We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed one night whilst in Brighton for a Concert. We had booked 2 rooms. On arrival at 14:00, one room was ready but the other was not. Not too much of a problem as we put everything in one room and went out. The hotel is superbly situated, right on the sea front and just a short walk to the city centre. The parking is close by and whilst tricky to find, sufficed, although there are not a lot of spaces and I would imagine if you were late arriving or had a large car you may struggle. On returning at 16:00, the other room was still ot ready as there was a problem with the fridge. Our friends decided they did not need the fridge, so would just take the room. Unfortunately, the problem with the fridge was that it had flooded the floor which was soaking wet, and the kettle did not work. They went back to reception, who rectifed the problem and re assigned them to another room on the 6th floor, which was OK, but quite tired and needed a re vamp. Our 2nd floor room was fine, clean, quiet and recently decorated, we had no hot water, which was apparently due to an issue with water supply to the hotel and they had to trun the boiler of!!! Which was inconvienient, but not the end of the world....Breakfast was included and was well presented and served. Overall theis hotel has enormous potential, and we did not really have too much of a problem, but it is quite tired and could do with a refurbishment. We found the staff very helpful and trying very hard, but there were a lot of people complaining. We were given complimenatary car parking due to the room issue which was appreciated. All in all, this hotel could do better, we regularly stay at the Hilton group and this falls far short of their usual standard.That said the staff were very helpful, but I felt they were fighting a losing battle. There are probably better places to stay in Brighton, you may be lucky here....but then you might not!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummaFish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel, unfortunately, we did experience a fault with our boiler system during the time of your visit and although this matter has now been resolved, I do apologise for any discomfort you experienced as a result.

I am sorry that your visit was marred in this manner but thank you for your very positive feedback in terms of the staff.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,502 - 2,508 of 4,418 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were visiting Brighton to see Rod Stewart perform at the Amex Stadium and decided to stay over at the last minute. All our usual hotels of choice were full so we decided to push the boat out a little and stay at a Hilton.we booked a standard double room with breakfast and arrived expecting a fairly special stay, partly from the Hilton reputation and partly from the cost! The hotel is in a fab position - seafront, close to The Lanes and main shopping area. The reception is imposing, spacious, huge chandeliers, lots of marble. Niggle number one. Three o'clock check-in, lots of people waiting to check in and only 2 people working the desk. One of these was on the phone all the time trying to arrange something for a client, leaving one person to book in clients. We were fairly laid back about it (we are English, we queue!!) but the very irritated (and irritating!) American gent behind us was very vocal about what his expectations were! Niggle number two. This hotel was clearly built before the invention of the lift and added later. Sadly, they were obviously not expected to catch on so only the tiny ones were fitted. They are so cramped that a hand rail has been removed and duck tape stuck over the holes! They are also run down and scruffy. Our room was ok. Clean and compact, very compact. Niggle number three. The windows are huge. Floor to ceiling, two of them. Quite a feature. Sadly they are fixed so they open only 6". This is obviously a H&S requirement but, on the hottest day of the year so far, one tiny strip of ventilation doesn't cut it. Also, the windows haven't been cleaned in months, maybe longer! There is air conditioning -it looks like an air-con control panel, it allows you to pretend to lower the temperature and everything! It just doesn't switch on. At all. Anyway, superb performance by Mr Stewart. Absolutely superb. Returning to the hotel we decided on a nightcap in the comfortable lounge and a catch up on the football results. Niggle number four. £12 for a gin and tonic and a pint of beer is excessive! We are used to paying hotel prices in this country but, really?? And so to bed and, you guessed it, niggle number five. The bed appeared to have no mattress! Or a headboard! On checking, there is a mattress but it is so hard it was as giving as a plank of wood!! The cheap mattress topper does not help at all. The Premier Inn promise of a good nights sleep guaranteed or we will refund you would not work for Hilton at all as they would be paying out constantly!! Finally, niggle number six. The bathroom is nice. Modern, clean, small but nice. Why then can Housekeeping not hang the shower curtain properly? There is a pole supporting the shower rail that requires the curtain to be half one side and half the other side or you will flood the bathroom completely. I hung it properly in about two minutes but why did I have to? On the plus side, the breakfast is very good. The pathetic array of tea and coffee making supplies in the room that we used up in one go were replenished quickly on request. This hotel has much potential and clearly relies on the Hilton name. The reality is it is tired, quite grubby in places (those chandeliers could do with a wash!) and a bit battered (the lifts!!) for the price, we expected better. Nothing terrible but could do so much better!!

Room Tip: Can't really recommend any tips but we were in 325 which was very quiet (small and stuffy though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I would like to offer my apologise for the delayed service you received upon your check in, this certainly is not the standards we are striving to achieve.

I was also sorry to read your feedback in respect of the bed. Mattress support is a very individual requirement, and we completed a mattress renewal programme to the Hilton Serta Mattress which included a new mattress topper which should provide an excellent and relaxing night’s sleep, this will certainly be reviewed with my Rooms Divisions Manager.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location of the hotel is spot on. Unfortunately, the hotel shows its age (slow and cramped lift, wear and tear scratches in rooms and common area, etc). Also WiFi is free only for Hilton member above a certain status. I expected better from a chain hotel such as Hilton. Check in was also very slow. There were a lot of people checking in, but still took 15 min to get the keys. On the good side, room service was fast, and breakfast has a lot of choice. Overall, it is a pass grade, but could do better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Takeshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

In regards to the Internet not being complimentary, unfortunately the agreement is a national one for Hilton Hotels set by Head Office and not at hotel level. However we do offer complimentary WIFI in both our Waterhouse bar & terrace and lobby area, we also have an Internet station with PC’s which is complimentary for our guests to use.

Please accept my apologise for the delayed service you received upon your check in, your comments have been shared with our Reception Manger to review with in her team.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for a conference in June. It was better than I expected from the reviews.
However having travelled extensively in the last few years I was disappointed that they charge for wifi in your room and the fridge was empty...am currently in Riga and wifi is free and the fridge well stocked and reasonably priced.
My room was fine and the breakfast pleasant although when the main room is full they take you to another room which is not so pleasant.
The room howled when it was windy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

We offer complimentary wifi in all our public areas but wifi is charged in the rooms as part of a nationwide contract. We have also last year removed the mini bar service from the bedrooms but have left fridges in for guest use.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Oh dear.Stayed one night for a conference & got a 'special' rate of £100 inc breakfast.Room small but bed v comfortable & for once the room temperature was just right but radio not working,main light not working & bathroom fittings rusty.
Delicious muesli at breakfast but the rest average.
I think this mainly does big corporate stuff but it's pretty average & not good value

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read of the disappointment and inconvenience that you encountered, unfortunately without your room number our Facilities team are unable to investigate further.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We like to go to Brighton. I am very disappointed with my experience. We went for a nice break but it seems Hilton staff does not consider customer’s convenience or try to make their stay comfortable. Even after mentioning in the morning not to give us a room near the area where the generators are, but still was given next to these noise machines.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Munish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I would also like to thank you for completing our SALT survey and also contacting our Hilton Guest Assistance team, regarding your recent stay with us.

Please accept my unreserved apologies that my team did not demonstrate the service levels which we are normally so proud of. However I do understand that my Director of Operations has contacted you directly via your Guest Assistance File.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've stayed at a few Hiltons in my time and this one really let the group down. Overly hot room. Unwelcoming check in staff. Unhelpful reception staff when I complained about the room. TV didn't work properly. Was not offered an alternative room, but offered free drink or free parking on checking out - neither of which I required. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the service you received has been noted and shared with our management team. I regret we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and I hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £87 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colorful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing