room.

We ate in the GB1 restaurant on both nights and was served by Jonathan. He was very attentive and provided us with excellent customer service.

The filet steak may have been one of the best I've have ever eaten which is funny it being a sea food restaurant.

Overall we had a brilliant stay and this hotel will definitely be our go to place in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0F0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I have to say this is one of the best Hotels In Brighton! The hotel is modern and you should be guaranteed a relaxing night. The balcony views are by far the most spectacular of all the ones I've seen as it on looks the seafront and has a great view of everything. Next time we need a hotel in Brighton this is the one we will be coming to!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayConnors1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I stayed weekend from Friday 1st Aug 2 nights, must say everything was marvellous check in was great from Amanda and colleague very friendly, lovely room 503,we used the lounge for drinks all the staff there were fantastic, did not use the restaurant except for breakfast the food was lovely and again friendly staff, charming lounge guys I must add, must mention the guys on the main door also great service and very welcoming and finally Anna Jones a lovely lady. I left some shoes in the wardrobe I e-mailed and this evening the Grand have rang me to say they will post them on excellent phone call from a South African sounding Lady, Thankyou, All in all I can not thank the staff enough we are often in Brighton, our first stay at the Grand but not our last, Well done all and again Thankyou,Robert & Stuart.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartBennett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked well in advance with a saver rate but a lovely hotel. Definitely worth the star rating, not a huge amount to say other than just being a very nice stay, big rooms, very nice breakfast and friendly staff, didn't use the bar but always seemed very nice with a piano playing etc.

The only gripe I had was the shower head had a bit of limescale buildup that I had to clean to get a decent shower and the view from my room wasn't great but aside from that was fantastic.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trucallinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for three nights booking a deluxe sea view room, it's worth paying more for this style of room. The room was very spacious with a separate dressing room , a huge sofa and two comfy chairs. It had a fabulous view of the sea and had a balcony. It was hot when we stayed but the room was ok for sleeping with the fan provided. The bedding was changed daily and there were plenty of toiletries too. The bathroom was great with a deep bath and separate shower. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and the food and service were excellent. Breakfasts on all three mornings were lovely, lots of fruit and healthy alternatives and a full English if wanted. I found the service by all staff from reception to the restaurant very good. I would definitely stay again at this hotel and fear this room has spoilt me for other hotel stays. Will I find another room as grand!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing