We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Appalling for the price”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When you walk into this hotel you think wow clean and tidy well presented staff, don't be fooled the best thing you could do here is have a drink in the bar and leave, whatever you do don't stay for the night the rooms are dreadful, where do I start.
1. No air Con
2. Windows only open a couple of inches so you cant even get some fresh air in.
3. Bathrooms very dated and tired, The bath taps were all but ceased solid and when you did manage to turn them on you struggled to turn them off again.
4. The fridge in the room is obviously for show.
5. The bed was average.
6. Car parking seriously over priced.
Not too sure how they can charge £130.00 per night room only for this, how much do you have to pay Hilton to get decent accommodation at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations on your recent visit on so many levels. if you would be kind enough to provide me with a contact number at damian.meadows@hilton.com l would welcome the chance to discuss your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    1,144
    1,071
    703
    506
See reviews for
697
1,485
206
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have never been so hot, the rooms are so stuffy, there is no air con, we had a little electric fan that was very noisy. We were only staying for one night and contemplated leaving and going back home but thought that when night falls it would get cooler so we stayed....it didn't get cooler, it was ridiculous. It might have been OK if we could have opened the window more than 2 inch. We were on the 6th floor, there was netting covering the roof area to stop the birds from getting in however the birds were getting stuck on it and there was a number of dead birds that were just hanging in the sun waiting to rot before they dropped from the net which was a very unpleasant view and I found this quite upsetting. The hotel was full, they were not able to move us to another room if we ever decide to go back to Brighton we will not be staying there again, we will make sure that we stay in a hotel with air con.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view room to be able to get some air into the room however it will be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations and would welcome the chance to discuss this with you if you would provide me with a contact number to do so at damian.meadows@hilton.com.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I had a superb mid-week 2 night stay at the Hilton Brighton Metropole. A delightful building, inside and out, built some 125 years ago, still has the charm of days gone bye. A grand feeling of spaciousness. Good sea front location with adequate underground parking. Breakfast excellent with a good choice of food. We had a snack in the Waterhouse Bar one evening, found it advisable to order your food at the bar, waiting to get served can take some time if they are busy. We took advantage of the fitness and swimming pool facilities. They were clean and well managed. Taken as a whole, a wonderful 2 nights stay. Recommend a room facing the sea with a balcony, if available. Well done to the Manager and his team. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews like yours and l have passed your comments onto the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

unfortunately like many of the old British grand beach front hotels it's a little tired and needs a lick of paint. Staff were friendly and the room are standard hilton fare but nice enough. If your looking for a base in Brighton for a few days then it probably won't thrill you, but nor will it likely disapoint. I'd score it a three were it not for the lack of free wi-fi and no hotel should score higher when they lack such a basic for free. The sooner Hilton change their policy the better & that its free in the lobby just doesnt count

Room Tip: be a hilton honours member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

Hilton are currently looking at the wifi policy and it is free in all public areas as you stated l will pass your comments on.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel was very nice, good location & lovely staff, The room was nice, was offered an sea view for and extra £50. The bathroom was falling apart the shower rail was held together with a screw. you had to hold the shower head as the holder was broken. The bath taps was falling away from the wall. The bed was 2 singles bed put together with a king size duvet over the top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to read that in general you enjoy your staff and that you found the staff polite and helpfull, l have passed your comments on to our facilities team to address with regards to the issues you had in your bathroom and l apologize for this.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A little tired. I am a Gold Hhonours holder, booked a two night very expensive sea view room with balcony and appeared to get a room with the smallest possible balcony. No mention of an upgraded room, but being a gold holder I would have thought they would have allocated a better room. You could sit out on some of the others. The room was vast, had a fridge that didn't work (forgot to tell them). Bed was a long way from the TV, The carpet was very soiled in areas, the bathroom was also very tired, had to open the windows for ventilation. Air conditioning worked very well. Had to ask for water on the 2nd day, they had run out on on of the hottest days of the year by all accounts. Didn't feel clean after staying there for two days. A la Carte meal was fine, bar was fine. Overall quite disappointed.

Room Tip: They are doing building work opposite at the moment, wasn't intrusive though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations on this occassion and have passed your comments onto my housekeeping team to address. Unfortunatley some of our balcony's do vary in size and again have spoken to my Reception manager on how we allocate rooms for our Gold members.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Massive room!! Great breakfast in morning with area for kiddies to go up and get food. Very nice pool area with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. No free Internet and had to pay for parking. Great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian M, Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our kiddies corner at the breakfast buffet. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing