We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We booked a family room which a great size and very clean. The service was fantastic and the staff were always happy to help and very polite. The breakfast was amazing. The best we've ever had in a hotel. I don't understand why other reviews mention breakfast time like a "rugby scrum" as we found it calm, quiet and relaxing. We certainly didn't need to eat until dinner after this!! We tried out the pool, and again, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very clean and not too cold. There was also a steam room, sauna and hot tub, all of which we put to good use. All in all, this hotel was brilliant and we would definately stay again. We were made to feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chrissychrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    1,073
    1,015
    657
    473
See reviews for
642
1,394
193
954
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

The hotel comes off initially as a bit old, but we spent about an hour walking through the hotel enjoying the architectural details and photographs. The hotel management gave us a brief history of the building too. Breakfast and dinner in the dining room was nice. The location is perfect - right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtherJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, no doubt about it. The breakfast is the best I have seen in a long time and at 90 odd pounds or so for singles. Prices can be quite reasonable for a Hilton.
If one manages to get time to use the free spa, one will definetely get one's money's worth.
I had a nice big double for myself with a full bath but a view of the unsightly inner yard while me colleague was spoilt with an amazing sea view but had to settle for a shower bath and a very small bed. Another complaint was that the conference centre was freezing cold, at least during this cold December spell.
All things considered though, I'd come back.;

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likeithotandspicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Slick check-in, excellent sea-view room, well located for promenade, beach, pier and town centre/shops.
Air-conditioning a little to warm and struggled to turn down, but opened the windows and awoke to the sound of waves on the beach both mornings. Rooms well-sized and furnished comfortably. Very roomy bathroom - will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

If I'd read the reviews here before booking, I would have chosen different hotel!

However, our family room had clearly been recently refurbished & was finished to a good standard. We had ordered a cot for the room & it looked brand new. The room & public areas were spotless, the staff friendly, the breakfast lovely & the swimming pool beautiful.

The hotel is in a great location & with the current Spring discount, it's great value for money.

The only real negative were the usual English hotel 'cons' of ridiculously priced extras e.g. internet access, parking, bottles of water etc.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedavebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to add your review

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, In regards to your comments on parking charges due to being a city hotel we offer a very competitive rate with in the city centre to our Hotel guests, a 50% discount on the original price is offered to our in house residents which then takes the price down to £16.00 per night, which is displayed on our web site and at the entrance of the car park.

I hope you and your family return soon using our spring break discount.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stay at many Hilton Hotels, this was our second stay here and once again we were very disappointed. The rooms fall far short of Hilton standard, the furnishings are tired as well as the decor. The whole hotel has a very odd feel about it, looking very grand from the outside but telling a completely different story from the inside. The service is variable. The breakfast was good in a very nice restaurant. The bar is nice however again the service was variable. We would certainly not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I actually do not know where to start.
My partner and I had booked for two nights and had also booked for my daughter and her husband and young baby to stay the second night as a birthday treat and meeting up with second daughter who lives in Brighton. So now I have set the scene.
On arrival my partner and I were shown to a what I now know is considered a "multi function room", it is set up for disabled guests. There was a obvious red cord hanging next to the bed and one next to the toilet. The shower had an opening I assume for easy access to the shower. The window was covered in bird droppings and the window overlooked the well at the back of the hotel, on to what appeared to be the kitchen or some kind of industrial roof. It was shabby and not nice. We went back to reception who looked for another room without too much investigation - had they hoped we would accept?
We were then given a room on the 6th (top) floor. As we were by this time tired and wanting to go meet with family , we kept the room, despite the fact that to see out of the room you had to stand on tip toe. Well on returning to the room that night, the room was very hot. It was not a very hot night but the room was airless. It was so difficult to sleep. We stood on chairs to open the windows but there was no through air flow. So I went to get some water from the cold tap - it was hot and I mean hot! Only choice? To take the water left by the HIlton at £3.95 a bottle!
We are now in the morning. before breakfast, we report to reception and complain. Given a room number to look at with the concierge. It was better but no air conditioning and even at that time ( around 9 a.m.) it was airless. So back to reception, given two other room numbers. First room, someone in it! Second room - someone in it! concierge clearly mortified! He asked us to come see him after breakfast. After breakfast he says he tells us of a good room that should be free later, we accept and trust him. This turned out to be fine, but why did it have to take all of the above? So now we wait for daughter etc to arrive. Told room would be ready around 3 p.m. We go around town etc and return to hotel around 5 p.m. - room not ready. Offered a drink at the bar complimentary which was kind. Eventually in room around 6 p.m.
Room was booked as a double sea view. It was very small and quite disappointing, no table or chair just room and shower without bath. She needed to be able to use fridge- we could not open it! reported to reception, said they would deal with. 11/2 hours later we called back to be told fridge cannot be used as the remote to open was lost or not working. At this point I was in despair, Fawllty towers sprung to mind. I told the reception that it was becoming a joke. She asked if i had spoken to management and offered to tell management. Well 5 minutes or so later two managers arrived at the door. They listened and offered free meal for all etc which I did accept. NOw they did try hard and maybe they did their best! However it should never have happened. One of the managers did actually say I must feel that it was Fawlty Towers!
I was pleased that they intervened. However , I had hours and hours of stress and concern, trying to make it right for my family. Yes it did spoil probably a good part of the short time I had with family. We had travelled from Scotland for a short break and it was spoilt with the stress of all of this.
We have stayed at Hilton's in Dunkeld, Edinburgh, Aberdeen , London and New York, this hotel does not resemble any of them. I cannot fault the concierge or the two managers who tried to make things better but they could not give back the hours of stress and worry.
Would I go back? I doubt it and I would urge anyone thinking of staying to think again.
Back in October I stayed in the premier Inn in Brighton. The room was bigger, more modern and without stress. It does not have sea views etc but having seen the sea view room for a premium price,at the HIlton, I do not think it was worth it. Perhaps if you are able to have a suite etc that may then make a difference.
Yes they tried to make things better but on reflection and on return home, I realise the stress and worry it caused and how it did spoil what should have been a great family weekend.
You decide what you would do .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor

Please could you contact the hotel at your earliest convenience to be able to discuss your complaint with you directly.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing