We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
West Sussex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here as we were going to the Brighton Centre (which is just one hotel width away). Got a very good rate by booking on line early and paying up front and was pleasantly surprised by the room which was quite small but nicely appointed and clearly recently refurbished. As mentioned in other reviews, the car park is a bit of a challenge but make sure you try and get on the lower floor as access to the hotel is easier.

One issue I have with all hotels in Brighton is that none of them seem to cater for people visiting the Brighton Centre in terms of food availability as the restaurant closes at 22.00. However, as ther are other restaurants around this is not a huge problem, just an annoyance.

Had a slightly strange experience at Breakfast; presented ourselves at the desk and were greeted by a very surly lady who muttered "there's tables down the far end, you can go and find one". We thought this a bit odd but went as we were told and, of course, there were no tables. However, a waiter found us a table that had just been vacated and cleared it for us. My wife was very happy with this as on the next table, having breakfast, were Artem Chigvintsev and Ian Waite from Strictly Come Dancing!

Just a word of caution if you want to use the spa: it's closed on Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    1,097
    1,036
    668
    480
See reviews for
660
1,425
198
979
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is perfect, good location, near to the touristic attractions, just in front of the sea. Instead of being spensive the hotel is fantastic for everyone who can afford it...
The car parking is just a little bit confusion! You should ask for information before arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neycamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on your recent stay.

The hotel as you say does have a great location, this make it a great base for our guests to explore the local area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the end of June over the last weekend. It ws booked as part of our small Hen party and they did us proud. We all had large and very comfortable rooms with both a queen size and sinlge bed. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent with everything you could possibly want and plenty of it. For us the location was perfect as it was right on the seafront and only a few minutes walk to The Lanes, Pier and Pavillion and to all of the restaurant and clubs we were booked into. The staff were very helpful and plentiful. Very nice pool to although they dont have spin dryer for your swimsuit make sure you squeeze out as much as you can before you leave! Would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay
I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed the service from the team here and also our superb breakfast.

The hotel as you say does have a great location and is a great base to explore the local area as well as all the clubs and bars. I was also pleased to read that you took the time to relax during your stay with us in our leisure facilities.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 5pm and during check-in was informed that there was a “discrepancy” with our room and was asked to wait in the bar area while this was resolved. We were presented with a voucher for any complimentary drink and yet when this was presented we were told this was only for house drinks only. I would expect a room for check-in to be available from 3pm onwards and not make guests who come two hours after this wait a further 45 minutes before giving them access to their room. We booked to stay in a “King Deluxe” room and the condition of the room would have been sub-standard for a Travel Lodge, let alone a deluxe room in a premium brand hotel, which was the reason for choosing this hotel over the many other and cheaper hotels in the area. Shoddy paintwork, a non working clock radio, broken curtain fittings, a window we could not open and close, rusted bath room fittings and shower pole and tiles coming away from the wall in the bath. I have taken photos should you require further evidence of the rooms condition. Add to this, a perverted member of staff during breakfast who was serving the hot food and cooking eggs to order whom along with other women he served thought it was appropriate to not only pass comment about any design or wording on my wife’s top, but continue to stare at her breasts while trying to force a continuation of conversation to perpetuate his stare. Incidentally it was a fairly plain top which was high cut and not anything partially eye catching, not that it would have been acceptable otherwise. Upon a second visit to collect some fruit juice I heard the member of staff taking the attention to another ladies breasts who also seemed to be flustered by his ogling and inappropriate behaviour. Frankly I have stayed in many Hilton and other four and five star hotels around the world and I accept that Brighton seems to be a hot spot for “Stag/Hen” weekends, but this visit has damaged my perception of the Hilton brand significantly and would take some persuading before I would consider staying in a Hilton again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank HardwireTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and had a sea view room with balcony, the room was very comfortable and large, the rest of the hotel was very nice too, the car park could do with some more lighting the wifi signal was a little weak but this did not spoil my visit. Staff were all very pleasant and it was nice in he morning to go for a walk on the beach, the food was good too although the service was a little slow at breakfast as I had to ask for a coffee after waiting 5 minutes

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheOneAndOnlyBigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at our hotel. I was also pleased to read you found our team to be friendly throughout your stay, please accept my apologies for the delay in service during your breakfast, your comments have been shared with our Restaurant Manager.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a strange experience here - the room we were initially given was a disgrace, dirty carpet, stains on the walls, broken fridge, but when we complained vociferously we were give a very decent room on the 5th floor plus free wine and fruit to say sorry. The explanation given was that they were in the process of refurbishment. However the original room should not be let in its current state so the jury's out on this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get an old dirty one and complain loudly if you do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your initial room your comments have been shared with both our Rooms Divisions Manager and Facilities Manager, unfortunately without a room number they will be unable to investigate. However I can confirm the hotel is in the process of refurbishing more of its bedrooms in 2013 & 2014.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Balance between a sea side and city centre hotel.

OK, first off, the car park is tight for space, and a little dark inside. But, it was built for a different age! The front desk are very friendly.

The re-furbed rooms are very nice, especially the ones on the sea front. There's no real air-conditioning in the hotel, and rooms on the inside (most) can get pretty hot. Also, the windows barely open. In the winter, the high ceilings can make the rooms cold.

Breakfast is really good, and Howard does a mean omelette. Or Pancakes.

The gym and pool aren't bad for hotel ones, although the shallow end if a little too shallow. The deep end is nice and "can't stand in it" deep,

There's lots to do nearby though, and once you're parked up, no real reason to need the car locally.

Room Tip: Try to be on the sea front. Failing that, a re-furbed room. If you're hot ask for a fan. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runbhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing