We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was really impressed by my last visit to the Hilton Brighton. Stayed in a suite room 211 (from 25/27 Nov) and really enjoyed it.

I stay here probably 4 or 5 times a year and this hotel is definitely getting better. Everyone from check in to check out could not have been more friendly or accommodating.

The bar, reception, restaurant and housekeeping were all great and no request to them was ever too much trouble.

As a Hilton Honors Diamond member I felt that the service I received was certainly far superior to what I have recievd in other UK Hilton hotels and they also never forget any previous requests you have made.

I will definitely be back next year and a big thank you to all the staff who looked after me so well this weekend. The staff are a great credit to the hotel and you seem to have a team at the moment who are really interested in their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant1gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,692 - 3,698 of 4,420 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

I made a group booking at the Metropole for a school staff weekend 25 November to fundraise for Macmillan Cancer support. We went to Brighton in July to plan the visit and walked into the hotel to be ignored until by chance, the new manager Guy Hilton introduced himself and sent somebody to assist us. From that moment on it was a superb experience. We were a group of only 20, far smaller than the large conferences they are used to, but Pallavi in reservations treated us like special guests. From the moment we arrived you could see the impact Guy Hlton has made since taking over. Check in for our 10 rooms was rapid and friendly. The rooms were lovely. All staff were outstanding, helpful and cheerful. The bar staff were efficient and charming as were the concierge team
We ate in the beautiful Windsor restaurant and Jon and his team sorted out our meal with great efficiency and attention. Breakfast as always was superb
The rooms are gradually being refurbished but guests should remember that the Metropole is a grand old lady, with stunning and elaborate public rooms. There are bound to be plumbing and maintenance issues in a hotel of this type and age. I have stayed in similar old buildings, George V in Paris and Waldorf in New York. You cannot have it all. The stunning stairways and general ambience make up for any slight problems and the upkeep of this hotel must be ongoing
Cleaning staff are plentiful and helpful
What more can I say
If you want a charming hotel in Brighton look no further and judging from the improvement in the last 6 months, Mr Hilton is on a roll and has only just begun to make his mark

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you for commenting on the ongoing changes we are making at the hotel and your understanding of the challenges a hotel like this can sometimes bring to the guests experience.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Brighton Metropole for 3 nights in November 2011. I was attending a conference.

The staff is extremely efficient and helpful. The entire event was extremely well managed. We were helped with the set up at all times. The response to any request was fast and effective.

Pros:
The hotel is much bigger than it would seem at first. Great ballroom. Great staff. Excellent location as its just across from the beach with great views and watching the sunset in the horizon was simply amazing! Food was mostly very good. Room was a fair size and had all the sort of things you need when you are on travel (kettle, iron etc)

Cons:
Furniture was a bit dated. Parking access was not very convenient. Due to repairs there was scaffolding on non sea view rooms and so I had no natural light.

I would say that the cons are very very minor and on the whole this is a very good hotel, well located and I would definately stay again when visiting Brighton..

Room Tip: Go for sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

On arrival we were lucky enough to find out we had been upgraded to a suite, we had to pay an additional charge but it was certainly worth it, the room was huge as was the additional lounge. We had a large balcony overlooking the sea, so the views were amazing. the staff are very friendly and polite. The buffet breakfast is a must, so much to choose from including vegie sausages. I would recommend booking on a bed and breakfast rate otherwise its £17.50 each. The bar area is large and comfortable, drink prices are a little steep £6 for a small glass of wine. The hotel is in a good location with everything within walking distance. Parking behind the hotel is £16, cheaper than nearby

Room Tip: Ask for any upgrades or try and book one online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Upgraded Room and the breakfast and that you found the staff and service good as well.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Brighton Metropole in the neaqr future.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our lasting impression of our two night break is how friendly and polite all the staff were. Every member of staff we met, the receptionist when we booked in, the cleaners, the waiting staff at breakfast and the chef, made us feel welcome.
We had used Tesco Vouchers to pay for the majority of our stay so did wonder if we would be allocated a 'less desireable' room. However our room was perfectly adequate and of the standard I would expect. It was on the fourth floor, towards the back of the hotel, which meant that we did not experience any traffic noise. The bed was very comfortable with nice linen. The only criticism is that the room would have benefitted from an extra easy chair. There was one in the room that was very comfortable, but it did mean that with there being two of us one person had to sit on the bed or desk chair.
The bathroom was fine, very clean with a good shower.
Breakfast is served in an elegant dining room overlooking the sea. It is a good quality hot and cold buffet with eggs cooked to order infront of you.
Many reviewers have already commented on the location so I really have nothing to add.
We did not use any of the leisure facilities or bars so are not able to comment on these areas.
The hotel does have a car park but it is expensive. There is a public carpark, Regency Square, pretty much next door that is cheaper.
Overall we were very pleased and would certainly stay there again if visiting Brighton.

Room Tip: Room at the back was very quiet and was not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Hilton Brighton Metropole and that you found the staff and service very good. I am sorry that you felt the car park to be expensive.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

That is what you're paying for! Just across the street from the beach.

As other reviewers mention, from the outside the hotel is beautiful, the communal areas of the hotel on the inside are pretty lavish, however the room is dated (as can be expected throughout Europe). The bathroom was HUGE however, and had a bath tub, which was nice. The bed was not that comfortable.

I was a little annoyed that the hotel was largely empty but they refused to upgrade me to an ocean front room, and they wanted $70 more for it.

One other huge annoyance was the jacuzzi. It turns on for 6 minutes, then off for 6 minutes automatically - when the jets turn off, the staff ensures that everyone gets out of the Jacuzzi. I have no idea if there is any rhyme or reason for this, but they are vigilent, and it gets quite annoying as you try to unwind after a long day of travel...

The staff was friendly, but were ridgidly trained not to give any freebies/upgrades/special considerations for a Hilton Honors frequent traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and could not agree more to everything including the beach being on our doorstep.

I apologies that our team were unable to offer you a discounted rate for an upgrade during your stay depending on the amount of night’s you were staying we may not have be able to accommodate all the nights needed.

Having spoken with our Spa the Jacuzzi is on a timer for a number of reason, to replenishes fresh water going in to the Jacuzzi itself, health & safety reason so guest do not get over heated without realising this, and to allow all guests a chance to use the facilities.

I hope to see you return in the near future.

Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Very pleasent check-in staff at this large, well known Brighton Hotel. Sea view rooms are lovely. Handy car parking at rear, a little dear. Good quality Hilton breakfast, again with quality staff. Large bar with full range of beverages again with very nice staff. Indoor pool and leisure centre. Ideal for a weekend break. Has many function rooms to cope with meetings, weddings and functions. Heard no complaints all weekend, will book again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seafron room. Access to car park via road between Grand and Hilton. 1st left and fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our team to be friendly and welcoming, and took the time to enjoy the Hilton breakfast that we get a lot of positive comments on.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £88 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colorful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing