We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay anywhere but here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stay anywhere but here”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Ok it's in a great location, but you don't get what you pay for. Scruffy and falling apart at the seams. Needs knocking down and starting again. Stayed for my hen weekend and thankfully spent most of our time in town and not in our room.
Avoid avoid avoid

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank POOLIEJOOLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    521
    616
    510
    1,107
See reviews for
381
1,255
153
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We did not expect a great deal from this hotel my partner had secured a good price for two nights before she read the reviews. It is not all bad depending on your expectations for the price you pay. The room itself was dated with worn carpets but also clean with a large bathroom. There was a comedy moment when I complained that the air conditioning was not working only to be told it was not working in any room and given an extra fan! The staff are polite but do appear to be going through the motions. The one evening meal we had was poor so we ate out as there are many lovely restaurants nearby. The breakfast was perfectly adequate but uninspiring.There are signs saying the hotel is awaiting repairs following storm damage.The great location by the pier and close to town is the only real attraction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godfrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The view was great. Breakfast good. But the room was poor. Worn out carpets. Odd smell in room. Old tv. Wonky kettle and there was only 1 towel in bathroom(small as well). Wont recommend staying here and check out is at 10am..way to early

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Would let my dogs stay here...e mailed britannia LTD..the owners 4 times now..no response..dont waste your time or money..dirty mouldie place.
No one seemed to care...I had booked 2 rooms. A family room and a twin...both very unclean. My guest refused to stay in the dirty rooms. I only stayed as I completed the London to Brighton bike ride so couldnt drive home due to celebrating early.
never stay again.!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonbee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is terrible. I recently stayed for 2 nights. We booked a superior sea view room. The sea view was only visible if you stood inside the bay window looked to one side and peered through the filthy windows which were framed by even filthier curtains. Two of the walls in the room were damp and the smell of wet plaster was overwhelming. The hotel is blaming storm damage for the state of the place but the damage would not have been so bad if there were not holes and cracks everywhere for the weather to get in. Doors and windows rattled all night. Breakfast is a mess with queues at peak times to get into a dining area which is much too small for the size of the hotel and is over heated with no air conditioning. Tinned fruit, orange juice from a machine, small plates to stop people eating too much, extremely thin slices of slightly warm bread which is meant to be toast, scrambled egg strangely pale and with the consistency of a thin egg custard - horrible. The only good thing about this hotel is the location but frankly you could have the same location and be more comfortable if you brought a sleeping bag and slept on the beach. This hotel is not worth any price, you will only regret it, we certainly did.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

You will regret every penny that you spend on this hotel however much you might justify it at the time due to the location. It is disgusting, dirty, has damp plaster for you to breathe in and to make yourselves ill with in some of the "superior sea view rooms". Windows are so filthy that you couldn't see a view even if there was one. Curtains are disgusting. This place should be shut down by whatever powers are in charge in Brighton. It is a disgrace to the town, to tourism in UK and to basic health and hygiene.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glade5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very fearful of what we were going to find after reading so many bad reviews. We stayed for one night in a standard double with a cot bed for our 18mth old. Yes, it is a little grubby in places and boarding on Fawlty Towers, wouldn't fancy facing the breakfast more than once (hot but mass produced and bland), but the location is hard to beat. Don't set your expectations too high but if it's just for a night and the price is right it does an adequate job.

Room Tip: - take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper as it is on the main strip for cars & sea gulls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireIndia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing