We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon madness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was originally booked into the Jurys Inn but when I arrived the tour operator I had booked through had gone bust. As I was due to do the marathon I needed a hotel in a hurry so paid a ridiculous price to stay at the Royal Albion. It is well located but that is the only plus. Our room was in the basement without windows. At 10pm we discovered we were underneath a night club. The ceiling and bed were rocking, apparently until 2.30am - perfect if you are running a marathon the next morning!! To be fair, they moved us at 12.45 in the morning so we could get some sleep. The breakfast was £7 and was revolting - cold porridge (no honey) and cold toast. We moved to a 3rd room for the second night. The remote control didn't work in any of the 3 rooms. The shower was temperamental to say the least. The windows, when we had then, were filthy and the net curtains were screwed up. The rooms were basic and tired but reasonably clean. There was a stag party and a rugby club running riot - lots of drunk men lost in corridors. The staff were neither friendly nor rude, just sort of disinterested. I feel ripped off! The whole place needs a complete and utter refurbishment outside and inside and sound proofing too. I don't recommend anyone stays here ever - unless you are stranded and about to run a marathon like I was!

Room Tip: Avoid the basement and rooms over the entrance as in the basement you are under a nightclub and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,468 - 1,474 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

In one word yes. Do not attempt to come here, it reminds me of the Overlook Hotel from the Shining. It is the 21st century right? Apart from the Italian school students and the odd couple, this place should be condemned. The food, rooms are so poor!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Octoollie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed here before but not for a number of years, how sad this hotel is falling apart, it needs a lot of money spent on her, our room needed a new en suite, the curtains had ever coffee or blood up them. The walls needed painting and the tv signal was so bad I gave up watching it. I would only stay here again if I was homeless. Please do something owners and do it fast .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sammybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had 2 rooms,1 standard single and 1 standard double.
The single room was tiny (326) with damp patches on the walls.
The double wasn`t too bad but the carpet was stained, dust all along the skirting boards

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJD4744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's bang on the seafront opposite the pier it's ok ,it's clean enough bed wise but it's well overdue a refurb ,the breakfast is buffet style for 70 - 80 quid it's ok
The area is rife with stag dos and rugby tours but there is loads to do and see and tons of quirky bars and eateries , don't waste your time with the generic food halls ,try the bars and food places a couple of streets up from the front
We had and excellent impromptu meal at the Giggling Squid Thai up in the lanes

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above if poss for quiet night , excellent sea views available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kernel-Kurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The outside appearance is appalling, sadly nothing changes upon entering! When checking in I found the staff disinterested and unhelpful. A man at the desk complaining about his room was met with the same attitude. This place is dirty worn out and out of date. Carpets are worn and heavily stained, plaster paint and wall paper peeling from stained walls and windows. Dirty curtains and view of rubbish filled hole. Corridors stank of smoke. Furniture and fixings out of date and damaged. Would've demanded a refund had it not been for clean bedding and towels and the fact it would inconvenience our group. Bathrooms need updating and a good scrub but shower basin and toilet at least worked and were tolerable for a two night stag do. If I were here for any other reason I would be disgusted!
Very overpriced and breakfast an extra £10!! Do yourselves a favour and find better!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

First impressions as i walked through the door is OMG what's that awful smell, it is in desperate refurbishment, the carpet needs to be taken up and a nice tiled one put down in its place,
The staff were very helpful ,



Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank rixxxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £39 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing