We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, dirty and very dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Steyning
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disgusting, dirty and very dated.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on 5th january 2014. I wss very disappointed with the rooms. Wallpaper hanging off the walls, windows dripping with condensation, black rotten frames. Heating not working in the room, a layer of dust all over the lamps. Downstairs in the "sitting room" pictures were mouldy with damp paper falling off the walls, sofas ripped with the stuffing coming out. The only positive comment to this hotel was that the breakfast was very good. Not a huge choice, no bread rolls but the cooked breakfast was good. Good luck if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaSteyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    495
    579
    494
    1,054
See reviews for
348
1,195
146
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We got a very good deal for the weekend; partly because of the bad weather and early January apathy. As I have stayed in the hotel before, I had a bit of experience and knew what to expect. It turned out to be a bit better.
The check in was good and quick. The lady at the reception was very nice. The room we got was with sea view even we did not pay for this. The view was fantastic.
Now the bad points: The hotel is very shabby and looks unkempt. It is a grand building, but looks like the owners do not care about it as long as it makes money. A pity really.
The room was a bit weird on the structure but spacious. The bed was nice, the TV was small and has only 5 channels. The windows would not open or shut properly were making a weird noice when it was windy. The central heating was good and the room was very warm. The bathroom was ok, but shower was fixed and it took some time to work it out. We got a breakfast at half price and it was reasonable, I would not be paying the full price for this kind of breakfast though. They also had a buffet style dinner for £10 which is not bad but there are plenty places in Brighton to eat out so we never tried it.
It was a nice stay at the discounted price.

Room Tip: anything above the ground floor - 4th floor was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Having traveled from Ireland to stay at this hotel over Christmas we were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation, the first room we were given was in the basement, the carpet walls and net curtain on window were dirty. We were then offered another room on the top floor of the hotel which wasn't much better, no windows only roof light, no ceiling light, one bedside lamp was the only lighting in the room. Room was filthy, asked the duty manager on Christmas day to come and look at the room it was only then that it was cleaned to an acceptable standard. Rain coming through ceilings and windows. Would have left the hotel early only no ferry crossings back to Ireland due to adverse weather conditions. I would however like to say that the staff were very helpful and we met some lovely people especially John and his dad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Bargain at £39 for a night. Clean & comfortable. Don't agree with some reviews. Do agree with others opinion on staff - moody and unhappy in their work. Breakfast was a little bit of a disappointment. Most cringey moment was when the manager shouted at the poor barmaid as she used the wrong type of tea bag for a guest. Perfect setting for an evening drink!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraKing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked online for a last minute weekend break. We didn't read any reviews and just decided to hope. Hmmmm. It is very tired and needs a refurb fairly urgently. Tired furniture, carpets and bathroom with a frosted bedroom window to hide our 'view' of a store cupboard and internal courtyard. The low point was when we pulled back the curtains to reveal........a pair of dirty pants complete with blood filled sanitary towel. We were both nearly sick. Better than sleeping rough as we were warm and dry but most unpleasant. We told staff about the pants...they were removed but no apology or discount. All in all not our finest stay. Good luck if you want to chance it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorsetdingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for the New Year.... this was our first New Years Eve away and after staying at this hotel we certainly would have to think twice about going back, we found the staff pleasant enough and helpful. we were so disappointed with the evenings entertainment, no hats, no streamers, no poopers, and no atmosphere, only a man up on stage playing music, we hadn't expected that all night long, oh yeah he did switch to London for the count down to twelve o'clock.
and then continued to play music that no one had heard of before, so that sent most people to bed earlier than expected.
The hotel it self needs to be redecorated through out, and certainly new carpet laid in the Jenny dinning room, its being kept down at the moment with sticky tape, the food was good but not enough selection.

Room Tip: Read Tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had seen this hotel when on day trips so booked for xmas. 4 coaches staying we must have been the peasants. On arrival at ground level we got our keys and had to go downstairs to our rooms classed as floor minus1. Down we went along corridors round corners and further on until eventually we went up a few stairs to floor minus1 which must be a posh way of saying ground level. It was the pits, tiny rooms in which we had to keep curtains almost closed, yes there were scruffy nets so pedestrians couldnt see in, as there was a square outside my window where National Express picked up at 6 am for London and the passengers waited. Not only that they had arranged for two small rooms at the other end of the corridor to be turned into our breakfast/dinner rooms, it was a breathe in when going for food situation which was very basic. The only nice thing were the young staff who were all from Europe come here to work, very polite. There was also only 1 ladies and 1 mens loo on our minus1 floor in the whole hotel so if you got desperate in the posh dining room oh dear. We could only conclude they didn't want us from up north mixing with the hoi polloi. Never ever again. I do not pay at Christmas to be treated as if I'm a peasant.

Room Tip: Pay an absolute fortune for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fussy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing