We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location errrrrrr that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
The Heart Of Darkness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location errrrrrr that's it”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's bang on the seafront opposite the pier it's ok ,it's clean enough bed wise but it's well overdue a refurb ,the breakfast is buffet style for 70 - 80 quid it's ok
The area is rife with stag dos and rugby tours but there is loads to do and see and tons of quirky bars and eateries , don't waste your time with the generic food halls ,try the bars and food places a couple of streets up from the front
We had and excellent impromptu meal at the Giggling Squid Thai up in the lanes

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above if poss for quiet night , excellent sea views available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kernel-Kurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    505
    590
    499
    1,062
See reviews for
355
1,209
148
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The outside appearance is appalling, sadly nothing changes upon entering! When checking in I found the staff disinterested and unhelpful. A man at the desk complaining about his room was met with the same attitude. This place is dirty worn out and out of date. Carpets are worn and heavily stained, plaster paint and wall paper peeling from stained walls and windows. Dirty curtains and view of rubbish filled hole. Corridors stank of smoke. Furniture and fixings out of date and damaged. Would've demanded a refund had it not been for clean bedding and towels and the fact it would inconvenience our group. Bathrooms need updating and a good scrub but shower basin and toilet at least worked and were tolerable for a two night stag do. If I were here for any other reason I would be disgusted!
Very overpriced and breakfast an extra £10!! Do yourselves a favour and find better!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

First impressions as i walked through the door is OMG what's that awful smell, it is in desperate refurbishment, the carpet needs to be taken up and a nice tiled one put down in its place,
The staff were very helpful ,



Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank rixxxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location for Lanes, Pier and wheel. Reception and bar areas ok but up from there seriously needs shutting down and referbing. This is a Britannia hotel and I don t know how long they have had this in their portfolio but the appearance from seaward side does not paint a good picture(paint being the operative word)The paint that is left on the exterior is clinging on for dear life. Bring a screwdriver and or a hammer as you may need. Maintenance man must be burning some shoe leather. All the cliché things that break or are broken are! Basically Britannia should be ashamed to continue having people stay here when it needs closing and doing up .It is in a Flagship position on the seafront so treat it so Britannia! .By the way this review is in no way a slight on the staff as they were all as should be, no doubt taking the brunt of residents complaints as all front line staff do.

Room Tip: top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I had a weekend break down in Brighton and we chose this hotels for its location and sea front aspect. I paid a little extra to get a room with a view and we had a nice view of the pier. The hotel itself is very shabby and tired looking, it looks like it was last decorated in the 1970's and they have torn and beaten furniture in the hall ways leading up to the rooms. Rooms are accessible by a tiny lift or staircase and when its busy and the lift is being constantly called, its quicker to use the stairs, The rooms are fairly big, which is what you'd expect from a Victorian built hotel. The room was clean, but drab and one that encourages you to get out and about town, which I guess is a good thing. Its plus side, is the location, its by the coach station and behind the lanes, so once out, your straight in to the bars and restaurant area of the Lanes, its also handy for a stroll on the pier. The rooms are also not very sound proof and you will hear all the night time revelers as they shout and make typical reveler noises :) but then you dont go to Brighton for a rest :) I doubt I would stay at the Royal again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March what a shocking hotel. The place needs a face lift and the plaster is falling off the walls in the stairways. We had a small room on the 4th room which had wallpaper peeling of the walls. When we took a shower the steam set the smoke alarm off. We did get moved to a bigger room after complaining
The food was terrible, no taste from it whatsoever and the vegetables were cooked to an inch of their lives. We had paid for bed and breakfast with evening dinner. Dinner was supposed to be from 7.00pm to 10pm but on the first night we were not allowed to eat in the dining room until 8.30pm as there were 2 coach parties that had to be fed first??? when we asked for a bottle of wine for dinner we were told to go and fetch it from the bar ourselves.

The old saying you pay for what you get comes into play here never again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

By no means do I try to be posh but this hotel even made me feel terribly out of place! It was shoddy and very poor, it reminded me of the old closed theatres of Manchester with it's peeling carpets and crumbling plaster, it was poor value for money and that doesn't include a breakfast with the room!! I ended up driving and paying at the local harvester pub as it was £10 per person for a unedible lookng breakfast. To make things worse the parking situation is diabolical at my new car came home with extra dints as it was abused by drunks on the front.... Expect to pay around £200 for a poor room no breakfast and no parking, if you do find parking it's 4hrs for £10 everywhere!!!! A great weekend let down by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Landyjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing