We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OR HOSTEL - Hostel probably cleaner !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel OR HOSTEL - Hostel probably cleaner !!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Christmas package break Friday to Monday - didn't expect the Ritz for price paid, however did expect clean room - on arrival and unpacking (standard room) found various cleanliness issues, dirty shower curtain, bathroom walls with previous guests hair, toilet with lime scale below water line and under rim clearly visible. 1 set towels for double occupancy - thick dust around and in wood work grooves, NO mattress protector - went to complain and request housekeeping to put right - NO - blank faces from receptionist (OH NO NOT AGAIN LOOK) waited for duty manager and waited and eventually all HE wanted to do was argue ... I asked for the items to rectify my room and I would put right my self - NO alternative rooms moves available and told to see duty manager in the morning -- NO HANDOVER -- explained again the issues and was told could have 10% refund and bottle cheap wine !!! ALTHOUGH they would instruct housekeeping to deep clean my room and I could view a room move on my return from day out.. WELL on return NO HANDOVER to next duty manager with regards to room move, although he was confident it had been deep cleaned NO NO NO it was not - he then showed me 2 alternative rooms which as it happens had been refused by another guest as they were not suitable - windows with 2 " drafts and No enamel on bath... SO I had to keep my non deep cleaned room .. UPON CHECKOUT guess what no handover for reception to refund - had to explain ALL AGAIN TO Mondays duty manager THE MAINTENANCE ENGINEER - who actually did appologise and seemed to care did arrange the refund and instructed me to take further action with the HOTEL OPERATIONS MANAGER - which is to follow shortly ... ALL STAFF seemed to be more afraid of loosing their job as to having any customer service skills - Sunday morning breakfast waiter looked as if he had just fallen out of bed with yesterdays food on his waistcoat, receptionist did not smile or welcome guests probably because they knew within a short while the poor guests would be back with a complaint. ALL I wanted was a clean room for my stay.. The hotel is old and tired however this should not effect the cleanliness issues WHICH having been told by the Duty Manager on Saturday that they only budget for 15 minutes of cleaning... WElL EXPLAINS ALL - even common area's not brilliant glass shards in lift for 2 days ..

Room Tip: don't waste money on upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    505
    589
    499
    1,061
See reviews for
355
1,209
148
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

It's such a grand old building - if some decent money was spent on it it could be something so special...
The first room we were allocated had a bathroom tap that wouldn't turn off, so there was the constant sound of running water. There were no towels either. So we asked to be moved. The second room we were then allocated had a window that looked out onto a dingy central well with the constant drone of a generator of some sort, so no chance of sleep. The last room we were then given was on the top floor and, thankfully, in working order! But still not enough towels.
Staff were friendly enough - this was the only positive point of the stay.
Breakfast was very basic fare - cheap sausages, watery scrambled eggs, awful coffee, etc.
We got a cheap rate which is why we chose to stay here. I suppose you get what you pay for. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yatadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Albion for 4 days on a national holidays trip in mid december. Our room No 429 was on the corner overlooking the National Express bus stand and had 2 double glazed bay windows. It was spacious, clean and warm with 3 single beds. The place was packed with 5 bus trips in which led to breakfast queues though dinner was not a problem becuse of allocated times.

Surprisingly all the meals were buffet style but the fare on offer was hot, appetising and regularly replenished. Breakfast included fruit, porridge, cereals and juice with beans, tomatoes, sausage, bacon, Hash browns, fried bread and scrambeld egg as the hot options. Fried eggs were available on request. Dinner was similar with 3 starters, 3 main courses including a veggie option and a choice of sweets.The staff who were mainly from eastern europe were excellent and worked their socks off

The place in general was a bit shabby and could have done with redecoration. There several were areas were water ingress was evident The single lift did create queues especially with a hotel full of older people who didn't take kindly to 5 flights of stairs. Its location is superb however. It is opposite the pier, 5 minutes from the Pavilion and about the same from the Lanes and other shopping areas.

This is not the Grand Hotel by any means but it fulfilled all our requirements and we had no complaints especially considering 4 days half board only cost £99 including transport from Newcastle

Room Tip: Go for one on the lower floors if you struggle with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The last time we visited the rain poured through the roof soaking clothes,books and other personal effects,and so we were promised a free stay in an executive room with sea view and spa bath.
What kind of executive would have stayed here I dread to think,the spa bath alas did not work and we preferred the cheap room we were in last time much more space and imposing sea views.
The whole Hotel could do with a face lift.Grubby carpets! A dining room with buckets to catch the rain water and a breakfast bar with soggy sausages,wet scrambled eggs and toast to match and coffee!? That was undrinkable.Not an experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

heard the saying"you get what you pay for" in this instance I didn't even get that. The Twixmas Break was so reasonably priced I decided to upgrade from a standard to a superb superior sea view huh!!
On arrival I was shown to my room.....shock and horror will not describe this room. I got sea view but unfortunately the windows were so filthy I was lucky if I could see the sea. The room was tiny, unlike the description of superb superior ..... wallpaper hanging off the walls, old dated lucky to still be standing furniture, too scared to consider even the condition of the bed. This was clearly a less than standard room. There was more wind blowing through the ill fitted windows than what was blowing along the sea front.
Naturally I went straight down to reception to insist on my upgrade. They then after a while showed me to a room with a side view....OMG no heating. And this in the middle of winter. The room was ok, at least more pleasant than the 1st. Slightly bigger. But it was freezing bbrrr. So, off we go again to see another room.....no sea view, but at this stage I didn't care any more, it was midnight I wanted to get some sleep. The 3rd room, back to small again.....the next morning, after complaining to the duty manager, was promised looking at another 2 rooms, offered a 10% refund and complimentary wine ... the upgrade cost more than this .... Need we discuss food.....yuk !! Lukewarm, sat for ages on the hot plates it just dried out. Glasses with lipstick on, tea cups with stains....
This hotel should either have serious money spent on it or be demolished. Owners of this hotel, you should be ashamed to take money from us. I felt sorry for the staff, they work to within the boundaries of their job descriptions and are clearly lacking in any kind of motivation.

Room Tip: Don't go, the weather outside is better than in!! The windows are taped up with thick black mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Reading the reviews on here would be off-putting I am afraid. My friends & I have just spent 4 nights there and personally have no complaints. The Hotel overall could do with a wash & brush up BUT it has character. The staff were great and the entertainment couldnt be faulted. Except I never did see any "Free Style Dancing" or the "Festive Quiz!! I suppose it depends on what you want & expect - I always go on these trips with an open mind!!! Location couldnt be better. Our room was clean & tidy. So no problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23JuneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We popped in for a drink and to check it out for a future stay...and definately wont be staying here! Sat in seafront bar to admire view which was spoilt by filthy smeared windows..looking around, the whole place had an air of grime and neglect. dirty window sills,dead plants, brown water stained area above bar entrance and waterstained pictures had not been removed. There were various water damaged areas around hotel. The cocktail was nice though !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing