We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 25 May 2012

After the terrible time at the Beach hotel. (see my review of that dump), this was a breath of fresh air. Clean, tide, friendly, courteous staff. We were alble to view 2 rooms before booking. Great TV, room big, airy, and the same price as the dump up the road. I would stay there again, and reccommend it to anyone. Nice place!

Room Tip: We got a King double. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found all our team to be very welcoming and friendly during your stay with us

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,633 - 3,639 of 4,506 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just got back from a well needed 2 day break at this hole and will be writing a letter of complaint. Our first room was filthy, boiling hot, ill equip and not just tired but totally exhausted!! I managed to get a move, however, this room was also very tired and below the cleanliness standards I would expect from a small B&B let alone a "Luxury Spa Hotel", it is so over priced its not even funny, I would have begrudge paying £80 for a room let alone the extortionate £170/room per night price tag that they have! They also have the audacity to charge an extra £14.99 for wifi in your room. The only good thing to say is the breakfast was good and the house keeping staff were very helpful. Don't bother with this even if someone else is footing the bill.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I am sorry to read that you felt the room was tired. The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

4 of us prebooked afternoon tea as part of a day trip to Brighton.From the outset we felt ignored, an inconvenience and staff seemed puzzled almost as to why we were there despite showing a copy of the booking.We were kept waiting for ages and finally directed to the restaurant which turned out to be the wrong place. However determined not to be put off, tea duly arrived after much debating about what we actually wanted. The "new" teapots were a disaster, the 3 tier cake stands on their last legs and the food whilst ok was pretty average, at no time were we offered champagne as an extra.Sorry to be so negative but customer service really was a let down.I have had teas in smaller establishments that were far superior and less money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Noonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent trip to Brighton please accept my apologies for the unacceptable levels of service and attention that you experienced.

I have spoken to Brendan Shannon our Food & Beverage Manager who would also like to offer his apologies for the service you received and would be delighted to discuss this with you in more detail. If you could send us your contact details he would be more than happy to call you to resolve your dissatisfaction. Please email your details to Brendan.shannon@hilton.com

Once again, please accept my apologies for this totally unacceptable levels of service received during your afternoon tea.

Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had booked the Grand next door for 2 nights but got bumped to this hotel from there - next door for 1 night as they had a client who changed dates and took over the whole hotel, we were not happy and even unhappier after this one night stay. The room was very small, the bathroom even smaller, the shower cubicle was dirty and very narrow. We had to ask for a fan as the windows were locked and the air con was not working, the concierge informed us. We did not sleep. We were very dissapointed with the stay here considering it was a Hilton, and will not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes, the hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Yesterday went to an arranged Spa Day. The changing area, toilets and showers were filthy, no toilet tissue in dispenser. Robes that had previously been requested never turned up. When we arrived there at 10am we placed our orders for lunch so it would've been ready for 13.00 at 13.30 we were still waiting to be approached by a member of staff to take an order for a drink and there was still no sign of food!!! Finally five meals came out...10 minutes later mine appeared. Staff in the restaurant were rude.
Can't say I'll be keen to go back there anytime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to our Spa.

I would like to extend my apologies for the unacceptable levels of service and attention that you received on your Spa day. I have shared your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the Spa area with my relevant heads of department for them to immediately address.

I have also discussed the inefficiencies you experienced in our Restaurant with both my Food and Beverage Manger and Executive Chef. It is unacceptable that we failed on so many occasions to deliver the service you would expect at Hilton.

Once again, please accept my apologies for this totally unacceptable level of service received in both the Spa and our Restaurant.

Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

As stated before, some areas are worn, but in general a nice hotel with period features. Rooms can be hit and miss, mine was huge, airy, and well furnished, others I saw were small and very hot however re-fit in progress. I do think this is now reflected in the price as you can choose a newly refitted room or standard.

Staff took care of us, function of over 300 and personal touch still there, every member of staff said hello as we passed, well done!!. Sea front view rooms and bars, food all of good quality.

Hotel sparkling clean throughout.

Just the genral stuffiness (as in temperature and air flow) lets the hotel down from getting higher ratings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that the hotel and service provided for such an enjoyable stay for you.

We are also presently awaiting an upgrade to our Air Conditioning units which should resolve the temperature issues you highlighted in your feedback.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed on business just for one night, booked by my office. Have stayed before and always had a sea view. This time I was given a room at the back of the hotel, so the view was not attractive. BUT the price of the room was very inexpensive and this is a gorgeous, classic seafront hotel. So I was happy to not look at the view! The room was enormous, had everything I wanted with a superbly comfortable bed. Plain, fully functional bathroom. (No shower cap). Would have liked a magnifying mirror , but that's just me. Due to the price of the room I was prepared for the cost of breakfast to be added to the final bill. Nice surprise that it was all inclusive. What a brilliant breakfast, with fresh eggs, porridge etc cooked to order in front of you. Wonderful, friendly waiting staff. Dinner the previous night was fabulous too. So good that I am going to review this separately.

Room Tip: I would ask for a sea view, but if you get a fantastic deal, do not worry about the view from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience. I am delighted you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast we do get a lot of very positive comments on it.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £92 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing