We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced hotel for Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced hotel for Brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Metropole for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Brighton. Whilst it is old fashioned and desperately in need of a revamp of the decor we enjoyed our stay and the price of the room was very favourable for the centre of Brighton.

The hotel is a classic British seaside hotel & you can easily imagine how glamorous it must have been in it's heyday. The rooms are now very tired & in need of a complete overhaul but obviously this would be an incredibly expensive undertaking which they would have to recoup through drastically increasing rates.

Our room was very big, quiet & comfortable which was just what we wanted for our short stay. Having stayed at numerous hotels in Brighton & experiencing horrifically noisy rooms this was a welcome change. Whilst the decor was neither modern nor extravagant you got a sense of grandeur from the high ceilings & sweeping staircases. The bathroom products were very nice indeed & far superior to many chain hotel products.

Breakfast (which was included) was fabulous. There is something about a grand old fashioned dining room full of grannies that makes me smile & takes me back to my childhood holidays. The buffet breakfast was both plentiful & provided lots of choice. We certainly did not leave hungry & the waiting staff were extremely pleasant & helpful.

Whilst we usually choose to stay at ultra trendy boutique hotels we did enjoy our short stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and redecorating a large number of rooms, which will be carried through to 2014. I was pleased to read that you found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us, and you also took the time to enjoy our famous Hilton Breakfast.

Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    1,095
    1,036
    667
    480
See reviews for
660
1,424
198
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

You really can't beat Tesco vouchers! From the moment we arrivied at the Metropole, we experienced wonderful service and very friendly staff. We loved the Art Deco feel to the hotel. This Hilton hotel exceed my expetations on all levels, Our room (427) was large, air conditioned and quiet, the bathroom was fine and very clean. Breakfast was great, although busy. The only problem we experienced was our room was not serviced when we arrivied back at 4:00 after a days sight seeing, a call to reception, and this was dealt with immediatly. We loved this hotel, and it's in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay with us and I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.
Please accept my apologies that your room was not serviced on your return from your day out, however I am pleased that our Reception team were able to have our housekeeping team address this immediately.

Thank you once again for adding your review and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nueziders, Austria
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

stayed in the hotel and enjoyed the location and the service -this is truely a five star. i less enjoyed the pool and gym are in the basement which had a smell and could use some renovation- for a hotel chain like the hilton this seems to me disappointing.on the plus was the breakfast and the mignificant view from the room 8facing the sea)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Stefan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay.
The hotel as you say has a great location which makes it a great base for our guests to explore the local area.

Your comments regarding our pool and gym have been shared with our LivingWell Manager as this is certainly not the service we are striving to deliver.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The wait to check in was so long, as was any visit to reception with queries. often a queue of guests to 1 staff member. the room was small toilet flush was broken as was fridge. steam iron would not work properly nor the replacement. however the staff were courteus for the duration of our stay with the exception of 1 concierge. excellent location, good spa facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice Hotel, great location if staying in Brighton. The rooms need a little updating but other than that this was a very good hotel and would most likely stay here again when visiting Brighton. Choose this hotel if you are looking for good value and a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me & my partner had a fantastic stay in Brighton, the room is overpriced for what it is but the breakfast was delicious (room service) and we had a great sleep. The bathroom was clean and so was the bedroom. It isn't the most modern Hilton we have stayed in but we aren't too fussed on décor, more bothered about cleanliness. The breakfast really was lovely, recommend ordering it your room for breakfast in bed.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAGOS, Nigeria
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Advert via booking.com is misleading. The hotel definitely does not have air conditions as claimed by hilton brighton metrpole online. The staff should know that the welfare of their guest is key and should be treated with great concern. My 9 year old son almost suffocated in the room that we did not sleep for a whole night because of heat. this i will say exploitation some guest that know brighton well checked out the next day but we have to bear the heat in the room and as such we left our window open with sea flies saying hi every night and a big fly flew in for a four stay hotel. this is a big disgrace

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Omotayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBrighton, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mr Omotayo,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on your recent stay.

I am sorry to read that your room was not of the standard you expected and that it did not have air conditioning, not all of our rooms do and the exceptionally hot weather meant some of our rooms did become very hot.

I am sorry if you found the bookings.com website misleading, I have since asked our Reservations Manager to investigate the matter.

Regards
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing