We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, needs modernising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, needs modernising”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

So, here is one not-so-negative review from me. This hotel from the outside looks stunning but when you enter inside, you will immediately realise how dated the interiors of the hotel look. Some people complained about the dirtiness of the hotel but for me the hotel and my room looked clean throughout. Maybe they sorted the issue out.

The staff at the reception was extremely helpful so huge kudos to them!

This also one of the few hotels left in Brighton (if not in the UK) which has smoking rooms available. So if you are smoker, you will absolutely appreciate this.

The hotel doesn't have any wifi connection which is unacceptable in this day and age. But I understand the hotel has far more issues with its "modern" approach than anything else so if the management ever decides to upgrade the hotel, I am sure they will also address the wifi problem. The only wifi available is on the ground floor, which is free.

The breakfast was very average but certainly filling. Poached eggs, bacon, sausages, chips, ketchup, cereal, marmalade, croissant, bread and hot drinks. None of them were top quality but it serves the purpose.

Would I stay there again? When I first arrived there, I thought I would never come there again. However after having completed my stay, I think I changed my mind, especially knowing the importance of a smoking room for me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank brightonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    507
    599
    505
    1,078
See reviews for
364
1,223
150
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

From the outside this hotel looks great and the location is excellent but the hotel was a total disappointment ! The decor was very shabby and tired looking.
We had booked into a standard double room with a view of the sea front which was nice, but as it was raining heavily the water had got in through the window and the carpet was wet, but the room was ok, although it was dusty.
The food in the restaurant was awful, dinner was like canteen food worst than school dinners and breakfast was cold even the coffee !
On the plus side, staff were friendly enough especially bar staff , and it was nice drinking wine and have a lovely view of the pier from the lounge .
Sorry won't be staying there again!

Room Tip: Sorry no tips, wouldn't stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Another bad review for Royal Albion and another disappointed guest.
This supposed to be 3 star hotel however it should be degraded to 1.
We came here on the New Year’s Eve. We have booked this hotel via one of the hotel booking websites. We rang the hotel to inform that we need late check it.
We have checked in and went to find our room. It was situated in the lower level. No windows and no A/C so the room was very warm. Dirty walls, mould on the carpet, dirty chair, leaking toilet, mould in the bathtub, dirty sink, dust everywhere you look and sings of flooding are not the things you would've find in 3 star hotel and for the price we've paid (over 100 pounds). When we have asked for new room have been informed that there is no other room as we were late to check in. Also night shift duty manager told us that we are overreacting and that this room was recently refurbished and walked off. He also didn't have time to come and see the room because he need to stay at the reception (he said he is so busy) however he had a time to stand by the front entrance having a cigarette. He send supervisor instead who kindly offered us some free drinks (didn't accept them) and advised us to speak to the day shift manager.
The hotel is very dated and smells horribly and also pictures on the hotel’s website don't match reality.
I will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Look for better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The big positive of this hotel is it's location it is located right on the seas front by the pier which gives easy access to the town centre, the lanes and also Kemp Town. Sadly though the hotel itself has seen better days. Obviously it is an old building but it seems the current owners have no interest in not just modernising but maintaining the hotel. Small things like dirty windows (internal not just external), chipped paint on walls, peeling wallpaper and stains on ceiling really let it down. Our room had a fantastic sea view looking out onto the pier however the furniture in the room looked like it hadn't been updated in a few decades and also the heating didn't work - we were given a tiny electric heater as an alternative which was useless. In addition the walls are paper thin and the floorboards creek so I barely slept due to being woken up by customers in neighbouring stumbling around in the middle of the night! We only stayed for one night and on a special discounted deal however had I paid full price I would have been extremely disappointed. This really could be a fantastic hotel but sadly the decor seems to have been left to deteriorate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisathenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

rooms where clean . staff polite overall enjoyed my stay . booked dinner and breakfast . plenty of choice . I would definitely stay again and recommend to people . lovely location right opposite the pier

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29tierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

we came down to brighton on a bus trip and this was such a good value holiday. The rooms were basic but very clean, for the price we paid the food was amazing, I just love the locations of this hotel, the pier and promenade at the back of the hotel and the lanes and the pavilion at the front just brilliant

Room Tip: its lovely to have a sea view but if its windy the windows rattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel has quite a few flaws but being old you expect a few mishaps. On the whole it was ok, and it was great for us because we could take our dog. The food was ok nothing outstanding but edible. I think if you are there for a three day break as we were, then you should have some sort of entertainment quizzes or something to keep guests occupied during the day. the evening entertainment was very good. however having one lift is not sensible especially as a lot of the quests are of the older generation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing