We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award Winning Breakfast no more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Award Winning Breakfast no more”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel probably around 40 times. The Hilton breakfast used to be one of the highlights of each visit.

There used to be so much choice and the quality used to always be of a high standard. Unfortunately due to cost cutting this is no longer the case.

The choice and quality of the food had deteriorated quite noticeably. Stay there from 4th to 6th June. The first morning breakfast was just about passable although we commented that it was not as good as it used to be.

Second morning it was truly awful, Waited 20 minutes for a pot of tea to then find the waitress gave it to another table. Another 10 minutes for one to arrive.

The quality of the hot food has definitely gone downhill. Now you get greasy streaky bacon, low quality sausages, dried up mushrooms and cold congealed fried eggs that have been lying around for an age. They used to have a chef cook eggs but obviously this is no longer the case. It all looked very unappetising.

The cold selection was no better all dried up and a vastly reduced selection to what used to be offered.

Nobody was replenishing any of the dishes so it meant there was no white bread or even HP sauce and no one around to ask for it to be replenished.

I am a HHonors Diamond member and expect better than this. The team are still very friendly and always try to make sure that you are OK.

The room we had was fine, but as I said earlier I always looked forward to breakfast here and now it really disappoints.

I really am beginning to wonder why I am staying so loyal to Hilton when these cost cutting standards are being introduced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant1gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments about the hotel.

I have shared you comments with both my Executive Head Chef and Restaurant Manager in regards to the quality of the breakfast and various breakfasts items either missing or slow to be replenished to review with their teams.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    1,127
    1,057
    689
    495
See reviews for
680
1,460
204
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Amazing staff, as a wheelchair user I never felt like I was putting anyone out, couldnt have been more helpful. Only issues was the comfort, or lack of, of the bed. Breakfast was awesome and the location is lovely right on the seafront in Brighton

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Kellie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable. I have shared your comments regarding the comfort of the bed with my rooms Divisions Manager to review.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked this hotel on Lastminute.com as a secret location type deal and paid £80 for the night. So it was a bargain. The room we was given wasn't great. It was dark and facing the back of the building. It was very small and I found it made me feel quite enclosed.
Location is great and the staff are very helpful. Great for a cheap deal but wouldn't have been happy if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Petal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your recent stay with us and I am sorry to read of your disappointments of your room.

However I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, as you say the hotel does have a great location for our guests to explore our city centre.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times in the past year as it is the only Hilton property in the Brighton area. The hotel is located on the beach with nice albeit foggy views of the ocean. The rooms are spacious yet lacked modern style. What irked me the most was the fact that the Internet was ungodly slow. I meat dial up 56 k modem slow and you're limited to the number of devices.

My housekeeper came in at 9am on checkout day. There is no executive lounge for diamond guests and parking is awful.

The breakfast was good. I only stay here because it is a Hilton property. The staff are very nice and accommodating but the property needs a freshening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us, please accept my apologies for the issues you have had with the internet, we are at this moment in time investigating the reason why this is happening with our Internet provider BT and hope to get this resolved soon.

I have shared your comments regarding the time that housekeeping came to your room with our rooms Divisions Manager to review within his team.

However I am delighted you found our team to be friendly and professional throughout your stay, we do get a lot of positive comment on team members, and took the time to enjoy our Hilton breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 8 June. The overall impression on first arrival was that the hotel itself, inside is very grand and sumptuous, outside a bit shabby and run down, although there was scaffolding covering a small part of the front which may suggest some improvement is on the cards? The staff were friendly and our room was lovely and big, with a huge bed, the bed turned out to be rock hard, and the view from our room was onto what looked looked like the roof of the kitchen/restaurant and the back of the hotel frontage. The windows were filthy anyway so we could hardly see out! The air con worked well in our room and the bathroom was big with an average sized bath and seperate shower, although the shower cubicle was quite small. It was nice and quiet at night with no outside noise. I really don't think this was worth the £240 my Fiance paid for the room for one night and breakfast. We had a lovely meal in the Waterfront Restaurant on Saturday evening, the food was amazing, with a great selection of wines to choose from. We took breakfast in our room on the Sunday morning at an extra charge of £6.00. The breakfast was huge, with a cooked variety of food, cereals, pastries, toast, yogurts, tea, coffee and juices. It was all fresh and lovely. Definately worth the money we thought. There was a couple in the room next to ours that were obviously not getting on as there was several blazing, slanging matches going on with the girl screaming at the top of her lungs, this happened in the afternoon and then again late at night, we phoned down to Reception twice to complain and asked for security as we were concerned for the girls safety! They were promtly removed from the hotel from what we could gather. On our bill we were charged 25p for each phone call we made to reception, although not alot of money we felt this was out of order to be charged when we were simply phoning to report an incident, we informed the lady on reception upon our check out and this was removed from our bill. Overall we enjoyed Brighton, it was a lovely weekend away, I just think the Hilton was rather over rated and over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Metropole in Brighton over the weekend.The hotel itself is in a fantastic location. 10-15 minutes walk to the pier and also the lanes.

The hotel has its own dedicated car park which is tucked behind the hotel. split over 2 levels there is a good supply of car parking spaces. There is a dedicated entrance and exit to the hotel via the car park. The entrance to the hotel was not clearly signposted when we parked up so we had to walk the long way round into the hotel.

This is a lovely hotel, but I can imagine that the outdated decor may not be to everybody's taste. The entrance is quite open and large with massive chandeliers hanging of the high ceiling. There with quick access to the lifts without having to walk too much from the front desk. The bar and the restaurant is very conveniently located just off the main lobby both on adjacent ends of one another.

Event though the rooms are quite outdated and in need of modernization we felt that those thoughts could easily be discarded as the rooms where very huge, clean and very comfortable. The beds where also very comfy. Not all the Sea View rooms have a balcony, but ours did. So if you are wanting a balcony with a sea view then you will need to request for one.The shower and bathrooms was quite large, airy and very bright.
The bar area was very lovely. It was modern and very comfortable to relax and have a few drinks in the evening. The breakfast was pretty much basic with a small choice of hot and cold items

The main roads of the hotel does change as the evening approaches. As with Brighton's night life reputation you will find yourself surrounded by loud and annoying drunken stags and hens, but don't let that put you off the area is very well policed.

The service at the hotel was very attentive, nicely staffed, and well managed.

You get people from all different walks of life staying at this hotel. So if you are looking for a classy hotel that has classy guests....... well this may not be the place for you. if you can look outside that with an open mindset like we did then I'm sure you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View Room 207-209 for the best front views of the beach front. Ask for a room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeandVee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Agree with several reviews, this place is so dated its an embarrassment. It is a 3 star hotel at best.

Rooms are tired, dated and grubby. Bathroom was old fashioned and bedroom had a huge 1960s sweep around desk, air con not working and a double beds comfortable and older than the pier itself- a total let down and I expect more from Hilton considering the price.

We complained and got a small refund however this place needs lots of refurbishing to bring it up to an acceptable standard.

Room Tip: We had sea facing room but was noisy throughout the night due to constant flow of party revellers wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithChalmers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Judith,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us. The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms which will be carried into 2014.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing