We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location parking a pain good base if you don't pay a lott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location parking a pain good base if you don't pay a lott”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just got back today we paid £119 for dinner bed and breakfast through a news paper ad for 3 nights the room was dusty shower head filthy and it was like sleeping in a card board box it was that noisy above us and outside. On the plus side when we booked we got a 99p drinks offer from 7.30 - 11 That was great 2 house vodka and coke should have been 6.30 we paid £2 I now I said 99p each but they charge £1 hey at a pound we went complaining. So all I say is for what we paid and what we got - not bad food was ok even the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula1966x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    521
    616
    510
    1,107
See reviews for
381
1,255
153
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I paid £40 as a last minute rescue room when I got locked out of my house. The reception staff were incredibly helpful lending me phone chargers and toiletries, and I was allocated a seaview room with a jacuzzi bath. The room was comfortable, quiet and clean. Breakfast was fine and included in the price. Obviously if you want five star luxury, don't stay here, but I'm afraid you'll struggle to find that in Brighton anyway, even if you stop at the Grand or the Hilton. Some of the boutique 5-star guesthouses are your best bet, but hotels-wise, this does well for a moderately priced getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Best tip, don't bother. Just read some of the other reviews to see this is not a one off grudge complaint. As others have stated rooms dirty, reception staff not interested in work,and the basement rooms are like something from the Tower dungeons.
Only bright spot were the dining room staff who did at least try and were pleasent.

Room Tip: If this is the only choice of hotel do NOT accept a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel is what it says on the tin - we stayed 23-25 of August 2011 - the room on the first night was fair, bathroom was OK though wasnt nice finding pubic hairs in the bath and the general feel for that room was filthy. The breakfast was fair however time and time again I have mentioned to them about that god awful toast they have - it ruins the breakfast - so avoid breakfast at all cost.

Night 2 - we decided to stay a further night in Brighton so we booked on one of those cheap hotel sights at about 12.30 that afternoon - went to check in at 3 only to find that Their Central Reservations was down and they had no idea of our booking and who we are even tho they had the money upfront. It was a total nightmare - staff were too busy dancing to music on the desk and generally not being very professional. We was then told by reception because their resevations was down we would have to book again - I think if we had not kicked off we would have been left to find somewhere else to stay as they didnt really seem care - we gave them all our info and they did nothing for over an hour. We eventually was asked to give our card details again JUST INCASE WE ARE TELLING LIES ( well they said to cover their back) to me they think we were liars. The room we got was better than our first night - bathroom a tad small but it was some what clean - window did open nice and wide, room was fair though not up to scratch, saying that we only paid £60 1st night and £59 2nd - We may visit again, all depends on the reply we are STILL waiting from the hotel - my partner said he would sooner sleep on a park bench.

My final thoughts - if you see this place for 29.00 then yes its worth it, anything over that then pay a little extra and stay somewhere else. The Britannia in Birmingham is a fab hotel - why cant this be the same?

Room Tip: shop around first, all depends what you want really this hotel is very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidholt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just got back after a short stay at this hotel. Went with my husband and two sons. Excellent location, parking very difficult to find anywhere in Brighton and expensive when you do. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Family Room we had overlooked the road which was fine. Very noisy Saturday evening/Sunday morning with loud music playing across the road and people leaving the club. Room clean enough, very dated indeed. I know its an old hotel but really needs modernising inside. The bathroom however was really clean and spacious enough. Had breakfast which was self service buffet, not very appetizing and stone cold.

What you are paying for in this hotel is its ideal location in relation to the beach, pier etc, just don't expect too much inside and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for one night only on Saturday 20 August as a last minute booking and there was no other hotel available. It was a very disappointing experience. The hotel was very shabby, but the most upsetting thing was the condition of the room which was dark and grubby - the carperting was very stained and not cleaned. The beds were terrible so we could hardly sleep due to very old sprung mattresses which almost protruded through the sheet. Bathroom was very old and in bad condition so the shower water sprayed through the glass panel onto the floor. Only one towel for 2 persons and we were told that the other one was in a drawer - but there was no information on this. Even if this only a 2 star hotel this is unacceptable since we have stayed in some lovely 2 star hotels in various places when necessary. Will never return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Don't do what we did, we thought we were on the Hotel Website and clicked on Contact us to complete by phone and found we had paid over £100 more than the advertised price for a 2 nght stay, with Central Reservations.com the £40 deposit was non refundable -- BIG MISTAKE. We could have stayed at The Thistle for the Same amount. I did quote them the Web Price but was told no, that price is not current,

The hotel itself was dirty the carpet in the room smelt of Wet Dog, could not see out of the Windows which were filthy, mind you all we wanted was a bed and shower as such the beds were comfortable and a nice size room, the bedding was clean but nothing else, the Hotel does not respond to complaints.

On the plus side the water was always hot and a good flow and the heated towel rail was a comfort in the morning. Brighton itself was wonderful, the Restaurants, Shops etc. and the locals were very friendly, the show Rock Around The Clock was a great value for money night out.

We tried the breakfast once, the butter although cold was rancid obviously through being put out and then back in the fridge and out again, not nice. The dining room was depressing and looked like the remains of a Chimps Tea Party, The second day we decided health was more important than money so had breakfast out.

If you book it right, you know you aren't going to get anymore than 1950's comfort but at least you get what you pay for!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beejay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing