We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T STAY EVEN IF YOU WANT CHEAP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DON'T STAY EVEN IF YOU WANT CHEAP”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The reviews say it all – look at the terrible score. This is not without good reason.

This hotel is pretty awful even for a mid-priced seafront hotel. Don’t go there if you want romance or seaside charm, comfort at a budget or somewhere you can feel safe. If all you want is a bed it might be ok. Having said that, if you want to sleep in the bed, probably not a good idea as they have a number of rooms placed above / next to / within close enough distance to the nightclub (which is part of the hotel) that you can hear the DJ asking the crowd if they “want to hear some more” and bass thumping until 2pm. Lovely. I was on a hen do and 4 of our rooms suffered from this problem. We were not on the same corridor either.

You will get charged if you check out late, so prepare to go down to breakfast with enough time to queue for at least half an hour like we did. Don’t hold your breath on the food. It’s pretty awful.

The hotel has smoking floors, which you will be put in unless you request otherwise, especially if you’re in a group. The hotel stinks of smoke in these places even if you’re not a smoker.

Lastly be very careful with your belongings, if you leave something in the room you will not get it back. You won't get much help. The senior staff will just copy and paste standard answers to your enquiries like they do in replies to complaints below.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance which you had from the night club in the hotel. We do have noise restrictors on our equipment, obviously these did not manage to stop disturbance to you on this night.

We do have designated smoking rooms, these are rooms 170-183 and the entire second floor.
I do apologise if you were not told of this upon your arrival at the hotel.

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments on your experience here.

I do hope that you will return to us in the future where the standards will be as expected.

Yours Sincerely
Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    505
    590
    499
    1,062
See reviews for
355
1,209
148
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

If you sit in the big lounge and get fed up of looking at the pier and sea, you can always watch the mice running around under the seats/chairs & tables! yes they have vermin and dont seem
concerned about it. When the fire alarm goes off, as it did when we were there, just look to see if the staff are panicking! if not its a fair assumption its ok, as they dont tell you whether or not that it
is. Would have loved to it if Basil Fawlty was there!

Room Tip: Top floor quiet if ok with wind/sea noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokennyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I would first like to apologise for any delay in responding to your complaint; we take complaints made to the hotel seriously and value the time it takes to make such a complaint.

Your complaint in regards to the hotel has been rectified.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with your very useful comments.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA

Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed for a hen weekend. Rooms all on the same floor as requested but smoking rooms so even the air felt dirty! Not enough towels for twin room. Breakfast que too long and food only edible if still drunk from the night before!

Room Tip: Stay clear of the SMOKING rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

I am sorry that you did not find the food satisfactory, we rarely get complaints about our food. I will however pass on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

The second floor are our designated smoking rooms. I do apologise if you were not told this upon check in.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Where do I begin?
The staff are very rude, particularly the operations manager and a duty manager I spoke to (who shall remain nameless), and are clearly lacking in any kind of customer service skills. Although I must say this is directed at the senior staff as opposed to the receptionist/bar staff who were not overly helpful but not offensive either. They were unable to a) listen b) answer my query c) be polite to me. Instead they talked over me and made me feel embarrassed to be raising a query.
The hotel reeked of smoke due to the allocated smoking rooms. The rancid smell of stale smoke seemed to encompass the entire hotel.
The queue for breakfast was long (30 mins plus) and most definitely NOT worth the wait. Something I would not expect from a hotel of this size, even if Sunday mornings are a "busy time".
The decor and facilities in the hotel were shabby, scruffy, and in dire need of updating and refurbishment. The carpets were ripped, the walls were scuffed and marked, the bathrooms were appalling (worse than a budget, chain hotel) and the soft furnishings extremely dated. The cleaning cupboards were left open with the equipment on display and a crude "illustration" on one of the cupboard doors.
The hotel was extremely noisy due to a night club situated within the hotel and adjacent to the hotel. We were not warned of this in advance and consequently did not get much sleep.
On a more positive note, the location of the hotel was good.
Only stay here if you are willing to sacrifice service and comfort for location and a cheap rate.

Room Tip: Don't have a room next to the nightclub outside or above the hotels own nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

The second floor are our designated smoking rooms. I do apologise if you were placed here and not told. I have spoken to the reception staff and asked that guests be informed of the smoking procedure.

Please be assured that we currently are renovating the hotel bedrooms.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the last 3 years when down in Brighton for work, as the location is great, right by the pier and public transport connections.

The hotel is old so but has been renovated. Public areas are okay, certainly less tired than they used to. The rooms themselves are comfortable although single rooms are tiny. I asked for a quiet room and it was quiet though on the first floor, at leasr until 5,30am when the refuse collection arrived.

The big problem with this cheap and cheerful hotel is that it is overrun with senior coach trippers which overwhlems the hotel. In the evening it feels as if you're in a retirement home. Breakfast though was the real problem. It didn't open until 7am (not great for business anyway) and when I went down there were well over 100 coachtrippers already queueing. This meant that there was a 25minute wait to even get into the restaurant and then I had to my plate of food out into the bar to be able to actually eat. Waiting and trying to get food was unpleasant with the coachtrippers pushing and shoving their way rudely around. Not a great end to any stay.

While in the (very long) queue I heard a number of people saying how bad the noise had been all night as there's a night club right by one side of the hotel. Fortunately I've not had a room there but it is the city centre so it's never going to be quiet.

I'd stay here again but would never pay more than £40/night - for more than this you could get a much nicer boutique hotel in Kemptown.

Room Tip: Ask for either seaview (£10supp) or to be facing the Steine and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiangarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the royal albion hotel due to our more elderly guests.
However we are a non discriminatory company and are in no way ageist.
We have many guests from all ages. We do advertise as a family friendly hotel. Indicating we welcome people of all ages.

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had seen a lot of negative reviews about this hotel, but it is in a fantastic location, close to everything you would want to see in Brighton.

The staff are friendly and helpful. We had booked a double room with breakfast and dinner for two nights. We arrived early and were able to check in, upgraded at no extra charge to larger room, with a sea view and a jacuzzi (unfortunately this was out of order!). The room was warm (if anything a little too warm) clean and comfortable, the food was good with a choice each evening.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and price.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor when it was booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicdandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Fantastic location. Right in the middle by the pier.
Not as great as outside suggests. I have stayed here 3 times now.
I have never had a room that has an outside view at all. All my rooms have overlooked an internal gap on the insides of the building.

One room was located near a noisy (kitchen?) extractor thing in this internal "void". The airconditioning thing in my room didnt work. So at one point I had to prop the window open. Yes prop because the sash cords did not work so i had to use the cupsto hold the window open that overlooked onto the internal void.

In the morning the smell from the breakfast cooking was bad.
Breakfast is full "English" but taste is a bit yuk.

I have used this hotel once this year and once last year. *both* times I checked in the people in front of me had used laterooms to book the hotel with. Both times the hotel could find no record of the booking (I used the company website). The hotel just said to the customers "you have to sort it out with laterooms" and then served me next in line.

At rush hour to check in with a line of about 10-12 people all waiting, they only had one person on reception checking in. Come on Royal Albion...that is not great. I had to wait about 15-20 minutes on both times.

Summary great location, but I hate rooms with no windows looking outside and that is all I have had.

Next time I will look to see if there is a better hotel if the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning within the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not find the 'smell' of our food satisfactory, we rarely get complaints about our food. I will however pass on your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

I have also passed on your comments to our Front of House Manager in order that reception staff are visible. Ensuring that guests are not left waiting for long periods to check-in. I have asked that the number of staff on duty be monitored closely especially at times, especially when we are expecting higher volumes of arriving guests.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing