We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay In The Metropole was grim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Stay In The Metropole was grim”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I stayed for a 3-night break recently and, altough Hilton has lovely facilities, great breakfast and location, the bedroom was a huge disappointement. . I did not expect an orchestra in the lobby, as used to be the case, nor dinner without a written menu; but I did expect a family room with curtains that closed, a toilet system that did not sound like someone was being strangled every time it was flushed, a TV that worked, air conditioning that did not try to turn the room into a vacuum, a kettle in which one could see steel inside rather that stalagmites of calcium, and 100-watt light bulbs. The suspicious brown liquid seeping out of the mini-bar during the night and the hole that had been kicked out of the bottom-left corner of the door to the corridor were bonuses we only noticed later – the latter when I was trying to kick my way out of the room when the lock had jammed, causing mild panic attacks in my better half. The staff members were all very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaPLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS Hotel Administrator at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Thank you for your review on your stay with us, I am sorry to read that your stay was marred due to the inefficiencies you have out lined in your review. I have passed your comments on to the appropriate Heads of Department, your comments are currently being investigated to ensure that appropriate corrective actions are. I am looking forward to hearing from you in the very near future and to having the opportunity of winning your confidence back. In the meantime, please do feel free to contact us at anytime if we may personally be of any assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,114
    1,043
    676
    490
See reviews for
666
1,442
201
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

As always with all Hiltons, they all have welcoming staff and are well appointed. The breakfasts are superb and in the Hilton Brighton we had the biggest bed ever!!
Well situated for The Lanes, shopping centre and the seafront. Parking a bit pricey but safe and secure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MylesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing, and we are delighted you enjoy your time spent at Hilton Hotels. We hope to see you back again in Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed at the Hilton whilst in Brighton for a friends wedding. Booked in advance so got a good rate. Stayed in a twin room on the 4th floor with a friend. Managed to check in early which was a plus. The room itself was average size and was clean. We had two single beds which were very comfortable. Shame we did not have a sea view room, had a brick wall view instead. Had no problems with the room itself but the bathroom was a different matter. The grouting around the tiles were dirty, and the bathroom was very tired. The wood panel around the sink was rotting at the bottom. The bath, sink and toilet were clean but everything else let it down.

We only stayed for one night so it was something I could deal with but if I was staying any longer then I would have asked to be moved.

The lobby area was very impressive and clean. Did not have breakfast at the hotel (£10 per head) went to a place called "Bills" just get a cab to take you there. The food is fantastic and I highly recommend it.

I would recommend the Hilton for a quick stay, the location is fantastic right on the beachfront. If you are going for longer, I would upgrade the room. I assume the other rooms have better decor!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KetchupLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we have an ongoing programme of refurbishment at the hotel and I am sorry that the bathroom you had looked ‘tired’, it is a shame that I do not have your room number so this could be investigated further. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Brighton and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break over the Easter weekend.

We were able to check into our hotel early which was great and headed off to explore Brighton for the day. Front desk staff were fine, although I asked for a porter to help with our luggage (whilst my partner was parking the car) which the lady at reception said she would arrange, only to be forgotten about.

Overall our room etc. was good, decent size, facilities etc. although the bathrooms were a little dated.

The hotel has a great location for exploring Brighton. Having said that we originally parked our car in the hotel's car park, and were shocked that they were charging nearly £35 for 24 hrs - a hugh cost for a 2 night stay. So we found cheaper parking elsewhere a little further away from the sea-front and walked around town.

Obvioulsy this was a busy weekend for the hotel. The breakfast room was busy and although they had lots to offer, my partner qeued for the made to order eggs counter which was staffed by one frantic guy who really did his best, but for the amount of guests they had they really should have planned this better. Unfortunately this resulted in a very long wait for what you wanted, disgruntled hungry guests, and eventually ending up with cold food, and not what you asked for in the first place.

We did experience the hotel spa facilities, namely the pool, jacuzzi and sauna/steam rooms. Again the pool etc. was very busy, so not really suitable for a "proper" swim. Having said that the pool was so cold we were unable to get into the pool for more than a couple of minutes - which was a shame. Also the jacuzzi pool was tiny and on a 6 minute timer (i.e. on for 6 mins / off for 6 mins) - a bit pointless really. This resulted in our relaxing spa visit being a very quick dip instead? Dissapointing!

The hotel again is great for location, however, for the cost £159 per night I wouldn't rush back to this hotel..... Brighton has so many hotels to choose from you can get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Please accept my apologies that you were not helped with your bags, our concierge team should have approached you to ask if they could assist. The price for parking as a resident of the hotel is £16 for an overnight stay as stated on the booking confirmation, I am sorry you were inconvenienced by parking elsewhere. I have forwarded your comments to both the Spa Manager and Restaurant Manager for their consideration, Thank you for posting your review as we welcome this feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

stayed here for 2 nights, and from the minute we walked into reception we had a fantastic break. All of the staff in the hotel were friendly and even though they were all working and it was Easter, they all had a smile, and nothing was too much trouble. the breakfast was great and even though the gorgeous dinning room was packed there was plenty of choice. even the weather was good to us and Brighton as always was great! would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Thank you for your kind review, it is great to think we were able to help you enjoy your Easter break, and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed in this lovely hotel with a group of friends. Unfortunately, the desperate state of the guest bedroom (cheapest room admittedly but even so still £139 per night!) let down the hotel. This accommodation is definitely not up to 4 star standard as it should be. Bathroom especially a let down - the whole room and bathroom in need of redecoration. The temperature of the room was extremely hot and no air conditioning available - basically you had to put up and shut up nothing could be done about this!
The breakfast staff were excellent but the reception team was a complete shambles! - from the moment we checked in until the moment we left, they really did not have a clue what was going on - no consistency between one member of reception to another - simply quite appalling!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpuss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
With regards your room temperature and also the reception staff I am concerned that we failed to rectify your problems. Should a temperature problem be reported then we would endeavour to find a solution, likewise I am unclear as to the problem at reception. Unfortunately I cannot investigate this for you, as I have no guest details, but all correspondence sent directly to the hotel would be responded to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This is a lovely hotel...outside is beautiful..it took me back to years gone by. It is in a great location...we didn't need to use the car around Brighton.
We stayed in a beautiful deluxe room, with a small balcony and looking over the sea...it was very spacious and extremely clean with a gorgeous comfy big bed.
The hotels entrance is beautiful.
We parked our car in the carpark..it's about £16 for 24hrs which was fine as its a nightmare to park in Brighton otherwise.
We chose not to eat in the hotel for breakfast as theres so many great places to eat in Brighton, so can't comment on that.
The staff we meet were all happy and helpful.
My only niggle was the very hot ladies loos....toilets and heat equals..a bit smelly!
We used the pool which was lovely although changing rooms are quite small, but they were lovely and clean.

The hotel has alot of facilities and although we didn't have time to use it, the bar looked great.

Brighton itself is always lovely...the shops are great and our fave places to eat are food for fiends and Bills. It has a lovely friendly feel, we never feel uncomfortable walking around at night there.

We didn't do it this time round, but the peir and pavillion is a must for first time visitors

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing