We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An air of grime and neglect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We popped in for a drink and to check it out for a future stay...and definately wont be staying here! Sat in seafront bar to admire view which was spoilt by filthy smeared windows..looking around, the whole place had an air of grime and neglect. dirty window sills,dead plants, brown water stained area above bar entrance and waterstained pictures had not been removed. There were various water damaged areas around hotel. The cocktail was nice though !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,565 - 1,571 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Let me start by saying that I didn't have high expectations of this place. I had read other reviews and knew that I was booking a place that has seen better days, and that was fine by me as the price was right. But oh dear....

I stayed here with my daughter on 28 December. The room was clean. That's the best that can be said about it. The furniture was shabby, the beds uncomfortable and the wallpaper peeling. One bedside lamp was missing a lightbulb. The window wouldn't open. Though the bathroom was clean elsewhere, there was an unidentifiable... something... in the crevices around the tub. The room was on the first floor and we were kept awake by the dire disco (playing to a mostly empty lounge) until midnight. The room rate included free internet access, but there was no wifi in the room, only on the lobby level.

The bar was depressing, though there were comfy seats. They couldn't make a martini. Personally I think a hotel bar should be able to make a damn martini. The lounge was comfortable and warm, but the windows were filthy, and the Christmas decorations were a bit tacky. Still, that's a matter of taste, so maybe I'm just being mean.

Let's go to breakfast, shall we? You want mean, here it comes. The room was large and unbelievable depressing, with worn carpets that has been taped down with gaffer tape, I kid you not, which itself was peeling and causing a tripping hazard. The table hadn't been cleared properly, and I finally did it myself after trying and failing to get a server's attention. Which turned out to be a blessing. When I did finally see a server close up, his black trousers and waistcoat were filthy and encrusted with some sort of grey stains--I am not exaggerating here. I tried three plates before I found a clean one. The food itself looked awful. Limp bacon, watery scrambled eggs and anaemic looking sausages. I bypassed them for a croissant that turned out to be stone cold and hard as a rock. We drank a cup of coffee then got the hell out of Dodge.

The staff on reception were lovely. In the bar they were fine. In the restaurant they were indifferent and quite possibly unhygienic.

My verdict: get a room at the Premier Inn and steer well clear of this place.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzieusauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed the stay but ?!?!?
Water was pouring into the room where the windows would not close properly and the wind was howling? (although the hotel cannot control the weather we would expect a water tight room).
The food was over all quite good and staff very friendly.
The hotel was full of older people who spent most of their evenings standing on the doorstep to the hotel smoking -this was very off putting as you had to go through a cloud of smoke each time you wanted to in out or out.
We have stayed here before but it is really time they spent some money on this hotel to bring it into the 21st century (including another lift).
The location is all ways a plus and there was all ways plenty of hot water and towels (which were needed)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We got a cheap deal on this hotel in August 2012 when we meeting some friends for dinner out in Brighton.
The hotel itself is nice, the location is perfect and the room was very big. The downside was we were on the top floor with plastic skylights, being August it was very bright and we were awake at the crack of dawn as the skylight directly above the bed did not have a blind or anything.
When I called down to reception to see if there was an electric blind which I couldn't find I was told that it was bright as it was the morning.
Also as the skylights were plastic, we could hear the seagulls walking across and it was very loud!
Probably ask for a room not on the top floor and you should be ok!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sarah9850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We asked for a superior room and although the sea view was lovely the room itself was far less than superior. The rain was running down the inside of the wall where the windows need replacing. The wallpaper had tears in it and there were cobwebs everywhere. Our jaccuzi bath wasn't working and there was paint spilled over the bottom of it. We ate dinner in the restaurant and my pasta seemed as if had been cooking for the passed week, it was more of a soup. I reported this to reception and all I received was an apology, no rectification. Needless to say we won't be staying again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We booked two nights initially and were dumbfounded what a greal deal we got online. £39 per night for room only. We made a few special requests on our booking and were surprised that they were honored when we arrived. Location is absolutely perfect and the sea views from the hotel were uninterupted. The night time manager Mike was so incredibly hospitable and accommodating that we decided to stay a third night at the last minute. One of the most friendliest guys we've ever met! Granted the hotel might be a little outdated, but it didn't hinder our wonderful experience. Would go back any day!! Highly recommended for an impromptu Brighton getaway : )

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with one of their newly built Jacuzzi's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaLuBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nice old building with character, the room was sea view in the gods and in all truth stunk and needs a lot of work carried out to bring it up to a reasonable standard, mainly due to damp / corrosion, these buildings would cost so much to do its not viable when the main trade seems to be coach parties on all inclusive breaks eating school diner type meals, brightons a great place thou. Cheap and cheerful hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vistee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £39 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing