We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We hit the hotel just right - it was the quietest we had ever seen it and we had a fantastic time. Staff were great, the new bar was superb, if a tad iffy on the service at times, and the restaurant was fantastic. Our room was a suite at the front and it was great - and perfect for a romantic getaway. Highlight was the fresh breakfast pancakes.

Room Tip: One overlooking the beach is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear bathpair,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience, throughout your stay. I was delighted that you tried out our newly refurbished Waterhouse bar and terrace, I have shared your comments regarding the service with my Director of Operations to review.

However I am pleased to read that you took the time to enjoy our Hilton breakfast as we do get a lot of very positive comments on it.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    1,143
    1,071
    702
    504
See reviews for
695
1,485
206
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for 1 night as an early Valentines weekend in Brighton.

Having been to Brighton many times, we decided this time to use our Hilton Honors points gained from other Hilton Hotel stays.

The room had be very recently upgraded and was very new with good quality comfortable bed and brand new bathroom and fittings throughout.

We decided to eat in the resturant and the service and quality of food was exceptional value.

We prefer this hotel for it's atmosphere to the one next door.

Will go again.

Room Tip: Sea view is always nice, but expensive. Standards rooms are more than adequate and the newly refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Disappointd,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful dining experience in our Waterhouse Restaurant, I have shared your comment with our Executive Head Chef & Waterhouse Restaurant Manager to share with both their teams.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed there for a night with our grandson and found the hotel to be quite nice. It is older and in some places needs updating but overall quite fine. It is in a great location right across from the beach and within easy walking distance of major attractions. The breakfast which we included in the room payment was nice and had a large assortment. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARTWEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear BARTWEIN,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Brighton Metropole.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our famous Hilton Breakfast. The hotel as you say has a great location and with the facilities we provide and refurbishments we have made is a great base from which to explore the local area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Staff so friendly and helpful, Hotel is impressive and was so happy with the room waking in the morning to be looking at the sun rise over the sea...
clean, fresh and bright...made the most of the Swim and sauna so felt excellerated even before breakfast and then again in the evening after a fabuous day walking the lanes and sea front.

Have stayed here several times and will always choose this hotel on any return visit.

Room Tip: I booked on a special deal so got a excellent rate, hence I was able to email and upgrade for a extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Lindamiller,
1
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience, throughout your stay. I was delighted that you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast as we do get a lot of very positive comments on it.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Brighton Metropole and was pleasently surprised by the standard of service which is usually so badly lacking in UK Hotels. The rooms are a bit 'tired' but the bar and lobby make up for this as does the food which we found tobe well above average.
The highlight was the knowledge and willingness tohelpof the concierge desk in particular Ali who really helped us enjoy our stay..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Charles M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read our team have provided you a wonderful experience, throughout your stay. I was delighted that you found Ali from our concierge team to be very helpful, as he does get a lot of positive comments from our guests.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for the recent Tattoo Convention and found that the main areas of the hotel are very impressive but the rooms did not quite match. We had been upgraded which we were quite pleased about but the windowsills of our room had piles of pigeon droppings inches deep in some places. We had to ask for it to be dealt with and to be fair the staff were very prompt and cleared it up but maybe it shouldn't be allowed to get like that in the first place. The pigeons were also billing and cooing half the night! Some of the other rooms had spikes on the windowsills so I guess they are getting around to it. We had three adults in our room and an extra bed had been added which was ok but no extra tea mugs or toiletries were added and I found it very difficult to get the staff to understand our request for more. The room was boiling and had no air conditioning - although I did notice a fan in the wardrobe just as we were leaving!

The bar prices were reasonable and the bar area was very nice. Didn't check out the pool etc.

Not related to the Hilton but give the chip shop next door a wide berth!

Breakfast on the Saturday morning was excellent with lots of choice but on the Sunday morning it was a totally different story when the hotel was much busier. Surely a hotel should know how many people were staying and be able to cope. We were taken through to a smaller restaurant for breakfast and the buffet was practically empty and not being refilled. We wanted to have a good breakfast before our trip home but this was not possible. We have stayed at other Hilton hotels before but the Brighton Metropole was a bit disappointing in comparison.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyHilton-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear PH,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the standard and cleanliness of your room and window sill. I can confirm the hotel will continue to refurbish more of its bedrooms in 2013. I will certainly review the cleanliness standards with my Housekeeping Manager.

Your comments regarding breakfast on the Sunday has been shared with my Food & Beverage Manager to review as this is certainly not the service we are striving to deliver.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.


Kind regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing