We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic ambiance”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Clearly ones perceptions are based upon the individual experience however I find it hard to fault this hotel. Admittedly we stayed at a quieter time of year and had the pleasure of a deluxe room with sea-view and balcony, but in general the hotel was faultless. Most hotels tend to be fairly bland in their appearance and presentation so the degree of elegance and comfort throughout this Victorian masterpiece was something to absorb for its own sake.

Hilton have managed to maintain a good standard of service and amenity for their guest, and the staff were certainly relaxed and helpful. Check-in was professional and warm, dinner service had a relaxed formality in the grand Windsor restaurant - a 3-course cost £25, food was stylishly presented and of a good quality. An enquiry to bar staff in the lounge was fulfilled with willingness by the assistant night manager who was forthcoming and his willingness to provide information was impressive. Breakfast was good, and the female mairte d's were warm and charming - one might even suggest motherly, in the most cordial way. The chef wished us a good morning also.

The location of the hotel is convenient, almost opposite Brighton's dead pier, but adjacent to the more life-filled Churchill Shopping Centre and main shopping area. It is advisable to check on a map where the car park is, as it is set back from main road, found on the turning prior to the main frontage travelling towards Hove on the sea road, (though thereafter is signposted).

The only lacking - as with another Hilton I stated at recently, is free wireless internet in public areas and wireless access in rooms. It is appreciable that the latter is harder to perhaps achieve with such large room numbers - however not impossible and, given this hardly inconceivable to provide free access in public zones until that greater task is mastered.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fake_Hotel_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your recent comments that you added to trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us to ensure that we continuously improve our services for our guest’s therefore, I am very grateful to you for taking the time to contact us.

Your comments regarding Wifi access has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department.

We appreciate your comments very much.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    1,126
    1,055
    688
    494
See reviews for
680
1,459
204
1,021
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed as part of a large group which held an evening function at the hotel. The staff were very good and helpful. The lobby and concierge area is impressively fitted out.

Not sure the bedroom I stayed in could be considered 4 star standard? The room only had 2 bedside lamps for lighting (both are energy saving bulbs and not brighter than 30W) and the double bed was, in fact, 2 singles pushed together, with one mattress higher than the other. The kettle hadn't been descaled for some time (I actually left a note on it before I checked out to say it badly needed descaling). The bathroom needs to have repairs done to cracked tiles, the grout scraped and re-grouted, silicone seals all scraped out and replaced, and the fixed shower head descaled or replaced altogether. There was enough lighting in the bathroom to put make-up on but not in the bedroom.

Plus point was the provision of an ironing board and iron in the room placed inside the wardrobe. That came in really handy.

Not sure what I thought of the breakfast buffet - not good quality bacon and sausages, both were fatty (the bacon, in particular) and either undercooked (bacon) or a bit burnt (sausages). Plus point was freshly fried eggs done by a friendly chef while you wait. Again, the staff made up for the disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L00ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for adding your review to trip advisor

It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff have provided you with a great experience your comments have been passed onto our team.

All guest feed back is welcome and is seen as an opportunity to react and improve, your comments has been shared on to the relevant Heads of Department for their consideration.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I travelled on business for a conference. Can't fault the people in the hotel or the stay. I didn't pick up the bill so can't comment on the value for money. However, food really was first class and according to staff something they pride themselves on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to add your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stayed at the Hilton for 1 night in the middle of August. Because it was Brighton Pride weekend the rate I paid was extremely high. I was given a single room and when I first entered it, I noticed it was extremely humid and there was no air con. I called reception to mention this and they immediately moved me to a twin room which was more spacious and airy and had air con. I thought this was a really good gesture because of the price I paid, they also threw in a complimentary breakfast. Overall, it was an excellent stay and I would recommend the Hilton for its outsatnding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceCharming10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Your feedback is extremely important to us to ensure that we continuously improve our services for our guest’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Yes, it's pricey, but Brighton is very popular and Hilton's don't do bargains. I've stayed there twice now and had a very good stay both times. Some rooms could do with some updating but still clean and perfectly satisfactory. Bar prices certainly keep the stag parties away! Breakfast is great. Whilst it's not waiter service, this Hilton puts on one of best buffet's I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViksG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your Hilton Breakfast and your stay with us we look forward to seeing you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed in UK for a little over a week and booked 4 hotels. This came out bottom of the list compared to Hilton at Heathrow, Premier Inn Tower Hill and Amberely Castle.

The car park is not free so know that you will be charged daily for it. It is also outside the hotel so requires a bit of luggage lugging unleas you drive by hotel first and get porter to come to car park with you Also Internet in room is 15 GBP a day which is a bit steep in the modern day.

Check in was fine with pleasant staff. We did not go for breakfast option at 15 GBP as there are so many places to eat in Brighton at a cheaper price.

The main issue was the room. It was very small with what amounted to a slightly more than cot bed robustness pushed up against the wall. Wheels were well oiled and it moved constantly if you sat on it or turned over. Windows were not clean and overlooked kitchen which gave off a yeasty smell on the Sunday morning.

On sat/sun night a hen/stag party set off the fire alarm for a laugh to quote front desk staff. A letter of apology went under doors over night but no other effort was made like some hotels to provide free refreshments/take away breakfast on check out or reduction in car park costs as a result of the inconvenience.

This hotel has got the faded glory and location going for it but for price you can find significantly better places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Please accept my apologies that your expectation were not meet during your stay with us, your comments has been shared with the relevant heads of department, thank you for taking the time to posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Sedgwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Two-night stay as a conference delegate, and I can honestly say I has the best customer service I've ever experienced. Every member of staff, without exception, was utterly courteous and made me feel live a VIP! Room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was delightful. Not a cheap hotel obviously, but will be going back some day as a special treat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you for adding your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us your feed back is extremely important to us to ensure we continuously improve our server for our guest’s, your comments have been shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing