We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton by name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on Tuesday the 19th august 2014. Room 554.
This hotel is a Hilton by name and not by the usual standards of the chain. Although the hotel has been grand in the past it requires urgent refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renno2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my apologies, we do take all guest feedback extremely seriously and I very much regret your disappointment on this occasion.

Our bedroom refurbishment programme will be continued in to 2015, which will see some of our older rooms being added.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,429 - 2,435 of 4,474 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Was looking forward to and overnight stay at the Hilton as always associated name as being excellent.
I was very disappointed with my double sea view room as to even to be able to see out the window i had to get onto built in desk/ unit to be further disappointed by the windows being filthy.
The room was nothing like any of the photographs i saw of the rooms on the internet. Very small, air con that was useless, stained carpet and a bathroom that was small with what seemed a shower cubicle that had a broken door and an old shower curtain in its place. Tiles and grouting mouldy and just basically not what i expected for a 4 star hotel.
Have registered my complaints via email, if i had been staying longer would have asked for a change in room.
On a plus note the breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review,

I was sorry to read of the disappointment and inconvenience that you encountered, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to use some accumulated HH points. Recently became a Gold HH member so on arrival was offered free breakfasts for myself, wife and two children.

Restaurant food of a high standard and cater for children - particularly reconnect the buffet at just £15 for two courses.

Cannot fault the hotel really other than bathroom a little dated. Great location, wonderful staff and a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank littledoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you say the hotel is ideally situated.
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests find our team members helpful & friendly throughout their stay.

We look forward to you returning soon.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there with with my wife, 5 year old and 1month old.
The room was fantastic. Very spacious. The staff were brilliant and polite.
My only prob was not enough bins, and when I asked how much it was to get breakfast delivered to room, I wad told it was free only to be charged £6 . I would have gave that as a tip anyway if it was free, and the WiFi in rooms is too expensive. That should be complementary by now.
That said, I loved it there and would stay again. Great customer friendly staff, very alert and punctual. Very clean and a great unrivalled spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank deanylkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found all of our team members helpful & friendly. I have shared your comments regarding the bins with my Rooms Divisions Manager to review

We look forward to you returning soon.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit this year to the Hilton in Brighton.

We arrived at the hotel early and though our room wasn't ready staff were more than happy to take our bags whilst we looked around the hotel and local shops.
As this was out anniversary, the Hilton made it extra special with a bottle of champagne and chocolates!

In short....we love this hotel, it looks stunning and the sea view rooms are amazing!

My only gripe would be the hotel bar prices. 2 drinks came to £14! Sadly if they were cheaper we would of spent more in the bar, however we ended going to a nearby bar where drinks were a lot cheaper. Other than that the staff were amazing and we will definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, whilst celebrating such a special occasion with us.

It is always a pleasure to read you found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your stay, I am looking forward to you both returning soon.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We now stay at the metropole every year having tried many of the other hotels. Being one of only 2 hotels that boasts a Swimming pool is a distinct advantage. A beautiful hotel with some lovely features.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel, and you took the time to relax and enjoy our leisure faculties.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now - once for my hen party in a group of 10 and once with my husband for our anniversary celebrations. Before you are scared off by the hen party reference, please may I make it clear that this was not a negative at all. The hotel is big enough to accommodate all groups without anyone being adversely affected. This hotel caters for both sorts of occasions perfectly. We were welcomed warmly by the reception staff and check in was vey quick and efficient. Our room was lovely - a little on the small side but spotlessly clean and with everything you needed. Car parking is available just behind the hotel (access via Cannon Place) and at £20 a day, very reasonable and convenient compared to the town centre hotels. The swimming pool facilities are great and the pool is long enough for those who like a proper swim for fitness. Breakfast is very good - the dining room is overlooking the sea and the spread of food will cater for all tastes. Service was quick despite a small queue to enter the dining room.
On this occasion, our first wedding anniversary, we felt very well looked after - a celebration tray of champagne, chocolate strawberries and fruit was in our room on arrival and after a quick chat with the wonderful dining room "greeter" Mark Davies (I think), we were surprised with a glass of champagne. This made us feel really valued by the hotel and went a long way towards us having a great celebration.
I cannot fault this hotel and would gladly recommend it to anyone. The location, being on the sea front and a short stroll into town, is a real advantage.
Thank you Hilton Metropole - we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetgem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst celebrating such a special occasion. It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable, your comments have been shared with Mark and his team.

I look forward to you returning in the near future.

Regards
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Brighton seafront, Hilton Brighton Metropole perfectly captures the character of this much-loved city while retaining Victorian elegance and charm. From our stylish dining venues to the modern health club facilities, we provide the perfect base from which to explore Brighton's culture and diversity. Even with contemporary touches throughout the hotel, the heritage and character of over 125 years of history shines brightly through. Just an hour from London, our hotel is within walking distance of all that Brighton has to offer. Within minutes you could be strolling down the historic, winding alleyways of The Lanes, discovering a myriad of colourful boutiques, cafes or bars. The iconic Brighton Pavilion, famous pebbly beach, Brighton Pier, Sealife Centre and varied water sports are all close by, while the fabulous new British Airways i360 is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing