We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed at the Grand for 2 nights when I ran in the Brighton Marathon. On the whole, I was very satisfied. The staff were helpful, the room was fine, and the location on the seafront was terrific.

They opened for breakfast earlier than they usually do on a Sunday to accommodate all the Marathon runners wanting to fuel up with enough time to digest breakfast before the race started, which I thought was considerate.

I've previously stayed at the Metropole, which is next door, and which was very disappointing. If you're trying to choose between them, go for the Grand, no contest.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NautiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,465
    2,072
    1,066
    491
    233
See reviews for
1,264
3,862
198
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My wife and I visited this hotel for a night as part of a special anniversary. There was a special offer on that weekend and we were given a free upgrade to a "DeLuxe" room with sea view.
We decided not to eat at the hotel and went out for a very nice meal,returning at about 10:45pm. It was only on our return that we realised that our room was right above the "Embassy "Suite" used for entertaining and that a party was in full swing. This was really brought home to us when we got to our room and found that the disco below was in full flow and as if in the next room. "Never mind" we thought, the hotel are bound to put a lid on it by midnight. However by the bewitching hour the disco was still pumping out the volume and if anything, it had increased so that we could even hear the words of the DJ.
By 12:30 we had been in bed for sometime and thought the music must stop soon! Not to be unfortunately and it was not until 1pm that there was at last peace in the hotel. Even then there appeared to be some peripheral music playing albeit at a much lower volume. Presumably whilst the DJ cleared the room and started to pack away his equipment.
I'm a drummer in a semi-pro rock band so have some understanding of loud music but this was in my opinion unreasonable for such a prestigious hotel and something the staff should have made us aware of when we were given our upgrade.
My wife and I have stayed happily at the Grand before although this was some years previously and probably before it changed hands. So to have have our "special" evening spoilt was a huge disappointment.
The next morning we found out that the previous nights festivities had been in aid of a 50th birthday party. Presumably this persons special evening had not been spoilt but how many other couples had!

So be warned if you happen to stay there particularly over a weekend or holiday period make sure your room is not above the "Embassy Suite!"

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We got a great deal ... B&B with a sea view for £89. Very friendly staff, clean hotel, good food, and their underground car park makes life so easy. Our room was very spacious and we sat at a nice sea view table for our breakfast. Thoroughly recommend 9 out of 10 .. they will get a 10 it they return my umbrella I left in room 624 .. and I feel confident they will.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAOD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

After the cancellation of our holiday to Thailand due to the volcanic ash cloud, we booked The Grand in haste to get over our disappointment.

The deal was £269 for 4 nights, double room, including breakfast which was good, although we were shocked to find the cost of the hotel car park at £25/day, so we parked in the NCP directly behind at £16/day.

The room was spacious and comfortable, tho a little tired. We were on 3rd floor at the rear and our windows were frosted so as to hide the view of the brick wall, thus making the room very dark.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of cereals,fruit and juices, pastries and hot and cold buffet. Ask the waiting staff if you require freshly cooked kippers and eggs from the kitchen.

We did not try the restaurant for dinner; their menu was fairly limited and main meals were mostly over £25. If you have the dinner deal your allowance is £25/head. Plenty of eateries around, including Jamie Oliver's Italian.

The Lounge and bar area was comfortable and relaxing with a pianist playing during the afternoons/evenings during the weekend. We missed the band duo on Friday evening (shame). Drinks are very pricy; £6.80 for 250 ml mediocre red wine and £4.50 pint of Guinness, cocktails start around £9 (didnt try these!). The complimentary nibbles were very welcome and we have become addicted to the wasabi peanuts!

Location is good, a nice walk to the pier and beyond to the marina. The main shopping centre and the Lanes very close. Try the Tea Cosy cafe in Kemp Town ... very camp and quirky ;o) Were disappointed with a show at Komedia, but I suspect this is not always the case.

The spa is currently under refurbishment, which was a shame as a swim and sauna was what we needed.

Overall, a good deal and no real complaints.

Hightlight of our stay was seeing Leo Sayer having a cuppa and a biscuit in the hotel lounge!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnofrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

totally disappointed with this hotel.room was tired and faded.reception and bar very noisyand unable to sit and have a drink owing to a large conference happening over the bank holiday!!!!..Dining room ok, but menu limited. Be mindful of those car parking fees, we got caught out as well - £25 per night !!!.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

My family and I stayed at The Grand Hotel in Brighton very recently for a short break. The occasion was a special birthday, and we took 3 rooms for two nights.

The Grand is a lovely, historic, if slightly faded, Victorian hotel right on the seafront at Brighton. We all had standard rooms, which although a bit tatty around the edges (there is a refurbishment programme going on I believe) were clean, comfortable, spacious and had good beds and bedding.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, breakfast was delicious and the sun shone all weekend. The public areas are grand, but the atmosphere welcoming. Food and drink are expensive, but one would expect this and tea on the terrace is well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilosopherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed as a treat in Brighton in one of the best hotels.
Good - service second to none, excellent breakfasts best location.
Bad- rooms dated and tired. Bathrooms in our room had mould around taps and sink and parts of taps missing.
car park - overnight they wanted to charge £25 per night !! £16 in NCP around corner. Price of room if you used there car park overnight went from £84.50 as special offer to £109.50 per night rip off ! better room facilities in other hotels in area for that money.
Basically paying for the name and reputation now , if they are not careful they will lose that and will be seriously overpirced

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungerford999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing