We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Well, its a Hilton but this hotel has no class.

First thing is the rooms are tiny.

I booked a seaview double room, described as having a sofa bed as well as double bed.
Meaning that i would have some space, there was no sofa bed, therefore the room was frankly absurdly small for the price.

When i explained to the receptionist that my room was not as described she said that none of the these rooms had sofa beds and the website shouldnt say that because it makes it difficult for them.

She gave me a free internet pass (they charge you £15 for in room wifi) because she could tell i wasn't happy. That was nice, but don't expect any welcoming smiles or feel like anyone is particularly pleased to see you, an overlooked quality in this establishment.

The room itself. Stained carpets, cobwebs. Ridiculously small bathroom. Very very average shower.

The pool is ok. Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi ok. But its all a bit run down.

Every corridor, landing is a bit crusty.

This hotel probably was once really great but you feel like nobody cares about it now.

Its in a good location but I wouldnt recommend, not at the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerim999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with all aspects of your stay with us, due to the age and style of our hotel our bedrooms do come in all different shapes and sizes.

I can confirm that not all of our Double deluxe sea views come with sofa beds, however our Double Deluxe Plus sea view rooms do all come with sofa bed’s, unfortunately without any information on your booking I am unable to investigate further.

Your feedback on the standard of cleanliness of your room has been shared with my Rooms Divisions Manager to address within his team.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,113
    1,043
    676
    490
See reviews for
666
1,442
201
1,006
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good location and should be grand but the Hilton feels impersonal, is not well looked after and provided a very unrelaxing stay. The staff don't speak English well, the room was poky, windows were dirty, shower had 2 settings: too hot or scalding, shower curtain was tatty plastic and rubbish remained on the main staircase for the whole of our overnight stay. Breakfast food quality was good but the room was so hectic with everyone getting up and down all the time to queue for food at the buffet that it felt like being in a busy canteen. All in all a lot of money for a hectic stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kzroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on your visit, your comments regarding the temperature of the shower has been shared with our Chief Engineer, your comments in regards to the cleanliness of the public areas has been shared with our Rooms Divisions Manager to address within his team.

The hotel employs a wide variety of nationalities, including English and whilst we pride ourselves on the levels of service we offer to our guests, I regret you were disappointed with the service you received on this occasion.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The problem with a 4 star hotel is that expectations are higher, not unreasonably considering the 4 star prices. I was surprised, therefore, at the fact that at breakfast the places were laid out with only one knife, presumably following the American habit of using dirty cutlery for the next course. As others have noticed, there are often dirty trays and similar in the corridors.

I like the king bed in my bedroom, however the downside was that there was no room, for example it was impossible to fit a chair between the desk and the bed. In fact I would say that the room was really just that bit too small for the price I was paying.

Of course the main complaint with this hotel is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms and the early part of my state really needed it.

Nevertheless it is a good hotel, with a good quality breakfast, though you should check whether breakfast is included in the price you are paying. Overall I think this hotel is good but expensive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations on certain aspects of your stay.

Your comments regarding the cutlery of breakfast and the room service trays have been shared with both my Food & Beverage Operations Manager & Restaurant Manager to address within their team.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Hilton on Tuesday the 19th august 2014. Room 554.
This hotel is a Hilton by name and not by the usual standards of the chain. Although the hotel has been grand in the past it requires urgent refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renno2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my apologies, we do take all guest feedback extremely seriously and I very much regret your disappointment on this occasion.

Our bedroom refurbishment programme will be continued in to 2015, which will see some of our older rooms being added.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Was looking forward to and overnight stay at the Hilton as always associated name as being excellent.
I was very disappointed with my double sea view room as to even to be able to see out the window i had to get onto built in desk/ unit to be further disappointed by the windows being filthy.
The room was nothing like any of the photographs i saw of the rooms on the internet. Very small, air con that was useless, stained carpet and a bathroom that was small with what seemed a shower cubicle that had a broken door and an old shower curtain in its place. Tiles and grouting mouldy and just basically not what i expected for a 4 star hotel.
Have registered my complaints via email, if i had been staying longer would have asked for a change in room.
On a plus note the breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review,

I was sorry to read of the disappointment and inconvenience that you encountered, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you had with the hotel and be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights to use some accumulated HH points. Recently became a Gold HH member so on arrival was offered free breakfasts for myself, wife and two children.

Restaurant food of a high standard and cater for children - particularly reconnect the buffet at just £15 for two courses.

Cannot fault the hotel really other than bathroom a little dated. Great location, wonderful staff and a lovely place to stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank littledoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you say the hotel is ideally situated.
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests find our team members helpful & friendly throughout their stay.

We look forward to you returning soon.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there with with my wife, 5 year old and 1month old.
The room was fantastic. Very spacious. The staff were brilliant and polite.
My only prob was not enough bins, and when I asked how much it was to get breakfast delivered to room, I wad told it was free only to be charged £6 . I would have gave that as a tip anyway if it was free, and the WiFi in rooms is too expensive. That should be complementary by now.
That said, I loved it there and would stay again. Great customer friendly staff, very alert and punctual. Very clean and a great unrivalled spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank deanylkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardLewis-GM, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found all of our team members helpful & friendly. I have shared your comments regarding the bins with my Rooms Divisions Manager to review

We look forward to you returning soon.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing