We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here - ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay here - ever!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had I not been checking in at 11pm I would never have entertained staying at this hotel having seen the state of it when I arrived. When checking in, I had to use the toilet so went down the maze of corridors to use the facilities which smelled worse than i've ever smelled before.

To make a complete list of things that were bad with this hotel would take far too long but a short list includes:

Lift - carpet filthy inside
Exiting the lift - filthy dirty sofa on landing with half eaten plate of food
Room hot to the point of ridiculous with broken air conditioning
So much dust in the room the portable desk fan just blew it around
TV from the 1980s with a remote that didn't include batteries
Bath repaired with Gaffa tape
Dirty bathroom
Filthy carpet in bedroom
Windows that haven't been cleaned for months and wouldn't open
Walls in stairwell devoid of plaster

I have complained about this hotel to Britannia (as did my colleague) but received a standard reply (exactly the same as my colleagues) offering a discount for a further stay at this disgusting hotel.

I'm sure you can get the idea by reading through the other reviews on here about this dreadful hotel. Do yourself a favour and don't book this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    505
    590
    499
    1,062
See reviews for
355
1,209
148
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spend £99 on a standard double, arrived to no one in reception for 10 minutes security finally found someone to check us in. We were given a free upgrade to a sea view room, but have to say the quality of the room was awful and if this was an upgrade god knows what a standard double would have been like. Mould all over the room and bathroom, very tired furniture. Bedside light hanging off the wall.
Lots of warning signs around hotel that damage was caused by “Storm Damage” but this was not storm damage this is sheer neglect of the hotel! Its run down and well over priced. It should have been £39 for that hotel room.
On the plus the bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet and the view was very nice. Never again however!!!

Room Tip: Best tip I can give is don't book a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this as it was all we could find at the last minute... when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on which was fine but quite noisy but we weren't too worried. Our room was small at the end of long corridor up and down stairs after getting the only lift to the 5th floor. This hotel is not meant for guests with mobility issues or a lot of luggage! the bedside cupboards had been glued shut presumably as they were clearly the wrong shape for the space and had the backs sawn off so they did fit.
This was just the start of the fun.... that night we had a group of drugged up party animals in the rooms all around us running in an out of each others rooms and having a party all night. Brilliant! The shower was a bit like the Krypton factor to work out but was fine once on but there was no bath mat or any extras - I've stayed in much better quality Travelodge accommodation.
.We spent most of the next day out and came back to a quieter hotel. As we walked up to the hotel, a group of 4 guys were smoking on the steps and one of them actually pissed against the wall in front of us - it was about 7pm. We had a better nights sleep as the party animals seemed to have moved on. Would I recommend this hotel - no. Its very dated, the accommodation is poor quality, the staff are harrassed and busy, There is very little that appeals about this place although the rooms were clean and it is right opposite the pier. You really have to be struggling to find a room in Brighton to chose this place.

Room Tip: chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have today arrived back from a two night stay at this hotel and from arrivin g I knew I had done the wrong thing. Firstly when I booked I phoned them to ask about parking they said they had no parking but there was a NCP car park nearby and I will be given a permit, wrong information given they only give you 25% off and the parking for two days cost me £50.00 (they do have parking spaces outside but they rent them out to council which is an hourly rate and would have cost a fortune, after speaking to the manager who basically said noone would tell me that you would get a permit (untrue that is what I was told) the manager did not care at all and did not try to help. We were given a room on the 5th floor (and it was awful the TV was held together with tape so was the TV controller, basic is maybe a word to good for this room, the food was awful breakfast was help yourself to dried up and not even warm, the dinner was the same, I have stayed in many hotels and I can say that this is the worst ever the only good thing about it is it is opposite the Pier if you can see the pier through the dirty unclean windows. The best thing about the whole two days was leaving.

I can recommend the Old Ship Hotel, the Thistle or the Gran if fact any hotel is better than this, everyone person I spoke to said the same they would never come back, so this hotel could be closed by next year. AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I can't believe I paid £100 a night for this hotel. Luckily I only stayed there one night.
From the moment you step in you can see everything is in desperate need of renovation.
The worst part were the rooms, we first got one on the 5th floor, size was OK, seaview, but really worn-out. We had to change because the bathroom ceiling was leaking and the floor was completely wet.
We immediately got another room and a guy came in to the first room to check it out, said there was nothing he could do. They know that the hotel is falling apart, they are really shameless.
The second room, on the 4th floor, was also old and worn-out, and smaller and darker than the first one. We got downgraded! But at least the bathroom floor was dry.
In exchange, at 6 in the morning the ceiling in the corridor started dripping and we could get no more sleep.
I was not expecting a luxury hotel, but for this standards I would have preferred to spend the night at a youth hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have on occasion asked to change my room when checking in to a new hotel - but three times is now my personal best thanks to the Royal Albion. 2 nights in this dump for £340.00 - I must have taken leave of my senses or been unwittingly drugged on the train from London.

Peeling wallpaper - check. Incredibly rude reception staff - check. Dirty bedspreads - check. dripping bathroom taps - check. Green-screened CRT TV with about 8 channels - check. Broken shower - check. Toilet that was incapable of flushing more than 3 sheets of toilet paper - check. A pervading smell of cooking cooking - check. A peeling and crumbling facade - check. Shall i go on. No bath mat. paid for a sea view and was firstly given a room overlooking air con units at the back, dirty tables in the restaurant, dirty cutlery, cheap tea, coffee, sausages, juices and god knows what else. Thank the Lord the sun was shining otherwise I probably would have gone home. 3 Stars - who on earth awarded those ?

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Everyoneawinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Room awful, dirty, unfriendly employees only exception the spanish bell man. It rains inside, you really can't wait to leave. It should be closed by public authorities. A shame for England. Don't ask information at the reception: they are of no help. Elevator was broken and had to carry luggage to third floor. Guess what? There are also undeground rooms. NEVER BEEN IN SUCH AN AWFUL PLACE!!! Pictures in the official site are a pure fraud. Finally a nice 2.30 am fire alert makes your night worst than worst

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing