We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for work - great room, very clean all the usual extras including an ironiung board and iron! Very clean bathroom and 40inch flat screen tv. Breakfast (full English!) was great. Didnt eat in the hotel for lunch or evening meal.

A big impressive hotel right on the sea front, staff very friendly and efficient, great location for spending some time in Brighton!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Pippy66,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole.

I was delighted to read that you and found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us, and you enjoyed our famous Hilton Breakfast.

The hotel as you say has a great location and with the facilities we provide and refurbishments we have made is a great base from which to explore the local area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,445 - 3,451 of 4,513 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Having stayed here for the first time I have to say it was faboulous,great staff, fab bar/lounge and very grand, only downside was the temperature in our seaview room was so excessive that we had to sleep with the door open all night,no way to turn it down. That aside I would thoroughly recomend this Hotel,

Room Tip: Seaview is the only option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Susan I,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and helpful.

I please accept my apologies for the temperature of your room. Due to a cold spell all the heating in the hotel was put on, unfortunately it took long to cool down once we had turned it off.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The room was very expensive for what it was, the decor was not up to scratch and we asked to be moved, the pool and spa pool were cold and the changing rooms were dirty. The breakfast was good and when we moved to the other room it was better, but a hotel of a four star standard should not be having complaints like this.

Room Tip: Look at the decor in your room closely if you have paid lots of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrspowell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Mrspowell74,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay and I am sorry to read that your stay fell below the Hilton standard. The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed hear for one night as it was the base for the RAC Future Car Run to London. A good hotel for meetings and events with a well organised team to support. pod food can be a real challenge when catering for large numbers but I was pleasantly surprised with a good hot roast buffet in the evening and buffet style breakfasting the morning. the rooms a re a little in the small side but well appointed. My only gripe is the high cost of Internet access and this is where a lot of the larger hotels fail. Good cheap Internet access should be a given now as it as essential to most people as TV and telephone.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to complain about the Internet costs. They will start to get the message.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear DavidG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed the service from the team.
I have shared your positive comments on the buffet in the evening and our Hilton breakfast with our Executive Sous Chef and his team.

I can confirm that we do offer complimentary internet to our hotel guests in all of our public areas, such as our main lobby, Waterhouse bar & terrace and our business centre via a code from our Reception team. Please accept my apologies that the information was not passed on to you.
Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at the Metropole for a conference over two days. very comfortable room but even with double glazing, traffic noise was a problem especially if you aren't used to it. Excellent standard room, lashings of hot water and no fuss TV etc. Good food but staff are eager to usher you out of thye breakfast room, if you return to the buffet you mght find your table cleaned and with someone else sitting there! Expensive bar. Good facilities and helpful friendly staff. They helped me out with car parking which can cost a fortune in Brighton. Managed to get parked in the Hotel car park for less than half the cost of NCP.

Room Tip: Pick between a sea view and possible traffic noise, or a building view and a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear johntee3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was pleased to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel.

I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, we do get a lot of positive comment on team members.

Please accept my apologies for the service you encountered at breakfast, this certainly is not the standards we are striving to achieve your stay.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Recently went to the Metropole for a one night get away with the Mr. Upon arriving we spent about 15 minutes driving round the block trying to find the way into the carpark underneath! Not great signage but once down there was very glad to be driving a small 2 seater sports car rather than anything bigger as space was exceptionally tight. Check in was in a rather large and grande entrance hall and the staff were friendly and helpful and soon we were on our way up the beautiful staircase to our super deluxe sea view room. Huge big super super king bed in a lovely huge big room, huge picture window on one full wall with double doors to the sea view balcony! Fantastic! Now to check out the bathroom and what a disappointment. Modernish with double sinks and the smallest bath ever! Even if we had sat end to end with our knees tucked up there would have been room for only one! Now don't get me wrong I was not expecting a huge big eight man jacuzzi nor even a giant round sea view tub but I would have thought they could have gone a little further than this chihuahua bath with shower curtain over. Disappointment set in hard as my hopes of a long leisurely romantic bath with the Mr (our favourite pastime) were dashed but I held out hope as I rang reception. Sorry no more rooms available but she finally agreed to send up a complimentary bottle of wine (usually priced at over £40) which helped to dull the pain. So two individual baths and one room service meal later and the scene was set. Bottle of wine arrives in a bucket brimming with ice and two sparkling wine glasses! The Mr looks over with a wink and a smile from his side of the huge bed and proceeds to open said wine. Much grunting and aerobics later the lid finally releases from the bottle and the wine was fully enjoyed.......... then the pain set in. The Mr had pulled a muscle in his back trying to release the clearly super-glued on cap! And there was breakfast in bed guaranteed.

So, to surmise, the weekend, though enjoyable, was clearly not enjoyed as intended as a direct result (in my mind anyway) of the inadequate bathing facilities. Over £300 for the room and almost the same on painkillers we left the next day less relaxed than we had arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Visited twice in September, once for an event held in the hotel and then again during the Liberal Party conference. First trip rated as a solid 3/5 but the second pushed it to a 4/5.

Our room on the first occasion was tired and a little frayed around the edges and in need of a bit of blitz with a duster. The food at the function was good especially considering there were over 600 guests. Breakfast was a pleasant affair in a comfortable dining room with sea views. There was a good range of food on the buffet and a chef on hand to cook fresh omelettes.

The second visit was during a busy party conference and I had a much better and larger room that was in better nick. Again breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and efficient.

Location is good on the seafront and walking distance to the railway station (a 15 - 20 minute walk uphill from the hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yug33, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Oxonboy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your second stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole.

I was delighted to read that you and found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us, and you enjoyed the event you attended and our famous Hilton Breakfast.

The hotel as you say has a great location and with the facilities we provide and refurbishments we have made is a great base from which to explore the local area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £92 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing