We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“why do people complain about this hotel it very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
england , uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“why do people complain about this hotel it very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

i stayed at this hotel on july 31 and 01 august and found this hotel was very good when i read all previous reviews i nearly cancelled but i found the hotel checkin was good staff very polite and friendly food very good and the room was good this is such a good location of hotel with nice lounge wit views of brighton pier and good night sleep was had on both nights.

dont believe in what you read this hotel is very good and is owned by britannic hotels a good chain book today and lets get rid of this bad reviews and see this hotel at number one what it deserves

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    495
    579
    492
    1,054
See reviews for
347
1,195
146
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The building is very grand and in keeping with the history of Brighton. The location of the hotel is second to none for the leisure traveller; it is directly opposite the pier and about 2 minutes walk to the restaurants and 'The Lanes' Shopping Area. The hotel is clean inside however the decor and furniture appears that it has not been updated since the hotel was built in 184!. This means that the wallpaper is peeling in places and the wooden furniture is very worn. The hotel seems popular with hen and stag parties, probably because the rooms were relatively cheap to their competitors. If you are looking for somewhere to sleep in a fun location and you need a good ol' greasy fry up and you are on a budget stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokerjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed here for a cheap few days in Brighton. I'd booked the hotel before I'd read the reviews! When I started to read, I seriously wondered if this was going to be a good idea.
When I entered the room, I was pleasantly surprised, no horror stories to tell, in fact, a neat room with a decent bathroom and shower.
Downstairs, there was spacious bar and lounge although the entertainment consisted of songs from 'way back when' played on a hammond organ interspaced with a session of bingo allthough this had been laid on for a party of visiting pensioners.
The hotel location is superb. Just across the road from the pier so there's a great view during the day, and an equally attractive view at night when the pier's lit up.
Yes, the carpets are a bit threadbare in the odd spot, but this is a grand old regency hotel that's looking not too bad for its age.The surrounding restaurants and bars aren't at all bad either!
In conclusion, it was ideal as a base for a few days away in Brighton. We didn't pay over the top, so we didn't expect over the top quality - we got what we paid for, comfort and and a good location pure and simple

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjybedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

we stayed from 20th of july to 23rd .we had a lovely stay and our room was so big .the shower was not working but the size of the room made up for us .the food was nice and hot .and the staff were helpful and very kind.people moaned about small things but when i said have you asked the staff to help no they had not .if you needed help the staff did there best..yes it is a bit dated but that added to its charm .the room was cleaned well.it is also being done up so work man around but they did not get in the way .i think it has had bad rewiews which it did not deserve .if you want five star go for a five star hotel.i would stay again .good place to stay right by the beach the pier .and shops thank you to all the staff good stay .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Having read some of the other reviews after we had booked this hotel we arrived with some trepidation. We originally booked because we paid for two nights at the price that some other places were charging for one night. Yes, the hotel looks tatty from the outside which is clearly why they are doing all the work on it, but the staff were polite, our room was a good size with a (working) jacuzzi bath, and we had a little mezzanine floor with a sitting area in our room. There was a small amount of mould around the edge of the bath, but other than this the room and bedding was clean and serviced daily, and the water was hot. Our room was on the top floor which probably made it quieter than some of the rooms nearer street level and we were able to keep the window open as the room was rather warm. We had a lovely view of Brighton Pier and were obviously in a great location. Can't comment on the food as we ate out instead. The first morning we did go down to breakfast but as we were quite late, the queue was long and it didn't look as if we would be able to get a table. Overall, don't book if you're looking for a 5 star experience, but if you want a cheap, comfortable place to stay in a great location, and you manage to avoid the basement rooms, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

if you are planning to have fun then this is not the hotel for you.every tv show set in the twentys should shoot here, nothing and i mean nothing is modern. this is not the cleanest of hotels but how do you make 100 year old decor look clean.this hotel is really only suited for the over eighties.all under 79 should look elsewhere this hotel charges 2009 prices for 1920 quality. on the plus side the breakfast is good but you feel dated once sitting in the 1920's dining room and be warned when its busy the breakfast queue is horrendous

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASINGSTOKE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

This hotel should be knocked down....rooms are in a terrible condition, bath leaked water everywhere, the four poster bedroom was just a fout poster bed with no canopy, curtains etc. paid for bottle of champagne upon arrival, they forgot. additonal Z bed had springs pushing through the mattress. On first night at 2am we heard the nght porter speak to somebody who was drunk asleep on the floor outside our room, and asked him was room 212 his, the porter then opened the door with his key to let the drunk into our room, we had to shout to stop him coming in. The room also had a buzzer sound that went off every 20 mins, and it was coming from the air conditioner system I reported this to management but nobody took anyreal notice. Breakfast was around a small buffet style counter , too small for so many guests. Evening meal we were told priced at £6.00 with children menu but when we sat down , it turned out it was £12.95 with nothing for children except large main meals. I know brighton is the main place for the gay community, but the hotel should reaslise that other people wish to see brighton and stay in some thing decent as this hotel is not cheap. The hotel was undergoing external refurbishment ,whuch we knew about , but it reallu need attention inside first. DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT BOOKING THIS HOTEL......unless your desparate...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Property: Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing