We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help needed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Oh Albion you beautiful shell of 'the way we were'

Unfortunately the owners of this beautiful building have been so focused on pocketing the dosh from the coach tours to care about the actual upkeep and renovation of this building. So sad.

Nothing like squeaky floorboards and a smokey room to make you feel like you are on a well deserved break.

Yes owners of the Albion - you have prime location and your coach tours will still keep lining your pockets but alas you will not be smiling when one of your guests falls through the floor boards because you have been too tight to maintain what was once a lovely hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Kelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,976)
There are newer reviews for Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,977 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here two weekends ago (before pride). Staff polite...The only positve. Room filthy . Pubic hair and cigarette burns in sheets. Dirty, dated wallpaper and carpet . Cobwebs and spiders on our bed side table . Phone did not work . T.V. Was temperamental. Queue to check in was super long . Free wifi advertised yet when I got to my room I was told by reception (with a chuckle ) that wifi didn't reach level three of the hotel !!! I was told I could use it in the lobby only . Plastic window (stopped us from opening the actual window behind it ) was so filthy that it had an odour and the cleaner had purposely drawn the curtains to hide it . The view .... A brick wall and rusty pipe . No air con. Mouldy bathroom. Damp smell. We paid before we entered so had no choice but to stay . Buckets all over the place collecting water from dripping ceiling . Carpet on stairwell so slippery from water leaks my partner went flying . Didn't bother with breakfast as was too put off . Am in the process of full compliant with Britannia hotels as I type . Please .... Stay somewhere else . Best thing about hotel is it's location (2 mins from brightin pier )

Room Tip: Higher floors have no wifi and lift is tiny yet stairs are wet from leaks so very slippery.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Makeda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I paid £320 for 2 nights and stayed here on Pride weekend. If you want to increase prices for the weekend you need to ensure the hotel is up to standard. We checked into our room and there was mark on the sheets and Blood! There was apparatus used by a diabetic customer still on the sides in the room, paint peeling off the walls. We asked to be moved. The room was still poor!Jet spa bath that didn't work, slow drainage, no fridge. In need of a massive refurb.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in the rooms was from the 1950's the shower did not work the air condition was not working the jacuzzi did not work and all this was just in 2 rooms but by the chatter it was like this in every room.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel at all!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I first stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and my memory let me down when I returned recently. It is awlful, it's in a time warp ! (tired, grotty, smelly are just a few adjectives that describe this hotel) It is in an idyllic location and that could be the reason the owners are complacent about not refurbishing the hotel..there is a also no excuse for rude and uninterested staff. The competition is tough in Brighton so they need to be careful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NikolaasAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i have stayed at this hotel twice, the first time i explained that i have anxiety disorders and the only specification i had was i needed a reasonable size window, i was allocated a basement room with a tiny window and no view (apart from a large grey pipe) the room, even with lights on was pitch dark and within seconds i had a panic attack, it was the first break id had in years and went with my teenage son, i had recently lost my mother and on explaining to their manager 'mohammed' he rolled his eyes/seemed disinterested. a female member of staff was kind and sorted the problem out for us. i decided not to let this experience put me off so i booked again, a lone break as the hotel overlooked the sea and despite the musty smell and old fashioned decor, im not a fussy person and felt it was reasonable value for money. on my second booking the room i was allocated was even more musty/damp, i made a cup of tea and it smelled and tasted vile, when i poured the water it was green, presumably a kettle descaler had been put in and not rinsed out, i had a bath and the plug wouldnt come out so i couldnt have a bath the following day, the staff attended but said they couldnt fix the problem before i left, which was ok. i emailed and was offered a 50% discount with a free upgrade to a seaview room, i decided to take them up on this and emailed last week, receiving no response, i called the hotel tonight and again had the pleasure of speaking to 'mohammed' he was rude to the point of abusive and told me that the hotel was full, i explained this was only an enquiry and he eventually said that he could give me a room for £119 (but he shouldnt really be doing this), i said i was somewhat taken aback at his attitude as i was more than pleasant and he said 'rude? what is rude? ive been doing this job over 20 years', i was so flabbergasted i put the phone down rather than continue talking to him. i have emailed brittania hotels, ive read a few reviews mentioning the attitude of this individual and am amazed that they still employ him, if this is customer servies then they can keep it

Room Tip: .good luck
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank kkaren2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went on a coach holiday so was expecting good clean basic standards in food and accommodation.
The good - beautiful old building, situated just across from pier within walking distance of shops and attractions. Some staff, especially one of the managers were friendly, helpful and worked hard to deal with complaints and grumpy guests, Bedrooms were clean and reasonably comfortable, good strong water supply for shower.
The bad - Dining room not big enough to accommodate all guests - had to stick to allocated time to eat. So cramped and full of people carrying hot food and weaving their way through and around tables and other diners that it bordered on downright dangerous several times.
The ugly - the sneering and unfriendly demeanour of some of the staff - particularly the bar staff - their pouting and unpleasant facial expressions and unwillingness to use basic good manners were a topic of conversation for guests.
The ugly part 2 - the extra 'dining room' which was down some stairs in a disused bar area - we were directed down here for four of our meals, where we cleared and set our own tables, borrowed condiments from the main diners and gazed upon mop buckets, dirty crockery and stored signage. We then walked back up the stairs, joined the trail of diners weaving in and out of tables to get food, returning to the dismal area to gaze at the detritus again. After one of our breakfast treks to source all our crockery, food and drink we found that the coffees and orange juice we had just put on our table had been cleared away by some enthusiastic but unthinking staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aimeehep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £52 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing