We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided unless refurbished...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“To be avoided unless refurbished...”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Damn I didn't expect that!

I had a really pleasant check-in by a swiss gentleman so I didn't expect to check-in in a hotel that is stocked in the 80's!

Fair enough I didn't pay a 5* deluxe rate but even if the room was large it was the most depressing room I've been too! It's so dated. The color scheme is passed and the equipment more than basic for this level. I don't need fancy room but I stayed in more attractive room in 2* hotel.

I went to their bar that was refurbished lately and when the decor is good service takes ages! It even seems that they don't want to serve you sometimes but when they do it's ok... No I would say average for what you pay...

Otherwise I had breakfast and it was a good moment but because I felt in a Danny Boyle movie...

All together if you can stay away as the Ibis close by looked better than this one!

Room Tip: I assume only the sea view room worth a penny there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhDaCize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read that on this occassion we failed to meet your expectations of us here at the hotel. I can confirm that we are about to start a refurbishment programme of the bedrooms here and hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    1,144
    1,071
    703
    506
See reviews for
697
1,485
206
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel badly needs a revamp. The door key did not work and could not be fixed during our stay so we had to be let in my hotal staff every time we returned to the room. The handle between the bedroom and bathroom was broken and generally the room was in a run down state.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this for my boyfriends birthday, was quite dubious after seeing some of the reviews on here but must say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I booked a standard double with breakfast included. The room was lovely, although I can see where some people could chose to be picky but felt it was unnecessary when you take into account the whole atmosphere of the place. We had dinner in the evening in the restaurant, although pricey the food was fantastic and service excellent. The breakfast was a buffet with everything you could of wanted and more!

Thank you hilton brighton for a lovely birthday experience, would definitely come again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed you stay whilst celebrating your boyfriends birthday, and hope to see you again next year.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break in Brighton at the Hilton Metrolpole. Despit the rain Brighton never failed to entertain us with plenty of bars and shopping. Unfortunatly the Hotel was not quite of the standard I was hoping for. After paying the £18 per night car park fee, there is no direct access in to the hotel from the car park, leaving you dragging your suitcases around the streets. Once in the hotel, the reception staff were very polite and helpful. The room itself (615) a seaview delux plus, could only be described as average. It had plenty of room, and was nice and clean, but just lacked any sense of style or luxery, and apart from the veiw, could easily be compared to a travel lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed there few times in the past recent years but this time would be the last. There is no free car park, you have to pay for the WiFi (most , even cheap ones do offer free WiFi) . We stayed there this week end which was pretty windy outside and the room was cold due to draft coming through the window despite thick curtains. I looked for a spare blanket but unfortunately there was not any! The heating system did not work , button for temperature was broken so no chance to get warm!, There was no matt in the bathroom (very slippery tiled floor!!) people were slamming their doors, to make sure it closed properly, that's explain the very loud noise in the corridor, not very nice when it happens in the middle of the night. We stayed in few different Hilton but never had such a bad experience . The ladies changing room was not very clean either, lots of hair on the floor, no shampoo, no body wash (was empty).
The good points are:
Nice staff at the front desk, the swimming pool. impressive building, very comfortable beds, that would be all.
The hotel would need re -decorating, its a little bit tired.

Room Tip: Nice wet facilities, sauna, steam room , jacuzzi, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sup71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Friendliness and professionalism of staff exceptional. Always made to feel welcome and looked after. Good recreational facilities, bar food on the expensive side, however good value restaurant menu. Location perfect however sea view rooms can be noisy during stormy weather!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TimeTravellingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope if we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel the weather will be better for you.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when I was in Brighton for an event. I was travelling alone and booked a single room on a hotel booking site. I've stayed in Hilton's before and generally find them to be very good, though they are a more expensive chain option.

The hotel is really impressive from the outside and the communal areas are lovely. The dining room where you have breakfast is beautiful the reception area is great, and there are wide sweeping stair cases and hallways. The rooms themselves are possibly a little tired. I don't know if larger rooms were a little better but my room, while clean, and servicable was a bit worn at the edges. The bath was also really small and I couldn't properly lie back in it. The hotel was also quite hot and there was no way of altering the temperature of the room.

That said, I had a really good night's sleep and breakfast was great, so I can't complain about the hotel. I think it just needs a bit of a spruce up and the price is a little higher and I am not sure what you get that wouldn't get in a chain like a premier inn.

One point about my room is that I had a kettle and tea and coffee, but no cup only a glass. I presume this was an oversight though!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RandomSnackfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing