We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsley House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ainsley House Hotel
Ranked #72 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

B&b in a excellent location,room clean,really comfy bed,nice hot shower,there was small shampoo and shower gel to use and some biscuits to have with your coffee(which is a nice thing as not every single b&b offers that)we only paid £55 with breakfast for double room,so I just can't complain..staff really friendly.Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    12
    7
    24
See reviews for
13
39
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel is in a great location with friendly staff. Prices were a bit on the high side (nearly £100 per night) however this looks like the average for the area. The hotel common areas and my room are in desperate need of an upgrade. Apart from a few cobwebs the room was clean.

The staff were very friendly and helpful therefore I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and your own toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We loved the friendly attention and immaculate breakfast at Ainsley House. You could have both buffet and cooked without feeling greedy! We felt very relaxed and it has a cosy atmosphere. Our large en suite room had a seating area in the bay window where you could watch the waves. We came by train so parking not a problem for us. Location is good too. Quiet, overlooking gardens but close to shops and sea front.
This is where we'll come back to and recommend to others!

Room Tip: We got a cancellation deal on a lovely room with sea view. Sometimes late booking pays off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen Region, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Me and my grandma stayed in this hotel last autumn for two nights and were really satisfied.

The room was pretty small, but not too small, just big enough for the two of us. One double and one single. Although the double was pretty small, so we used the single for one of us.
It was an en-suite, with classic shower. When we arrived we were told the shower was painted the day before, so we should just leave the doors open to vent the smell, but it was nothing terrible. The wi-fi was working just fine. There was a small TV in the room and also a selection of teas, cookies and fruit. Our window was looking into a "garden", so the view wasn´t that good, but we were there only for a short time, so we didn´t mind. Although some of the furniture seemed to be a bit old, the room was overall really clean and comfy.

Stairs are really narrow and steep so for someone who has heavy suitcase it may be kind of hard to get to his room.

Breakfast was pretty good. You can choose either continental or full-english. There are also cereals. The staff was really nice, always asking if we wanted to bring something more.

The location was good. Only couple of minutes to the Brighton Pier. Near the hotel are some shops (groceries) and also couple of restaurants.

I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klára Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

we wanted somewhere relatively inexpensive for a short break and Ainsley House met the need ; good points - location , a stone's throw from the pier which we could see from our reasonably sized room at the front ; comfortable bed , two easy chairs ( surprising the number of more expensive places that only provide one chair in a double room ), and a mini fridge useful for cooling a bottle of wine and cans of drink ; Friendly helpful staff , and a substantial breakfast choice.

Negative points ; decor could do with some TLC ; and some odd quirks ; whilst there is a kettle in the room ,it sits on the fridge , both using the same wall plug, so you have to chop and change ; no bedside tables , and initially we discovered that the bathroom sink had no plug, although that got sorted fairly quickly. finally, the shower delivers hot water , but the flow is a bit feeble ; a power shower it ain't

Room Tip: a room at the front overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpycornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Ainsley House Hotel is not the place to go if you want bland, corporate accommodation served by bland, corporate staff. It's cosy, welcoming, the decor is a little dated but clean and the proprietor is a hoot! It's just a stroll from the beach, pier and the Lanes and it offers a good, hearty breakfast. The rates are very attractive, not heavily loaded on Fridays and Saturdays, which makes a welcome change these days. There is free wi-fi in the rooms. We won't be staying anywhere else during our next short-break visits to Brighton. There is pay and display parking outside the hotel at reasonable rates, but beware the over-zealous parking wardens - especially the one wearing a motorcycle helmet whose scowl could make hell freeze over.

Room Tip: This is a quiet area of Brighton, far from the pubs and clubs that plague so many other hotel positi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

The staff were very friendly. Very warm welcome. We stayed in room 11 at the top of the building. Stairs and tight corners make luggage difficult to carry up. The whole decor is dated but I didn't go to Brighton to look at the four walls. Good breakfast served extremely quickly. Only real complaint was the shower. It was useless.

Room Tip: Room 11is at the front and has great views of the pier and beach. it is at the very top and no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyS1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Alston House
#78 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#70 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#32 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsley House Hotel

Property: Ainsley House Hotel
Address: 28 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing