We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh what a joy for smokers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“oh what a joy for smokers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is probably a strange thing for people to understand if you are a non-smoker,I booked a cheap deal break at this hotel,not knowing what sort of room i get etc,looking forward to having a cigerette on a freezing cold doorstep,on entering to room i noticed an ashtay on the desk,so i went to reception to ask why it was there,she replied the whole of our 2nd floor has smoking rooms.I would have paid a surcharge to be able to do this.so thats for all you smokers out there.Hotel its self could do with a bit of a makeover,but is an old building,Staff need to be friendly,but all in all didnt care cos i had an ashtray.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    491
    573
    489
    1,045
See reviews for
342
1,184
144
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Reviewing this in loved up mode may make all the difference, but reading the other comments, such as no mushrooms are hardly worth a terrible rating! (THE HORROR! No mushrooms! There was plenty more to choose from...)
This hotel has many fantastic features which outweigh the slightly old fashioned decor...thumbs up to the Vegasy buffet style breakfast, beautiful lounges and wide range of amenities...
Bearing in mind that rooms in this hotel are only £40 a night (or less i see) there's no room for complaint.

We checked in late a night and were given a superior room in the eaves of the hotel, no sea view but we didn't pay for one so we didn't mind what was out the window! The room was spacious and warm, comfy arm chairs, lovely big cleam bathroom...the carpets could do with replacing but they were clean and nice to walk on...we were happy to find the hotel bar was still open (and a very reasonable price for a pint)...sitting in the regency style lounge, overlooking the pier and the sea felt pretty blissful after a 4 hour journey...
Breakfast was great - free breakfast, it was busy but the staff handled it well, there was no real wait time...it was perfectly suited to busy travellers wanting to get out and seize the day, portions unlimited - great choice of cereals, breads, teas and coffee as well the fried stuff...in another review somebody has mentioned microwaves, i'd love to see the microwave that made these gargantiun piles of food! We were left feeling satisfied, especially on the last day where we enjoyed our coffee in the lounge overlooking the sea...
We noticed there was an evening buffet as well which we didn't have time to try but at £9.95 for all you can eat definitely seems re-visiting! There was the sound of a club a couple of nights, but this is an old hotel, not a modern sound proofed box...Brighton is a party town, perhaps a lowering of the expectations is required for £20 per person per night! The hotel made this one of our favourite trips to Brighton.
We would be happy to stay here again and take the rents no less :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueGrumpyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us.

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

me and my partner was pleasantly surprised after we had read some reviews ( which wasnt good ) we really didn't know what to expect but we was happy with the facilities and really enjoyed our stay and we are looking to return later in the year but we have to say that the decor could do with much needed modernising and it would benefit from a larger breakfast buffett area .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had been a bit concerned about going to this hotel after reading other reviews. But I wanted inexpensive and that is what I got - £29 a night. For that price it was fine. The room was clean, which is the most important; and warm, too warm at nights. Yes, it is shabby but it gets the customers who don't want to/can't afford to pay a lot, and knows its market. If done up prices would escalate, specially given its prime position, and at the moment it is handy for many. I think management needs a bit of a kick. The young staff were willing but seemed a bit sloppy. Training? And the public areas need a better eye kept on them - cigarette butt left squashed on stair carpet for most of the day and tables in the lounge sticky. It's a kind of pile 'em high, sell them cheap place - and on that level it works.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide an exemplary level of customer service to all our guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you choose Royal Albion, during your next visit to Brighton.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I book a hotel in advanced so not to be disappointed and what i have got is a basement room underneath the club next to the hotel. They gave me another room in the end but still its not an excuse especially an one of the busiest weekends

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKMIca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I can only apologise for the noise disturbance which you had from the night club in the hotel. We do have noise restrictors on our equipment, obviously these did not manage to stop disturbance to you on this night.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused, but thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your very useful comments.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright HCIMA
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Booked a single room for £99 for 3 nights with breakfast.
When I checked in they said breakfast not included in the price I paid. Seems Expedia paid them £74 and charged me £99.
I showed my invoice which clearly stated breakfast included. The man on reception put a note on the system as was worried they would try and charge me. So make sure you have your invoice just incase.
I found the staff all fairly friendly.

They had ran out of singles so luckily I got a double Room 321. The room was nice enough and very clean.
I had 2 windows but they looked out onto a side wall which was a bit depressing.
I did end up extending my stay an extra night and booked this again through expedia for £32 'with breakfast' as cheaper than hotel direct.

The second room I had also a double 'room 422' I really did not like much. It was directly above previous room but with only one window and felt quite dark and very depressing. Also there was a real musty smell to the room that did not go even with airing.
room a bit smaller and just did not feel as nice. Informed reception on check out no remote in the room for tv.

Onto breakfast. I am not too fussy but have to say the breakfast is VERY poor quality. First day there was also no pastries and none were replaced even tho I was in ther for over half and hour.

I have to say most of the food felt microwaved. Scambled egg is my favourtite but most hotels like this just have that rubbery watery stuff. No fried eggs like other britannia hotels. Shame there were no mushrooms either. I am just being a bit picky, but that is because the overall breakfast on all 4 days just was very poor. Not sure anyone would want to pay £10 for breakfast here!
Another problem was seating. Was very busy and hard to find a table. Some of the time had to eat standing up.

Overall I would consider staying at this hotel again if it was cheap. Location is fantastic and I did not have any issues with noise myself.
Just think the hotel need to sort out the quality of the breakfast. Sure some people I heard saying it was lovely, and other's it was horrible.
Other Britannia hotels I have stayed in are far better at breakfast tho.

Room Tip: check other sites for good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

The restaurant is our largest room in the hotel. We do spread the breakfast time over 3 hours (7am-10am) to give our guests the opportunity to eat at times that suit them. As is often the case, guests will arrive for breakfast at around the same time, hence it gets slightly overcrowded.

Our restaurant is a self-service buffet for all meals; this can help service to progress smoothly and fairly quickly.
Fried eggs are available but on request, there are signs around the Restaurant to inform guests of this service.

Yours Sincerely

Nick Wright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

this hotel is in need of a major refit, the carpet was thread-bare in the bedroom the furniture inside the bedroom was worst than what can be found at he local tip.
The only positive was its location.
Thank God we only had one night stay,before flying out the next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodySwindonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickWright715, General Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologise for the state of disrepair your room was in.
Please be assured that we currently have contractors in, Decorating the rooms.

I offer my sincere apologies if this caused you any discomfort during your stay.

Here at the Royal Albion Hotel, we strive to provide all our guests with an exemplary level of customer service.
I am deeply saddened we did not provide you with this same level of service during your stay.

I do hope that you will return to us in the future where the standards will be as expected.

Yoursv Sincerely

Megan-Louise Bathie
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing