We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton’s best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brighton’s best kept secret”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at the Brighton Metroploe as the hotel I was staying at the night before was fully booked. One thing I have noticed in previous reviews is that no one has said what a fantastic swimming pool they have in the basement. The receptionist told me when I checked out that she thought it was the best pool in Brighton.

Unfortunately the service in the bar was poor and the selection for a bar menu was very limited. I had to eat in the bar as the restaurant was closed owing it to being on a Sunday.

The hotel has a great location on the front, but I only gave the location as one star because I do not like Brighton.

If I had to stay in Brighton again I would defiantly pick the Hilton Metropole, despite my earlier gripes

Room Tip: A deluxe sea view room is defiantly worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your return stay with us. Your comments regarding your dining experience in the Waterhouse, has been shared with my Bar’s Manager to address within his team.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    1,144
    1,072
    703
    507
See reviews for
697
1,487
206
1,044
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was expecting much more from the Hilton near a beach. what I did not expect was how run-down it was. Upon arrival the staff was not very friendly and seemed a bit unorganized. They had assumed that my sister and I were domestic partners because we had booked a room together, so to our surprise we found a queen bed for one. But it got worse as the furniture was completely outdated by 25 years, carpet was stained, fingerprints on headboard and desk chair tattered. The second room was no better except we walked in when the porter separating the beds to make two twin beds! The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious, which is a plus if you have a lot of luggage.

The dinner buffet was excellent but watch out for hidden fees! This hotel needs a complete over hall and shame on the Hilton for allowing it to continue being so outdated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel itself. The hotel will be starting another phase of its bedroom renovations which will be carried through to 2015, which will see some on our older bedrooms added to the programme.

Your comments on the standard of cleanliness have been shared with my Rooms Divisions Manager and his Housekeeping team.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to a large event last night (22nd june) service was SO SLOW it was a joke and the variations in round prices was appalling ....
Sound system was so bad at least half the room couldn't hear a thing ...
For a large venue charging the prices they do they really should get their act together... Had been considering it for a future event .. now well off the list ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I was sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations. I would like to apologise, that you felt my team did not demonstrate the service levels which we are normally so proud of.

Your feedback has been discussed with the relevant members of my team to ensure the best service levels are once again evident.

Regard
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were part of a very large Globustours group and thus had no chance to obtain a beach view room. The room we had was large and the air conditioner was working well. The included breakfast was very good and highly satisfactory. Convenient location and comfortable room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RajanJamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and you took the time to enjoy our famous Hilton Breakfast.

The hotel as you say does have a great location and makes it a great base to explore the local area.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Attended a 2 day conference recently, check in was great, room was slightly cramped and looked onto a brick wall. Bathroom was clean and shower could have been slightly stronger.

The room was hot hot hot, no minibar or water to drink to cool down. Fan (air con?) in room only went to 18 degrees

All in all a great stay and would consider visiting Brighton for a mini break with the family

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scotfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also appreciate your comments regarding the room being too hot. I have passed this to our Rooms Division Manager.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Look on the Hilton website - lots of good deals and 24 hour parking for a flat charge so ideal for a weekend overnighter & walk before breakfast. Ask for front view with full windows. Peaceful and so close to the sea front and shops. Book breakfast (included if you a regular Hilton visitor)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited Brighton for a 3 day break in June, pre booked in April. Asking for sea view. On arrival room was ready and we were disappointed with cig burns in the carpet. (this dates the carpet/room). The windows were open, not a problem at 3pm (weather fantastic).We ventured out, only short walk to most amenities including the pier area and the bars on the beach walk. We had travelled from Warrington that day so by 11pm bed was calling. The windows were inaccessible to close, vanity unit stretched the length of the room. Went to bed the road noise was unbearable by 2am this had decreased enough. Mentioned it to reception after a good breakfast and was told this would be rectified. We went out all day returning at 7pm to freshen up for a stroll and find a restaurant. The shower was cold the windows still open. I climbed onto the units, the only way to close the windows ensuring the room was ok on our return. The room was a complete let down and have stopped in better Premier inns Rather than PREMIER NAME ONLY. a rip off for the money spent. We were determined not to let this spoil our trip to Brighton. It didn't but the Hilton is out on future visits. Many people were complaining at the desk the morning of departure, not worth the hassle bye bye Hilton

Room Tip: check room before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMgrAlisonSimmons, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes.
I can confirm that our bedroom refurbishment programme will be starting in the summer and will continue in to 2015 this will see some of our older rooms being added to the programme.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is taken very seriosuly, and therefore the Director of Operations, Damian Meadows, would very much welcome the chance to discuss your stay with you , please could you email him a contact number and a suitable date and time for him to get in contact with you.

damian.meadows@hilton.com

Regards

Weekend Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing