We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 23 November 2011

That is what you're paying for! Just across the street from the beach.

As other reviewers mention, from the outside the hotel is beautiful, the communal areas of the hotel on the inside are pretty lavish, however the room is dated (as can be expected throughout Europe). The bathroom was HUGE however, and had a bath tub, which was nice. The bed was not that comfortable.

I was a little annoyed that the hotel was largely empty but they refused to upgrade me to an ocean front room, and they wanted $70 more for it.

One other huge annoyance was the jacuzzi. It turns on for 6 minutes, then off for 6 minutes automatically - when the jets turn off, the staff ensures that everyone gets out of the Jacuzzi. I have no idea if there is any rhyme or reason for this, but they are vigilent, and it gets quite annoying as you try to unwind after a long day of travel...

The staff was friendly, but were ridgidly trained not to give any freebies/upgrades/special considerations for a Hilton Honors frequent traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and could not agree more to everything including the beach being on our doorstep.

I apologies that our team were unable to offer you a discounted rate for an upgrade during your stay depending on the amount of night’s you were staying we may not have be able to accommodate all the nights needed.

Having spoken with our Spa the Jacuzzi is on a timer for a number of reason, to replenishes fresh water going in to the Jacuzzi itself, health & safety reason so guest do not get over heated without realising this, and to allow all guests a chance to use the facilities.

I hope to see you return in the near future.

Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,702 - 3,708 of 4,425 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

Very pleasent check-in staff at this large, well known Brighton Hotel. Sea view rooms are lovely. Handy car parking at rear, a little dear. Good quality Hilton breakfast, again with quality staff. Large bar with full range of beverages again with very nice staff. Indoor pool and leisure centre. Ideal for a weekend break. Has many function rooms to cope with meetings, weddings and functions. Heard no complaints all weekend, will book again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seafron room. Access to car park via road between Grand and Hilton. 1st left and fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our team to be friendly and welcoming, and took the time to enjoy the Hilton breakfast that we get a lot of positive comments on.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel is beautiful on the outside but a bit dated on the inside.
The bathroom could benefit from an update like the rest of the rooms. For instance, The shower had some issue with the temp control. Some of the plugswere not working in the room
Plus staing on the second floor with view on the court yard, the fumes from the restaurant were quite disturbing

Room Tip: Do not get room that are on top of the restaurant extractors. The smell of fried chips is quite dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor.

I can confirm that our ongoing refurbishment programme within the hotel will be carried on this year, and we are delighted this will see some of our older bed rooms and bathrooms refreshed and updated.

Had you spoken to one of our Guest relation managers during your stay they would have tried their upmost to rectify your room.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was a very good experience in term of hotel hospitality with very professional employees and a great check-in supervisor (from Spain) who was super attentive and careful in answering customer needs. The hotel is elegant and has a very nice breakfast in a beautiful room with sea view. A good hilton standard place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X-O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Rooms were okay but no natural light thought the windows.

The test of the building is very grand and the staff are excellent. Especially the girls on the desk - very polite and happy.

Only issue with this hotel is the price and the parking charges, otherwise I would stay here more often.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgessking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Sorry to say but this is one of the worst hotel experiences in awhile. Firstly the room itself was way below expectation for a "four star". It was small and very basic, perhaps two star quality, I have stayed in much nicer 3 star hotels. The bed was seriously uncomfortable and creaky ... every move was audible! The bathroom was also small and very basic. The whole place is really old and out of date.

But on top of the poor room the service / cleanliness was a shocker. On check-in the bed was made up but there were still dirty towels on the bathroom floor and rubish in the bins from the previous occupant!

I was on business and I really am not a hotel snob (I really just need a bed and a shower usually) but you will find much nicer in Brighton. On the plus side it is on the sea front, very convenient for the conference center. It is relativley cheap but you get cheap in return.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank off-for-a-ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor,

I would like to offer my apologies that your room was not to the usual Hilton standard of cleanliness upon your check in, your comments have been shared with our Head Housekeeper to review and address with his team.

However if you had of spoken to either our reception Team or one of our Guest Relation Managers they would have tried their upmost to allocate either another room for you or had a room attendant re-clean the room for you at a time that was convenient to you.

I can confirm that our ongoing in house refurbishment programme within the hotel is to be carried on this year.

It is important to us to ensure that we continuously review and improve our services and standards within the hotel, which is helped by feedback from our guest.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having got an extremely 'cheap' deal through early booking for a conference in a single room I was expecting a garret or a broom cupboard. Had excellent single room with desk, wi-fi, hairdryer iron and ironing board plus full bathroom. The view of the scaffolding outside my window wasn't great but the room was quiet and comfy and I slept very well. The breakfast was good and for a hotel in this price range a good price.

Parking however was an adventure. We chose to drive as there were 5 of us and that made the £16 a night parking sensible to opt for. However the underground car park was clearly built in an era of rather smaller cars and getting out did involve what was probably a 11 or 13 point turn to turn into the exit lane.

Room Tip: If you take your car there is a lift at the rear entrance that you can use to take your luggage down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your conference went well.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £88 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing