We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did The Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Did The Job”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel has quite a few flaws but being old you expect a few mishaps. On the whole it was ok, and it was great for us because we could take our dog. The food was ok nothing outstanding but edible. I think if you are there for a three day break as we were, then you should have some sort of entertainment quizzes or something to keep guests occupied during the day. the evening entertainment was very good. however having one lift is not sensible especially as a lot of the quests are of the older generation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    521
    616
    510
    1,108
See reviews for
381
1,255
153
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

If you like dusty hovels then this is the place for u! This hotel cannot rely on their location alone as it is situated in an amazing spot on the seafront with great views if you get a room with a sea view. The balcony was rusty & unstable. The dust on the furnishings inside the room was unacceptable. The staircase leading up to the rooms didn't look like it had been cleaned ever!! The whole place needs updating.. The paint work is flaking, there is rust, the mirrors & carpets are dirty. Think twice before booking to stay at the Albion., I recommended the queens hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I took my 12 year old daughter for a shopping trip to Brighton and stayed here. The location is good and the room average. The hotel floor smelled of weed the noise from the street was very loud there was a party in the room above us and we thought the ceiling was going to cave in. At 4am in the morning I went to find management and had to wade though a flood on our floor (floor 3)where some one had knocked a radiator off the wall. I found the manager who to be fair did seem concerned and did get the party in the room above a bit quieter. So after a night with no sleep was looking forward to breakfast which was none the least disappointing very sloppy scrambled egg, chips and black pudding with a side of cold toast was on offer.
You have to pay on entry so no way of getting a refund from the very rude reception staff.
Please don't take children to this hotel as you can hear so much shouting and swearing from the streets at night.
It is an ideal hotel for a very drunken weekend but I would give the breakfast a miss.
There are lots of other hotels around the same price in Brighton if I was you I would try one of them.

Room Tip: If you do book a room here request a seafront room as the volume of the noise will be a little less
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We read some whinging reviews of this Hotel before our trip...bit concerned. BUT good value for money. Yes, it's shabby but the room was warm despite storm force winds, clean & the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast and evening meal were buffet style, so as little or as much of whatever you wanted. It's rather like school dinners but I liked school dinners! There was plenty of everything and the friendly staff were happy to obtain more of anything that had run low. Between courses, empty dishes were swept away from our table very quickly by the vigilant staff.
Age and weather damage is apparent throughout the public areas of the building but if it were to have an expensive make-over I doubt whether we would be able to afford to stay there because it's location is just fabulous! We had a birds-eye view of Brighton Palace Pier from our bedroom.
We suspect that the hotel's "bread and butter" i.e. the regular coach holiday guests (which we were, with National Holidays) are allocated good rooms. However, relatives joined us there for one night and had a room equally as nice as ours - better in fact as they had a jacuzzi bath!
Don't be put off by the miseries who expect top-notch hotels for rock bottom prices.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms will get the worst of the wind and weather making old fashioned windows a bit noisy d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We travel to various places annually on a coach trip, with friends.
I read the reviews before visiting the Royal Albion and wasn't sure what to expect. Having stayed at several hotels over the years I found it to be better than some we have stayed in.
There are some areas that could be improved like the windows which could be quite draughty but keeping the old ones adds to its character and when the heating was on and the heavy curtains were closed the draughts were not a problem. The room was really cosy.
The bedding was clean and the bathroom was spotless. The water was hot at all times.
As we stayed over the main entrance it was a bit noisy at night but once you're asleep in the comfy bed who cares.
The meals were fine and there was a choice. My husband is usually quite funny with his meals and at previous hotels hasn't eaten because he didn't like what was offered. Here at the Albion he ate every meal time!
The staff were absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough. My only comment on this was that the staff in the dining room didn't wear name tags so we couldn't call them by name.
Hats off to the staff at the bar too, they did a great job keeping our glasses full, especially throughout 'Happy hour'.
Would definitely stay there again if we were down that way.
Lorraine from Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

A good stay in a festive hotel that provided an excellent room with superb sea room. Really a very good stay and excellent staff. Very impressed. The room was warm and clean and quiet.
Short walk to pier and city centre.
The hotel is right on the sea front - lovely location.
The lounge area offers a great place to relax and the dining room is spacious. A surprising Britannia hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Someone told me that there was a fire in this hotel in 1990, which suggests that it was renovated that year or the year after. I don't believe it. There is simply no way a hotel room can become so dirty and shabby in 24 years.

The staff members are friendly and charming. Royal Albion has a beautiful location. As expected, my room had a dirty carpet, bad plumbing, broken TV etc., as in most English hotels. But in this case, almost everything was broken, including windows, bathtub, teaspoons... Incredible.

This is among the dirtiest places I've ever slept.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing