We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but with flaws”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good but with flaws”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

So the first thing to say about this property is that you are clearly staying at a higher class of property - the details like the towels and bed linen are really nice quality, there's free bottled water in the room and it generally feels high quality.

Walking into the building is like taking a step back in time to an earlier era which is really nice. Myself and a colleague spent some time working in the bar and even the free nibbles were a cut above the norm.

Check in was painless and although we'd booked a cheap deal meaning we didn't get a view - the rooms were nice. The floorboards creak like mad all through the hotel which can be a bit annoying but it's an old building!

My biggest problem was that the rooms (like a lot of the older hotels in Brighton) aren't air-conditioned and although it wasn't particularly hot outside the room was quite warm. Thankfully there was an electric fan in my room which did help a bit.

It turned out that another issue was the proximity of the Brighton Centre where Lee Evans was performing on the night I stayed. That meant that the room was filled with booming bass for about 15 minutes when the show finished and the play-out music was on. I'd be worried that if a band were performing at the venue I'd be very stressed during the evening.

Breakfast was included in our rate and turned out to be a pleasant surprise - mainly because so many hotels provide such rubbish breakfasts. The food was really tasty and the orange juice tasted freshly squeezed.

Overall it was a nice experience but I wouldn't want to stay there in the summer due to lack of air-con and noise from the venue next door would concern me so I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms closer to the Brighton Centre for noise that comes from the venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earltubthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    2,030
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,793
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Dropped by for a meeting by car and spot of breakfast ..... Oh dear the facade is tired , window sills of crumbling paint ....asked reception if I could park in the car park ...oh yes see the concierge .... Oh no you can't we re full ... You'll have to use the ncp!

Charm school clearly not attended by the young man , didn't argue and after 20 mins on the 11 floor of the ncp returned for breakfast ....shown to dull dark corner ... Moved myself to the window to watch the sea .... coffee came ... Usual dull uninspiring breakfast ....£19.50 ....fan blade missing , wi if weak .... Sadly mrs t would be horrified ,,,,,, nothing creative or outstanding ... Usual blend of dull interior , lacklustre service and 2 star breakfast .... Right up there with Luton hoo and the royal Cambridge ..... Just wished I hadn't bothered !

Room Tip: Really wouldn't bother ... Many others shine more brightly in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Nice hotel on the seafront close to the pier and the shops,had a family room without a seaview,the only view was a brickwall,didn't mind spent most of the time out and came back when it was dark.breakfast was nice the resturant was at the front of the hotel so we had a seaview.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank india w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

That is a 5 star hotel. We enjoyed our time at the The Grand Brighton Hotel. Very happy to go back again. The room was amazing with sea view. The king size bed was comfortable for the best sleep I ever had in a hotel. Great location in busy Brighton. Polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at The Grand Brighton.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the amazing sea views and spent a comfortable night in our newly refurbished bedrooms. We pride ourselves on the team here at The Grand and it’s always a pleasure to hear comments such as yours.

We do hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Mosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I booked a room here with my sister on hotels.com. My sister likes to kick in her sleep so I specifically requested a twin room- I was disappointed to find out that we had a double room. The room was a lot smaller than expected, and the windows wouldn't open so of felt very stuffy in the evening.
The bedroom didn't have again light, only 2 bedside lights and a lamp, so when we were getting ready in the evening it was very dimly lit.
The bed was average, and the towels/complimentary robes were hard and past their time.
Breakfast was nice, however there was a lot of breaks between the food being topped up; I actually went up 3 times to get some eggs. I was also disappointed as I'd requested poached eggs using the breakfast selector, only to find they weren't making them.

I was looking forward to using the fancy coffee machine in the room, and was disappointed to find they weren't in all the rooms.

Location is probably the best thing about this hotel, and the staff were nice, however, for the price of the stay and the quality of the room I don't think I'd stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Grand at Brighton lives up to its name. It is pure, unashamed luxury fromthe moment thatyou stap through the door in to its woderfully restored surroundings (restored after the bombing in the 1980s and continuing re-decoration). The bar offers a very wide range of drinks including cocktails and the sandwiches and "nibbles" provided are delicious. Sit in the conservatory area for afternoon tea of have your pre and/or post prandial drinks overlooking the sea. The rooms are all comfortable and the suites are outstanding with balconies overlooking the sea. Go to sleep lulled by the murmer of the waves. These rooms are not inexpensive but for a special occasion it is well worth investing that little extra. If you feel that the cost of a sea view is beyond you then the rooms further back are quiet and well proportioned but lack the stunning view.
Food served in the restaurant is of top quality, breakfasts offer a variety and the food is cooked to order and served. Again, you can use the conservatory and dine overlooking the sea. Staff are attentive and any queries are dealt with efficiently and professionally.

Room Tip: A sea view room is best and a suite worth the cost but any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Grand has recently benefitted from a refurbishment programme including the opening of The Spa and GB1 restaurant and the refurbishment of all our bedrooms, which I hope you agree are looking fantastic.

I will pass your comments regarding dinner and breakfast in GB1 to the team. We are always striving to deliver the best food and dining experience for all. We are particularly proud of our team here at The Grand Brighton, so it’s always good to hear favourable feedback about our levels of service.

Once again thank you for comments and I do hope to welcome you back for a return stay soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

A friend and I returned to The Grand at Easter on a complimentary visit after a disappointing stay the December before. We were given a Chambre Unique with a balcony and sea view. It was stunning! On our previous visit, we had a standard twin towards the rear of the hotel which was large, but dated and cold.
This time, the room was luxurious and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel restaurant was superb on both occasions and I loved the conversatory bar and grand staircase. The spa is very luxurious but pricey. My advice, pay for the better rooms and you will get the luxury you deserve!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jacquid716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing