We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off venue and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Rip-off venue and overpriced”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to a large event last night (22nd june) service was SO SLOW it was a joke and the variations in round prices was appalling ....
Sound system was so bad at least half the room couldn't hear a thing ...
For a large venue charging the prices they do they really should get their act together... Had been considering it for a future event .. now well off the list ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I was sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations. I would like to apologise, that you felt my team did not demonstrate the service levels which we are normally so proud of.

Your feedback has been discussed with the relevant members of my team to ensure the best service levels are once again evident.

Regard
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    1,113
    1,043
    675
    490
See reviews for
666
1,440
201
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were part of a very large Globustours group and thus had no chance to obtain a beach view room. The room we had was large and the air conditioner was working well. The included breakfast was very good and highly satisfactory. Convenient location and comfortable room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RajanJamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and you took the time to enjoy our famous Hilton Breakfast.

The hotel as you say does have a great location and makes it a great base to explore the local area.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Attended a 2 day conference recently, check in was great, room was slightly cramped and looked onto a brick wall. Bathroom was clean and shower could have been slightly stronger.

The room was hot hot hot, no minibar or water to drink to cool down. Fan (air con?) in room only went to 18 degrees

All in all a great stay and would consider visiting Brighton for a mini break with the family

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scotfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also appreciate your comments regarding the room being too hot. I have passed this to our Rooms Division Manager.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Look on the Hilton website - lots of good deals and 24 hour parking for a flat charge so ideal for a weekend overnighter & walk before breakfast. Ask for front view with full windows. Peaceful and so close to the sea front and shops. Book breakfast (included if you a regular Hilton visitor)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couplefromWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited Brighton for a 3 day break in June, pre booked in April. Asking for sea view. On arrival room was ready and we were disappointed with cig burns in the carpet. (this dates the carpet/room). The windows were open, not a problem at 3pm (weather fantastic).We ventured out, only short walk to most amenities including the pier area and the bars on the beach walk. We had travelled from Warrington that day so by 11pm bed was calling. The windows were inaccessible to close, vanity unit stretched the length of the room. Went to bed the road noise was unbearable by 2am this had decreased enough. Mentioned it to reception after a good breakfast and was told this would be rectified. We went out all day returning at 7pm to freshen up for a stroll and find a restaurant. The shower was cold the windows still open. I climbed onto the units, the only way to close the windows ensuring the room was ok on our return. The room was a complete let down and have stopped in better Premier inns Rather than PREMIER NAME ONLY. a rip off for the money spent. We were determined not to let this spoil our trip to Brighton. It didn't but the Hilton is out on future visits. Many people were complaining at the desk the morning of departure, not worth the hassle bye bye Hilton

Room Tip: check room before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes.
I can confirm that our bedroom refurbishment programme will be starting in the summer and will continue in to 2015 this will see some of our older rooms being added to the programme.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is taken very seriosuly, and therefore the Director of Operations, Damian Meadows, would very much welcome the chance to discuss your stay with you , please could you email him a contact number and a suitable date and time for him to get in contact with you.

damian.meadows@hilton.com

Regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I were going to see Rod Stewart in concert in Brighton so thought we would push the boat out and stay in a reputable hotel for 3 nights so decided on the Hilton Metropole 4* feeling sure we wouldn't be disappointed how wrong could we be! On arrival we parked our car in the hotel car park for £20 per night it was very dark and scary, not very well lit and it also smelled of urine. At check in we must have waited for at least 15 minutes, only one member of staff was checking in although she was very nice and welcoming. We had to struggle with our luggage as we were not offered any help, on arriving at our room nothing could have prepared us for the shock, we actually thought we were in the wrong hotel!!! The room was pokey with the double bed pushed up against the wall, only one way out over the person lying next to you! The room was filthy, massive stains on the carpets, piles of dust/dirt in the corners of the floor,water stains on the ceiling, so called air conditioning vents that did not work were held up with cellotape, windows filthy inside & out, the door looked like a crow bar had been used to open it and to top it off black mould in the bathroom area and no hot water,we instantly tried to ring reception no one answered so after gathering our luggage together went back to reception to make our first complaint of many. To cut a long story short we were given another room that was slightly better but at £175 a night it was no better than a Travelodge!
The bar staff was very rude, my wife asked for a coffee and was told she couldn't have one as the machine was in chemicals, we were having a drink with friends and at the end of night we were ordered to get out of the bar and finish our drinks in the foyer. At night the hotel entrance is locked and night porters are on duty, they look like gangsters! we were not asked politely but ordered to show our room card to be allowed access back into the hotel. We spent 3 days complaining about different things but weren't the only ones, every time we went in or out of the hotel someone was complaining and on the morning of our check out there was a queue of guest waiting to see the manager to complain, the only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast. We will never ever think about staying there again, the whole hotel needs a good overhaul, it actually ruined our time away! Have got the photos to back up my complaints !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on your visit, your comments on the standard and cleanliness of the suite have been shared with both my Director of Operations and our Rooms Divisions Manager to address with his team.

Please accept my apologies for any disappointment you had during your recent stay.

My Director of Operations Damian Meadows would very much welcome the chance to discuss your stays, please could you email him a contact number and a suitable date and time for him to get in contact with you.

damian.meadows@hilton.com

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's was great for what it was a weekend getaway with the family and kids. And it's perfectly located right across from the seaside. And around the corner from malls and local shops and stalls. I wish the weather was better when we went but the good thing about it staying in the hotel with amazing service from everyone. Felt like home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay,as you say the hotel does have a good location and all the local sights and amenities are in walking distance from the hotel.

I look forward to you returning soon.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing