We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor room, no view, no wifi, overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stay in lots of hotels. This is one I will never go back to.

The room was small and tired with furniture that looked like junk shop stuff. The view was straight out onto other rooms. Room service arrived fairly quickly and was very average. There was a long queue for breakfast, to be "greeted" by an officious lady who mustered a group of us to be marched through to another room to eat. They wanted extra money to use their wifi, for a room that cost £160 per night. I had to queue for about 10 minutes to get my case from left luggage.
I see other people have had mixed experiences here. For me this was the worst hotel I've stayed at for the money - it felt like a £60 - £70 hotel. It feels like it needs a lot of money spending on it, and an injection of service culture.

Room Tip: Have a look at it before you book. I would have walked away if I hadn't paid in advance.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningManGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel itself.

In regards to the Internet not being complimentary, unfortunately the agreement is a national one for Hilton Hotels set by Head Office and not at hotel level, however we do offer complimentary WIFI to our guests to use in our Waterhouse bar & terrace and lobby area, we also have a Internet station with PC’s which is complimentary for our guests to use.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,374)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Brighton Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,440 - 2,446 of 4,374 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely friendly staff. Really nice comfortable rooms.

The hotel is in a really good location. It was lovely just sitting people watching on the terrace of the bar :-) the restaurants we're really nice and a great choice available for breakfast.

Will hopefully be returning next year x

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lilyg1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Hotel is superb. Lovely coastal views from the balcony. Service with a smile. Good quality food from a selective menu. Onsite facilities, spa and hot tub are excellent for relaxing after a hard days work. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Do not hesitate if you are thinking of staying in Brighton The Hilton is the hotel to stay at. From the moment you arrive you won't be disappointed - right on the seafront and close to all amenities. The carpark is a bit pricey but that was our only complaint. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am pleased to see yu enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I booked to stay here after booking into another hotel first at Brighton and not liking that hotel.
I looked on Tripadvisor for an alternative and was very confused about some of the reviews for this hotel so I decided to go to the Hilton to take a look at the hotel before booking.
We were shown to a room by concierge which was really nice and we then booked to stay.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the staff were all extremely polite, concierge was both polite and helpful.
Would I stay here again..........most definitely !!!!!

Room Tip: We booked a refurbished room so cant comment on other rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mogsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and l hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at the Brighton Metroploe as the hotel I was staying at the night before was fully booked. One thing I have noticed in previous reviews is that no one has said what a fantastic swimming pool they have in the basement. The receptionist told me when I checked out that she thought it was the best pool in Brighton.

Unfortunately the service in the bar was poor and the selection for a bar menu was very limited. I had to eat in the bar as the restaurant was closed owing it to being on a Sunday.

The hotel has a great location on the front, but I only gave the location as one star because I do not like Brighton.

If I had to stay in Brighton again I would defiantly pick the Hilton Metropole, despite my earlier gripes

Room Tip: A deluxe sea view room is defiantly worth the extra expense.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your return stay with us. Your comments regarding your dining experience in the Waterhouse, has been shared with my Bar’s Manager to address within his team.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was expecting much more from the Hilton near a beach. what I did not expect was how run-down it was. Upon arrival the staff was not very friendly and seemed a bit unorganized. They had assumed that my sister and I were domestic partners because we had booked a room together, so to our surprise we found a queen bed for one. But it got worse as the furniture was completely outdated by 25 years, carpet was stained, fingerprints on headboard and desk chair tattered. The second room was no better except we walked in when the porter separating the beds to make two twin beds! The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious, which is a plus if you have a lot of luggage.

The dinner buffet was excellent but watch out for hidden fees! This hotel needs a complete over hall and shame on the Hilton for allowing it to continue being so outdated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel itself. The hotel will be starting another phase of its bedroom renovations which will be carried through to 2015, which will see some on our older bedrooms added to the programme.

Your comments on the standard of cleanliness have been shared with my Rooms Divisions Manager and his Housekeeping team.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing