We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright in brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location across the beach with sea view rooms if you book. Room is spacious and clean, the staff are helpful and friendly. We booked for the weekend with our points and did not opt for breakfast in hotel. A five min walk from the hotel is costa to get your tea, coffee and muffins. Do a takeaway and cross over to the beach and have it there ...makes it more interesting. Brighton town is packed with many bars and restaurants to choose from. The royal pavilion is worth a visit. But a great day trip is to take the bus 13x and head to beachy head and see the white cliffs with its awesome sea and cliff views. Take note this bus frequency is hourly and the bus stop is a 10 min walk from the hotel to the bus stand. Great weekend getaway from London by train in just an hour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and some of the many wonderfull attractions we have here in Brighton.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,501 - 2,507 of 4,481 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff were courteous and helpful and location excellent for beach, pier, minature railway and shops. Our room was spacious and comfortable with air conditioning and a balcony with sea view. The selection for breakfast was amazing which more than catered for all15 of our family's extensive taste. At breakfast Chef and Ron our waiter were very helpful. The decor and view from the dining room was beautiful. The indoor pool enabled our children and grandchildren to spend time relaxing together. Facilities for parking were excellent with easy access to the hotel reception.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted you and family enjoyed your stay whilst celebrating such a special occasion with us.
It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable, and your kind comments have been shared with both Bill & Ron.

As you say the hotel is in a very good location, and makes it a great base to explore the local area and all the attractions Brighton has to offer.

I hope to see you return soon.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There are many fantastic things about this hotel : location, space, facilities, super staircases, views, breakfast and all the staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed in 211 which was a suite...this meant we had a bathroom, large with bath and shower...a massive bedroom with a balcony you could sit out on and a separate lounge with a second smaller balcony. Some of the reviews we read were very critical of the hotel and we could see that possibly some updating needs doing but for overall luxury and grandness it is a very good hotel.
Car park isn't too hard to find, if the hotel is coming up on your right turn right just before.....getting from the car park to the hotel a little harder and not signposted well, ask someone if you can!
Can't finish without mentioning the Cove salon in the hotel - fabulous place and a big thanks to Chyrese who was incredibly professional and a great hair stylist!

Room Tip: Sea views and/or balconies are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbaker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

As you say the hotel is in an ideal location, and makes it a great base to explore all the attractions Brighton has to offer.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found all of our team members helpful & friendly.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Small old room, very hot, overpriced, Wifi should be included in full price. Not very welcoming reception staff. Nice staff when I checked out though. If I knew I would have spent half of the price for the same quality room, what a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read of your disappointment, I have shared your feedback with my reception Manager and I am sorry that you were given an unacceptable impression upon your check in, it will not recur.

In regards to the Internet not being complimentary, unfortunately the agreement is a national one for Hilton Hotels set by Head Office and not at hotel level, however we do offer complimentary WIFI code to our guest to use in our Waterhouse bar & terrace and lobby area, we also have a Internet station with PC’s which is complimentary for our guests to use.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A great location, easy to reach many sights and things to do in Brighton.

No one was able to help me with my luggage out of the car and wasn't easy to find car park.

Rooms were standard and very clean. Bathrooms were huge.

Breakfast wasn't great.

Amazing view of Brighton beach must request high sea facing room.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TourTravellerDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. I would like to apologies that you were not offered assistance with your luggage on your arrival, your comments have been shared with our Reception Manager to review within her team.

I am also sorry to read that the Hilton Breakfast did not meet your expectations, as we regularly receive very positive comments from our guests regarding this.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spacious but grimy and lacking in style, with very poorly designed and equipped bathroom, windows jammed open, no bidet, a pad but no pen/pencil, .....just not the ticket. This is not what we expected from a mid-high cost 4 star hotel and it fell far short of international standards. The 'feel' was of a mid level business/conference hotel with no sense of luxury or comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us. Due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes.

Your comments regarding the lack of amenities in your room have also been shared with our Rooms Divisions Manager to address within his team.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The exterior and reception area are very grand and becoming and you are lulled into a false sense of security because it is a very different picture in the rooms.

To say they were tired is an understatement - the room was probably exhausted back in the 90s!

It was also terribly warm. The room service man though was very helpful and brought us free bottles of cold water and a fan but it was still very unpleasant.

Breakfast was good and the location was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S-M2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel itself. The hotel will be starting another phase of bedroom renovations which will be carried through to 2015 this will see some of our older bedrooms being added to the programme.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing