We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay anywhere else in Brighton - Sandra the manager did everything she could for us”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This trip was for my mum's 50th birthday and everyone at The Grand made it so perfect for us. Sandra Flannigan, the manager, could not have done more for us. The concierge Colin and Sean were so lovely and helped us out so much - bags, taxis, advice on where to go for meals. Sandra called thr restaurant we were at to let them know it was a special birthday and they had a cake ready! The man that cleaned our room was lovely and so polite. Thank you to The Grand!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7,458 - 7,464 of 7,842 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We booked two nights on the special offer rate and our room was something from the 1980s, with chipped bath enamel and stained old tiles on the bathroom floor. The dark old wood gives an outdated feel, and some of the paintwork is chipped and worn looking. The rooms we had (2 x ) would be lucky to get a 3* rating. Clearly other rooms in the hotel are a lot better, but I am sure we could have done better for the 100 pounds per night elsewhere. On the plus side the staff are very helpful, and the breakfast was good but not stunning. This hotel needs a serious revamp to keep up with competition in the market. Take care of the 25 pounds per day parking charge also - if you add all this up its not good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford_UK_CO2Burner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have been to Brighton a handful of times and each time I have been more impressed with the level of service The Grand provides. I have always been greeted with curteous staff, a relaxed environment and luxurious, comfortable rooms, and the hotel's seafront location makes for a relaxing atmosphere. Given the wonderful times I've had in the past I would honestly not consider staying anywhere else on my next visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesEdwards27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have just arrived back from our second stay at The Grand, and again had the most fantastic time. This hotel offers a very friendly service and a truly amazing breakfast, there is nothing more you could possibly need. The rooms were serviced daily and the rooms were most comfortable.

The staff were most courteous and extemely pleasant.

We as a family will most certainly be going back to the hotel at Christmas!!!

SUPER, SUPER SUPER - couldnt have wanted any more from a mini break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestwoodMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Absolutely awesome! We stayed in a recenctly refurbished room and it was more than we could have hoped for with contemporary furniture, flat screen TV, modern four poster bed, shower to die for, and the ultimate in romantic luxury - an amazing deep wooden bath for two! The view from the balcony was spectacular as expected.

What made the stay at The Grand even more memorable was that the staff made us feel really special throughout our stay. The duty manager Sandra is a real professional and one of The Grand's star features.

We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWildsOfDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed in room 211 on a discount internet deal £100 per night and as previous reviewers have stated - the rooms here are dark, stuffy and claustrophobic with blanked-out windows which barely open. At the time of booking i did appreciate we would not have a sea view but was told we would overlook the grounds. However, on arrival we realised the Grand has no grounds and there was no view whatsover due to the obscured windows. We felt we had been misled and were very disappointed.The air conditioning was too noisy to sleep through and outside the window was a 24/7 rattle and hum of an extractor of some kind.The furniture was shabby and battered. Hence we had a nightmare first night and asked to be moved the second night. At £100 per night these special offer rooms are not cheap and frankly I think they are simply not good enough to let at any price due to noise and light issues. It does make me wonder if it's worth taking up these internet offers. We felt totally exhausted by our one night in such a downbeat room. The second room was better and on the plus side I must say that the staff, without exception, were superb. My advice to would-be guests is to either pay full price for a front-facing room with fully opening windows or go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here and once again I was delighted with the experience. The large seaview room with balcony was spacious, light and airy with plenty of room for the childrens beds. Large comfortable double bed and good bathroom with attached dressing area. Views from these rooms are fantastic and it is so lovely to sit on the balcony when the weather is good. The bar area is relaxed, yet efficient and room service was also good. Breakfasts can be a bit manic if you get there late, so I would recommend trying to get down early although difficult I know. The staff are always helpful and professional which obviously enhances the experience. My only criticism would be to say that although the TV we had was functional perhaps it should now be replaced by a more current model, but this is just nit picking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your kind comments.

Naturally I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £96 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing