We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 18 April 2009

From its location on Brighton seafront to the opulent grandeur of the foyer, the Hilton Brighton Metropole did not fail to impress. The standard double room was of a more than generous size, complete with king-size bed, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe, and, similarly, the bathroom was large and fully functional. In addition to this, the hotel's leisure facilities were first class, featuring a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a steam room, which, even though one's visit was during the Easter holiday season, were far from overcrowded. Overall, a most enjoyable stay with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hifh_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,368)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Brighton Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,024 - 4,030 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

As we arrived early for our Easter break we were given a very small room which we were unhappy with so we asked to change it. We had to wait over an hour to get another room but thankfully this was a bit larger. The bathroom was very small and we were unhappy that there was no fridge in the room. Apparently, they were in the process of installing new ones which were not up and running yet, and the hotel is in the middle of an extensive room refurbishment. There was no blind or net curtain at the bedroom window which meant that you could not open the curtain freely in the morning. The room package included dinner for the first night, but we were disappointed as there wasn't much choice on the menu, and when it did arrive the main meal was very small which left my partner still hungry. On our last night we were kept awake by some noisy neighbours who were heard swearing at each other (and sounded drunk) and slamming their door on numerous occasions which kept us awake most of the night. On checking out of the hotel my partner went to pay the bill and experienced numerous problems because the staff initially took his visa card to authorise a £50 room service charge and also the cost of the room for one night (without mentioning to him what they were doing). There was sufficient funds in the account to pay for our stay but unfortunately the hotel was unable to get the entire cost authorised so my partner had to use another form of payment. We were very disappointed with the whole scenario and how long it took for us to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosevalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Metropole over Easter weekend and although I booked the cheapest room available at a busy weekend, it was still over £120 a night and the room was dreadful. It was so tiny two people could barely stand side by side and it was impossible to fit more than one person in the bathroom.

The bedroom window was filthy with a rather grotty looking net curtain and the bathroom needed major renovation - there were manky looking tiles with ugly holes in them and the hairdryer looked like it should be in a museum for old, useless appliances.

Having said that, the public areas of the hotel are lovely and the staff friendly. The location is really the best thing about it though. However, my advice would be to spend your money on one of the other hotels in the area...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cold-hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed in Brighton Hilton Metropole over the Easter weekend, as a family of four.
The hotel is positioned on the seafront, a 5-10min lovely walk along to the Pier, Lanes etc.
The hotel has recently undergone a sympathetic refurbishment, and the results are stunning.
As usual with Hilton Hotels, all the staff are friendly and professional, a result of being well-trained.
Our only gripe was that our family room was booked for 4, but everything was set out for only 3 - including beds, towels, glasses, toiletries - just a niggle, but disappointing all the same as it showed a lack of attention to detail.
We would definitely return to this hotel again - hopefully in the near future - as we love Brighton!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pires7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I stayed in the Hilton Brighton Metropole for two nights in April 2009 at the amazing price of just £54 per night, including breakfast, booked through lastminute.com via the National Rail Enquiries website.

The hotel is a large, attractive, redbrick building, prominently located on Brighton's seafront next to the famous Grand Hotel and next door but one to the 'Brighton Centre' concert hall. It is therefore very central and easy to find. Check-in was quick and efficient. The reception staff were courteous and business-like, but perhaps lacking in warmth.

My room was a standard double (for single occupancy) located towards the rear of the building, which I found to be quiet and peaceful. It was a spacious room which looked as if it had been quite recently refurbished with good-quality, tasteful furnishings and a light, cheerful decor. It featured a 32-inch LCD TV with a selection of digital channels (but not all Freeview channels) as well as in-house options. Basic tea and coffee making facilities were provided, but with no frills such as biscuits. There was a fridge/mini-bar (but this was temporarily unstocked, as explained in an accompanying letter). I found the bed to be uneven, although it still provided adequate comfort (but is something I feel should have been replaced).

The ensuite bathroom had an older feel, obviously not having been subjected to the same level of refurbishment, but was functional and clean. There was a full-size bath with shower over, but a major omission was a shaving point.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, which was served in a very beautiful dining room. There was ample choice of hot and cold items, and the quality of food was generally good. The breakfast staff were mostly very friendly and efficient. The dining room was also available for other meals (at additional cost), although room service was also available at a reasonable cost.

The only real hiccup during my stay occurred when I was erroneously issued a bar bill due to a mix-up with room numbers, but this was quickly resolved at reception.

Overall, I can only describe my stay in this hotel as delightful, especially at a veritable bargain of a room rate. If you are going to pay the full rate to stay in this hotel, you really need to take advantage of the facilties that it offers: pool, spa, gym, bars and restaurant. From my experience, I could certainly recommend the Hilton Brighton Metropole, even at a higher rate than I paid.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We booked the Hilton Brighton during thier half price sale at the beginning of the year and based on reviews here chose to pay an extra £25 for a deluxe room and requested sea views. We weren't disappointed. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and had great views. We noticed some of the detractions that others have commented on - paint not quite to the corners, some remaining plastic still on the bedhead, but these did not detract at all from our overall impression of the room or the hotel. I really liked the fact that there was a separate shower and bath in the bathroom.
Its location is very central to Brighton, a short walk to the lanes, beach, shops and restaurants. The buffet breakfast was also plentiful and delicious.
The hotel also provided discount parking on site, we were able to park for nearly all day Saturday and Sunday for the overnight charge, which was validated at reception.
I only regret that we didn't make use of the pool facilities at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We booked a stay in this hotel as we had been invited to our friend’s birthday party and it was suggested we book into the Hilton Brighton Metropole. On booking through the phone we discovered that there was the possibility of a special deal (which not available on the internet) and so we booked a sea view room at a very reasonable price.
On arrival we were impressed with the room and the sea view. It was spacious and tastefully furnished with some pleasant easy chairs with a table and a desk. We found the hotel staff very agreeable and helpful with all of them being cheerful and pleasant to the guests.
We were surprised that the hotel car parking was £18 a day (12 hours) it would have cost us £36 for the two day stay, so I set off to park the car somewhere else. I found an underground car park nearby that was very reasonable for £12 for 24 hours.
I noticed an advert in the hotel lobby for a romantic package which I booked. This included bath robes, slippers, chocolates, strawberries and champagne - nice!
After making ourselves a cup of tea we decided to head off to the leisure facilities before going to the party. We were very disappointed as the pool was very small for the size of the hotel. The sauna only had enough room for about six people and that was a tight squeeze, not really what you need in a sauna! The steam room was a similar size, both were full all the time and no space for us both at one time. The Jacuzzi was also rather small and only ran for 6 mins and then was off for 6 mins. The changing facilities we also cramped with piles of dirty towels left around. The floors were wet which made trying to dry and dress difficult without getting your socks and trousers wet. After about 15 mins in the leisure facilities we had had enough so return to our room.
We changed for the party and enjoyed the bath robes, chocolates, strawberries and an aperitif of champagne.
We then walked to the party and returned in the early hours of the morning.
After a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast which was being served in the very elegant breakfast room. We were told that there was no room and that we would need to go to the conference room at the back of the lobby area where there was overflow facilities. We expressed our disappointment and began to walk down to the conference room. We were half way there when a member of the staff caught us up with us and said she had found us a table. The breakfast was grand with plenty of choice and variety. After eating our fill we went for a walk along the front. The hotel was very close to the centre of Brighton. The check out time was 12 noon which was a pleasant surprise.
Overall we enjoyed the room, the romantic package, the breakfast and the staff but were disappointed by the inadequate leisure facilities.
Would we stay again, only if the leisure facilities were improved and updated?

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing