We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Benamocarra
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Given what we paid for the night at this hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was not huge, but was clean, with a great bath room, plenty of hot water and comfortable bed. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If view is important then the sea view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kesweddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    507
    599
    505
    1,078
See reviews for
364
1,223
150
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I am sorry to say that my review will be in the "could do better" category. On the whole the staff were helpful, but the hotel needs a major refurbishment and is in poor condition. The TV in my room did not work as the end of the aeriel had come off. The TVs were over 20 years old.

The wallpaper was coming off the walls and the carpets were bald in patches.

The restaurant is very much "self service" and they do not even serve a drink! Ditto lounge service. Chairs and sofas in the lounge were ripped or otherwise damaged.

I won't go on...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLeBrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed for a hen night 27/04/2013 for one night at the Royal Albion. The Hotel is in a great location just across the road from the Pier looking on to the beach.
Check in was quick (although they could do with some more staff on the front desk as one person isn't enough and a queue quickly formed).
The rooms were comfortable with en-suite, hair dryer, towels, tea and coffee making facilities and TV. Our room 120 was quite noisy at night as our window opened onto a large generator which you could still hear when the window was fully closed. I slept with ear plugs in which did the job.
The breakfast was amazing and is served overlooking the Pier and the beach. We had paid extra for a bottle of wine to be put in each room on arrival however this wasn't done and after many phone calls and trips down to reception we finally received them when we got in from our night out.
Although the hotel was fully booked, it didn't seem that busy in the bar or at breakfast. I would recomend this hotel for couples and groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenchimes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Air conditioning not working in bedroom, fan provided but was not very effective.
Breakfast extremely good
Staff very helpful and efficient.
The Albion is very good value for money and would stay there again.


  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Please, if you are looking for sterile fixtures, the smell of clorox, and typical gobscheidt customers...DO NOT COME HERE. This is a classic hotel with wrinkly charm and a clientele from a bygone day that leaves rejuvenated and smiling when they leave. A pox on the critics who do not see, or feel what we see, by the sea, at the Royal Albion. Richard and Ann Herb, Colorado. USA

Room Tip: We accepted what the hotel had to offer, and we were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night with my girl mates for a weekend away. One room was on the lower floor - basement I think, didn't have any natural light which was a bit off putting. The other room was on the top floor which was nice with a nice view, and jacuzzi bath - not that we used it.

Everything was clean in the rooms and fine for a one night stay and we hadn't paid a huge amount so was happy. You can tell it is a older hotel as things look a bit tired but nothing that really bothered me too much.

We didn't make breakfast so I can't comment on that. I thought 10am was pretty early to check out of a hotel when the check in time is the same as most other hotels.

Location was brilliant - right opposite the pier with lovely views from the hotel bar.

Room Tip: I preferred the higher floor compared to basement as don't like not having any windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed at the Albion many times, due to its ideal location and, {often}, very good rates. However, I must emphasise, we often go on a Thursday night when web room rates are about £39 for a twin - I wouldn't be at all happy paying the weekend rates and normal tariffs. The whole place could do with a massive splash of TLC and a huge deep clean, but if you can get a good deal on the room rate, and if you strike it lucky with the room that you are given, then you are in the heart of the city, close to everything. The Lanes, the Royal Pavillion and loads of bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep. The Staff are fine and let you store your luggage before check in and after check out. Good luck!!

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a sea facing room. You can pay extra for a jacuzzi bath. You can pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipclopclipclopclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing