We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was impressed”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Hi after reading all the terrible reviews I would like to say that the staff were extremely helpful when we stayed, and yes we did have trouble with our rooms three times to be accurate, but it was sorted and compensation made. Breakfast was lovely as was the swimming area. Our daughter loved walking up and down all the stairs and everywhere was clean. Please go and don't read the reviews as you can't always believe what they say.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJKCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review you have added to trip advisor, I am delighted that we were able address any issues you had whilst staying with and that looking back on your stay you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    1,127
    1,057
    689
    495
See reviews for
680
1,460
204
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

On arrival at one thirty, our room was not ready, and we had to wait until exactly 3 pm to gain access, but apparently it had been ready but because the phones were not working properly no one thought to tell the guy on the front desk that it was ready.
Stayed here just one night, upgraded to a deluxe room, which is not worth the money, the bed was uncomfortable and needed replacing, the bathroom is very tired, we overlooked other rooftops etc, no view at all from the room. There was not a single mirror in the bedroom so I had to use the mirror by the door to do my hair. Although there are meagre tea and coffee supplies in the room, there are no biscuits, the bottle of water is £3.95 which is extortionate and for £194 plus parking costs of £16 I think the hotel is very shabby! We had to queue for breakfast for about 10 minutes as it was so busy.
I certainly would not book there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to trip advisor, firstly I would like to extend my apologies for not meeting your expectation during your recent stay, your comments have been shared with both our Reception Manager and Accommodations Services Manager to review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I can only agree with the previous poster that had their stay somewhat ruined by a large wedding that was effectively allowed to take over the hotel. Somewhere that markets itself as a proper conference/events venue should surely be able to handle a large wedding without it spilling over into the rest of the hotel and ruining it for other guests.

First the positives: Room was good, nice size, comfortable bed with efficient heating and good bathroom. It was recently refurbished and was what could be expected from a Hilton. The leisure club was also decent although a little more care over the changing rooms wouldn't go amiss.

The negatives: The aforementioned wedding - loud and obnoxious all afternoon. Loudly drunk and yelling across the bar using pretty much every piece of bad language under the sun. When we got fed up with the noise we went to reception to have a gentle word only to be met with the response of "Yes it's a bit noisy isn't it" from the front desk. To be fair at least they waived the room service charge for delivery to our room. Breakfast was a farce. Yes it was busy but the room and staff couldn't cope with the numbers.

Overall I expected a fair bit and was disappointed. Won't stay here again if I can avoid it.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review that you have added to trip advisor

Please accept my most sincere apologies to you for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that your stay our hotel had not been highly enjoyable.

I am looking forward to having the opportunity of winning your confidence back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The room was comfortable if a little small and the bathroom was in dire need of an update. Breakfast was very very busy, but really very good. Plenty of choice - fruit, eggs cooked on demand etc. Great location right on the sea front.

HOWEVER.... we were given NO pre-warning about the 500 guest wedding that was also being held at this hotel the same day/night of our stay. The place was filled with drunks, and the fighting in corridors, lifts and the lobby in the early hours really did NOT make for a good nights sleep and was particularly scary for me (at 7 months pregnant). Thankfully there was a chain lock on the door that was firmly bolted all night! Apparently over 15 police were in attendence at one point.

On complaining to the duty manager in the morning, we were offered little more than a short, shrifty apology. Not really good enough!

I probably would stay here again at a real push, but would certainly enquire about planned functions before confirming any booking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthp_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent comments that you have added to trip advisor

Please accept my most sincere apologies to you for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that your stay our hotel had not been highly enjoyable.

I am looking forward to having the opportunity of winning your confidence back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I stayed in a double room on the 5th floor. As soon as I entered the room, I noticed the room was very very dark. There were two bedside lamps which did not light up the room, and there was no lamp on the work desk. Wondered how anybody can work there in the evening. I could barely see what's in the room. Then I tried to connect to the internet but all I could find was a cable. So I called service team and an operaator sent me a guy who said "Why don't we have a mdem in this room!?" I also asked him if this rooms is supposed to be this dark, which he replied "The side lamps is missing! Wow, your room is really empty!" He was as confused as I was. I must say he was very helpful and great.
Another problem I had with the room was, although it was a non-smoking room, the bath room smelt of cigarettes, which was not great.
Also, there was aircon in the room which was not working at all, I spent the night feeling very cold.
The room service food was very cold and I could not eat them as they were not good cold.

It was a very dissapointig stay, I can't say the stay was comfortable. I found it rather stressful. I hope there will be some improvements.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mietzie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your recent comments that you added to trip advisor. I would like to express my gratitude to you for taking the time to communicate to us the areas where we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay.

I would like to extend sincere apologies to you for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that you felt your stay our hotel had been marred due to the lack of lighting in your room, and your dinning experience whilst using room service.

We have high standards within our hotel to ensure that our guests all receive the same high standards of service, your comments have been shared with both our Accommodations Services Manager and Executive Chef to review.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is only through our customer comments that we can offer a continually improving service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Good location on the sea front. On arrival we got a room that had some wet swimming trunks lying on the TV. Staff apologised, gave us another room and promised to send some champagne and chocolates, which turned out to be some rather cheap, tasteless fizzy wine, that wasn't even on their wine list (it is probably reserved for such occasions) and a few loose unappetising chocolates on tea plate (see pics). The room was generally large but dated with some old stains on carpet with views of the back yard and air conditioning extractors. The toilet didn't flush properly. The communal areas are grand and impressive, the bar was nice but clearing tables left a lot to be desired, difficult to find a clean table to enjoy your drink. If you are looking forward to the famous Hilton splendour, I'm afraid you wont find it there, we didn't.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nononsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review to trip advisor, I was disappointed to read that your stay had been marred due to a catalogue of issues, unfortunately we do experience, unexpected repairs and maintenance issues however they are actioned as soon as possible to minimise any disruption to our guests, your feed back regarding our Lounge bar has been passed on to our Bars Manager to investigate.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments as it is only through customer feedback that we can offer a continually improving service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed here for a work conference, staff friendly and efficient, breakfast in restaurant excellent. The problem was the bedroom - dirty (hairs in and around bathroom sink), very hot and the AC did not work, eventually got the sash window open, and as for the electrics well they were dangerous - only the lamps worked none of the light switches did which was pretty tricky in the night so had to move a lamp and have it turned on all night in the lobby area by the bathroom. TV didn't turn on and was reported to the front desk but not sorted the 2 nights I was there. Food at the conference was dreadful and dark lighting gave me a migraine!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdministrator, TS at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your review you have added to trip advisor, with regards to your feedback about refurbishment we do operate a pro active maintenance programme within the property to ensure that we are continually improving our facilities which as I am sure you can appreciate is an ongoing process.

I was disappointed to read the issues you had in your room during your stay, your feed back has been shared with our Accommodation Services Manager to address.

I would like to thank for your feedback as it is only through our customer comments that we can offer a continually improving service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Property: Hilton Brighton Metropole
Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing