We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My partner and I were getting married on the Bandstand and chose The Grand to stay at as our treat to ourselves. We had organised to have treatments in The Spa the day before the wedding as well as the morning of. We had one of the suites with a balcony on the 5th floor overlooking the sea- a beautifully spacious decorated room.
The evening before we had dinner in the hotel where Gareth was particularly helpful and knowledgeable. The cocktails and seafood were beautiful- would highly recommend eating there if you can. The breakfasts were also beautiful with a huge range of choices. Wed had room service breakfast for one morning and that was lovely also.
The rest of the staff were fantastically supportive and helpful: Steph in the Spa made sure that our wedding preparations were completed to the highest standard along with Samantha and Amanda: Steph also offered to do our hair on the wedding morning too, thus ensuring we felt truly looked after. Matt on the concierge desk was always helpful and supportive, as was Carlos with the room service: always with a smile as he greeted us with a 'hello darlings'.
It was expensive- I won't deny it- but for a special occasion like our wedding I have no quibble with it. Throughout our three night stay we were treated with the utmost courtesy and respect. We have always wanted to stay there and we weren't disappointed. The recent refurbishment has been completed in keeping with the original feel of the hotel, which is stunning, and throughout it was immaculately clean. If you want to treat yourself, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Brighton.

Room Tip: I know it's a bit more expensive, but if you can go for a suite instead of a standard room I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,225
    1,953
    1,019
    464
    227
See reviews for
1,181
3,642
185
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for one evening in August having got a great deal on Secret Escapes, we opted for a sea view room and got one on the top floor which was large well equipped and very clean.
The staff in the hotel from the person at the door through to the restaurant manager wee excellent and could not be faulted.
The hotel has been pleasantly restored and it's location on the sea front is great, it is also close to the lanes which are well worth exploring

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Grand sadly is not grand anymore. After a return visit after ten years, how sad to see this lovely old establishment so tatty and unloved. The pillows were smelly, the decor of the whole place was tired and unloved. So disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry south glamorgan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to go and stay at the grand hotel for a night thanks to my job!
Amazing night,I only got one disappointment? The brick wall when I looked out of the window,can't grumble really as it was all payed for!
Apart from that I would say if you get the chance to stay there, jump at it,one word OUTSTANDING!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent location, room very spacious and clean, Breakfast was one of the best ever, so much choice. Beds comfy with clean white bed linen, Bathroom clean.. Valet parking. We got a 50% deal on our room ( it would have been out of my price range else) I enjoyed everything about my stay at the Grand and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were thoroughly treated to a great dining experience by the staff plus the Sunday Lunch was delicious and just as we had hoped.

We expected the cost of the Grand to be exceptionally high but they offer a Sunday lunch at an exceptional price which we could not decline.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were very pleased we were studying at the Grand when at a meeting at hotel next door
It was good value nice place great location on sea front well renovated good breakfast helpful staff room good facilities but no view may be worth upgrading for view

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing